We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basically nice”
Review of The Ship

The Ship
Ranked #19 of 82 Restaurants in Swanage
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basically nice”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

It is a nice basic place, the food is good - although I've tried on many occasion to book a table and no ones seems to answer the phone or their emails.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    81
    36
    12
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

This pub has gone downhill last couple of years, so many staff yet service average. Most of the staff are outside smoking. Food was ok, beer good and TV showed the footy which was nice. Toilets dirty, no toilet roll. Staff mostly untidy and disinterested apart from one european chap who seemed to go the extra mile.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alastair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good menu choice and service”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Atmosphere good for pub although busy. Person taking order seemed very fed up just muttered few words going through motions but serving staff very up beat. Food very good and reasonable value. Went with son who can be bit fussy but ate everything and couldn't decide as so much choice. Went for lunch and had Thai fishcakes lovely. Nearly went for Dinner how sad is that !? But when you find something that works why not - not many places where all family happy.Beer was lovely according to husband and made relaxing part of holiday.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank helen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Atmosphere, Lucky dip staff.”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We went during our recent annual seaside holiday.
We got in just before it got quite busy and the food was served quickly and the menu is similar to a Hungry horse type but with slightly less choice.
Got to say three adults & one child were all very happy and the food was plenty, delicious and hot!
The music and general atmosphere was great and we would go back again, the fajitas on the next table looked yummy.
One down point was the staff seemed a little "New" and apart from one young lady a little lacking in experience, a bit too cool for school!
But don't let that stop you eating here, the food was good and yummy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2013Monkeyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“SPICY!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We decided to try The Ship as it seemed to have a nice atmosphere and the menu looked nice.
My husband and I both had the chicken fajitas. I found mine far too spicy and could only manage 1. My husband ate all his, but he agrees it way very spicy.
A few days later, we decided to go back as there were other things on the menu that looked good.
On our second visit, my husband had the chicken burger which was just the chicken fajitas in a bun so was very spicy again. My friends had the beef burgers which they said were very spicy too!
I decided to go for the safe option and ordered the butternut-squash soup, but again, I struggled to finish it as it was sooo spicy!
I don't understand why they needed to add so much spice to everything!

Apart from the spice, the pub had a good atmosphere and was a nice location.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heart_Cheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship also viewed

Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing