We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Views”

Durlston Country Park
Ranked #4 of 36 things to do in Swanage
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Beautiful Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

If you like walking this is the place. Lovely views, see the lighthouse. Visit Durlston Castle. You can walk for miles or not depending on your preference.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyR1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    239
    37
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to explore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Has changed so much since I was a child in the 70s! Good information centre with resident rangers that report on wildlife sightings. Good walks - we did the coastal path and hoped to see Dolphins or Dartford Warbler or Adders basking in the sun near the closed Tilly Whim cave entrance. Unfortunately the British weather was against us. Still we enjoyed the coastal scenery and the fresh air! Seventh Wave cafe worth a visit for a light lunch. Good available parking. Within walking distance of Swanage town centre if you have no car.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank OnSafariAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant in cliff top location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

What a great find! We had delicious lunch which was simple but robust and generous, served by lovely upbeat and enthusiastic staff. A very misty day so we couldn't take full advantage of the great views here but it is utterly spectacular. Food was goat's cheese and roast veg panini which was fresh and delicious, and tomato soup - again, robust and delicious. Small parking fee is well worth it and they allow dogs into cafe which is great, how sensible! The attraction itself is very well put together. We are planning a private party here next year - that's how impressed we were! Great base for walking along the Purbecks to Dancing Ledge and beyond.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kategc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verwood
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“what a view! and nice food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I visited the Country park on Sunday 30th of March as I was working at Durlston Castle's Wedding Fayre. The sun came out and so did the brides .The cafe was full as it was Mothering Sunday and the visitors enjoyed the Castle and it's grounds. This is a great place for weddings and functions. The wedding fayre was held in the Gallery and there were a lot of stands to visit.This place is certainly well worth a visit and can be enjoyed throughout the summer.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank keyboardbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I loved this place.... what can I say this place was one of the best days out I have had.
So much to do and so magical. And FREE entry.
Lovely café, lovely walk through wooded area to reach the top, lovely coastal views, lovely visitor centre. lovely,lovely,lovely.

A must visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Durlston Country Park also viewed

Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to Durlston Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing