We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainy Durlston”

Durlston Country Park
Ranked #4 of 35 things to do in Swanage
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
202 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Rainy Durlston”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were very unlucky to visit this place on a rainy day - but that´s Britain, isn´t it..., nevertheless I did enjoy the place and the views of the coast and the sea. Seeing the long history of the place you realise how small a man is and how minute our problems are compared to history. I could imagine that a walk along the coastal path must be wonderful on a nice day. Unfortunately we had to skip it. Definitely worth seeing the place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marcela12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    248
    37
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A wee wonder”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Get past the parking, which is reasonable anyway and you'll discover a little wonderland of natural beauty and history. The Globe gives you an authentic feeling of being somewhere worthwhile, which you must definately are.The castle build by an eccentric Englshman - thought I was the only one; never mind ! Seriously though this is another little Purpeck gem.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a beautiful walk. You can get the bus from the Swanage town centre (possibly the number 5?) or you can walk, as it's not too far.

Allow plenty of time for the walk (we walked for nearly 5 hours) as the milestones keep telling you about the next interesting landmark to visit, from the lighthouse to the Tilly Whim caves.

It's a very uphill walk, but a lovely scenic one through the much needed cooler woods.

The castle itself isn't as impressive as I had hoped, but inside there's plenty of educational things, and a cafe, which is a good place to stop for a yummy cake and drink before starting on the South West Coast Path walk.

The walk around the area itself is amazing. Beautiful coastal views and very relaxing. My fiance and I walked nearly 8 miles in total, which doesn't sound like a lot, but as it's rough terrain, it's quite tiring.

After trekking back from the SW Coast walk, we had to stop at a kiosk to replenish as we'd ran out of water - I'd fully recommend a delicious Purbeck Honeycomb ice-cream cone after a long, hot walk!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Durlston Country Park is a fest for the senses. I walk here regularly. The rangers here do an excellent job of maintaining the area. The coastal walk is lovely but wandering off the main track to the less trodden tracks are beautiful too. The original visitor centre is now closed but the hide is still open from 10am-4pm but Durlston Castle hosts the visitor centre now which is educational for children. Take time to look in the Gallery.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DiscoDave74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lightwater
2 reviews
“Coastal path with fantasic views”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This was a beautiful walk along the coastal path. Plenty of rest stops and benches along the way all well thought out with great vantage point views. Stunning.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Durlston Country Park also viewed

Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to Durlston Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing