We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place for dinner”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #15 of 99 Restaurants in Swanage
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Reviewed 7 February 2022

We had dinner at the ship on consecutive evenings, the restaurant area was very busy and we hadn't booked on the Friday but we were fitted in. Everyone was so helpful and were so friendly it felt as though we were regulars - a great atmosphere.

Our food came quickly and was excellent on both evenings - the wine was reasonably priced and I added some local beer as my starter!

We did feel the tables were a bit too close together but on our second evening we were moved to an alcove which was great - thank you guys!

Date of visit: January 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ianBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 162 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2022 via mobile

We only stopped for a drink but would definitely go back the food lookwd delicious.

The beer was excellent and the place was very clean and the staff friendly.

Date of visit: January 2022
Thank ElaineP96
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2022 via mobile

Stopped off, purely by chance, for lunch with friends. So very glad we did. Amazing food. Hubby had soup, which was thick and unctious and I played safe with nachos. The BEST nachos I have ever had. All fresh ingredients, great friendly service. An overall wonderful experience. Will definitely recommend and come back.

Date of visit: January 2022
Thank 824jacquit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 January 2022

12 of us plus 2 babies booked in for a special birthday lunch today.
The service was top notch, as was the food. The staff could not have been more helpful and our plates were piled high with delicious food.
As locals, we are always on the lookout for good places to eat. The Ship will definitely be added to our list!

Date of visit: January 2022
Thank 187julesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 January 2022 via mobile

Visited this morning for breakfast. I had eggs Benedict’s and my husband had a full cooked breakfast.

The food was superb, my eggs were cooked beautifully and it was all very tasty.

The service was excellent, friendly and attentive.
Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this place.

Date of visit: January 2022
Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.