We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A change for the worse” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bull and Boat

Bull and Boat
Ranked #48 of 81 Restaurants in Swanage
Price range: US$10 - US$34
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to the Bull and Boat on North Beach Swanage. We aim to please everyone whether you're looking for a light lunch, bistro dinner or tapas in our cafe lounge but all relaxed dining; we offer a fully stocked bar with local real ales or lagers on draft, extensive wine list and a selection of hot beverages including our own blend coffee! so you're welcome to join us just for drinks if you wish.Our Team of chefs source fresh local meats, vegetables and even fish straight from Swanage Bay! We welcome children and offer a full children's menu and baby changing facilities.We have plenty of outside seating including a beach deck for lunchtime dining with fabulous views of Swanage Bay, pier and town. Coming by boat? we offer 8 courtesy moorings opposite the Bull And Boat for drinks or diningOur Bistro is one of Swanage's top restaurants and by night a more intimate dining experience; we have regularly changing black board specials to accompany our a la carte menu and a generous vegetarian selection: you can eat from the same menus in our cafe lounge for a more casual feel. We Have sofas, tub chairs and coffee tables should you wish to join us for a social drink and enjoy the eclectic decor of marine artifacts and all things Bull!
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A change for the worse”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We thought we knew this place, but actually we hadn't been back for a while. In its former guise, it was a lovely spot from which we could enjoy the view and the sunshine, especially in the winter months. We brought my husband's sister this time, telling her what a treat it would be. We were very disappointed. We had intended to have a drink then order a lunch later. Three teas were ordered costing £1:60 each. They were not served from a teapot; the cups were large, but only half filled, ensuring that the liquid was rapidly cooling on its way out to our table. The water was scummy and the strings from the tea bags trailed over the sides. Presentation is obviously not a high point. The milk came in a tiny bottle and, when it was added to the cup, the temperature of the tea became little more than tepid. We decided to abandon the idea of lunch, especially as the menu seemed to be rather expensive and we didn't fancy paying a lot if the food was to match the poor quality of the tea.

Making tea is not difficult. It simply requires care and a desire to make a good cup of tea. If you are serving it outside, it needs extra care. This is Swanage. It is an English, seaside resort. You have a duty to provide a good cup of tea.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    180
    118
    108
    127
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warlingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location & Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Having read some mixed reviews on here as I am about to write this - inconsistency seems the dish of the day. We had a really lovely lunch here, sat outside in the sun. Food was tasty, fresh and were very good sized potions. Service was okay and food came quickly - although ordering took some time as the lad tried to get to grips with the hi-tech till ! It is a lovely looking restaurant inside, very smart and airy. The cost was very reasonable and if people want "top class" service etc. then that will be at a top class but top priced restaurant. Overall, Great location and surroundings, good food - if service is a little rough around the edges.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WarrenL787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here last week and there was 6 of us in total. 3 of my family members were travelling down from Surrey and we're late for our booking time. The staff were really helpful and let us have an open reservation for when they arrived. The service was quick, whilst we were at the table and the waitress was lovely. The food was delicious and reasonably priced for the large portions, we were very happy. The only thing I would say is that they could be a bit more helpful when you come in to book a table, I was left waiting at the reservation desk for a while whilst staff walked past, I ended up queuing at the bar to book a table. It was easier to ring them in the end

Helpful?
Thank misk58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“pudding tasted like plastic”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

we visited this restaurant on a saturday evening for a drink and dessert, the waitress behind the bar was very grumpy and off hand and when the puddings finally did arrive they were artificial tasting just a little like plastic, i think that iceland could have dealt up better and this was not a one off as we each had something different. such a shame that the food lacks that 'homemade' quality as the location is lovely but that is all that is lovely about this place. there are plenty of good restaurants in swanage serving up much better fare at competitive prices.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bluelavender1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Only one way to go here and it ain't down !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Like many others either local or holidaying I've allowed hope to spring eternal and been here before, and oh dear. Even though this is smack bang on the sea there's simply almost no atmosphere. This is further compounded by a mixed rabble of mainly preoccupied and border line rude employees. If you fancy the experience of being caught on stage in between acts whilst the roustabouts rush around frantically creating the next scene; whilst you feel in the way and ignored; then this is the place to come !!! Make sure your wallet is full, very full as over priced comes as standard. Local real ales brewed literally a few miles away over the hills, are more expensive here and not as well kept. Why no try taking your own picnic, bottle of beer / wine and sit on the beach next time. Until this place which is full of potential gets resurrected by someone who knows how to create a welcoming place and has some regard for their customers.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bull and Boat also viewed

Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to Bull and Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing