We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we will be back!”
Review of The Pines Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pines Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We found this hotel by chance and was so glad that we did. Honestly the best hotel in Swanage! The rooms are very clean to a high standard the beds are so comfy had the best nights sleep there! The food is amazing lovely cooked breakfasts and the resturant menu in the evening was good to. Only thing we found in the resturant is that is a bit too formal...so quiet that it makes you want to speak quietly! They should have some background music or something like that..also you have to ask for sauces like ketchup for the kids which they serve to you! lovely views though from the resturant out to the sea the garden is so relaxing to sit out in views are breathtaking. The staff are very friendly and nothing is any trouble at all. We stayed in one of the family rooms overlooking the car park plenty of spaces and bout a ten minute walk to the beach. This hotel overall is more like a 4 star than 3 we loved it so much that we are returning next year cant wait! Have already recommended it to family and friends am missing it already!

Room Tip: A sea view or balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

394 - 400 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2011

We spent a weekend at the Pines. The lounge and dining room have lovely views of the sea and it was nice to sit in the garden and overlook the beach and although you can get access to the beach from the garden, it's currently not possible. No indication as to how long this will be the case. But, these English hotels. As soon as you go upstairs......

Is the Pines unaware of the invention of the duvet? Our bed was made up with bedspreads and nasty- looking and brown blankets which came to round about waist height. The sheets, similarly, were from times long gone so our sleeping experience, such as it was, was poor. And, why, when you have a refurbished room, does that refurbishment not include built in furniture? Why, when you're refurbishing a room in the 21st century, do you buy free standing furniture? The view from our bedroom window over the sea was lovely but didn't totally compensate for the insomnia, courtesy of the awful bed. Also, there was nowhere to put anything in the bathroom. We had to keep our toilet bags on the bedside tables.

Other correspondents have commented on the early end to beakfast-9.30am. Why can't it be 10.00? And why do you get waiter service for breakast? For as long as we can recall, breakfast has been a buffet. Why not at the Pines? Surely, they can't be concerned at guests taking too much, can they? Mind you, the waiter whose eye fixed on us when we seemed to want to challenge the way the menu was laid out and requested fruit juice and cereal-both "To Start"- made you wonder. The coffeee pots were a bit on the small side and we were not offered refills-we had to ask. And there was no water on the tables. We had to ask and were grudgingly given some-in wine glasses!

So, all in all: good position, nice aspect, nice downstairs, not particularly friendly staff. Would we revisit? Unlikely.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LondonDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

WE went for four nights Half board, had a family suite over looking the downs,
both rooms very comfortable and well furnished, the food was exellent a cut above the usual, the breakfast alone was superb you did not need to eat again till the evenning and im a big eater, exellent wine list. the staff were very freindly and helpful, cleaniless was of
the highest order at this hotel which is very important to us as a family, definitley a chill out place to go, we wiil be going back. ps great deals for kids.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I stayed with my elderly, wheelchair-user mother and my young son last autumn; going back in a couple of weeks with my husband as I enjoyed our stay so much. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and tidy, the views were superb and restaurant food excellent. The hotel's own web page and downloadable brochure need to be updated urgently as it doesn't do this superb hotel justice. A real gem of a find and I would recommend it to people of all ages. And go for the half board option; it's worth it!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Henwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

we booked into the Pines hotel in Swanage. The room was well appointed and clean and tidy. The views from the Hotel are spectacular. We Stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the food was very good and very well presented and served by very friendly staff. We chose not to eat in the Hotel in the evening however this is a perosonal preference, however the food and menu looked very nice. We will definately be using the Pines again and i look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iantesstom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

A very good, central location, with a short walk to the beach and town which was ideal.
As I only booked 1 week in advance, we were very fortunate for the hotel still have availability. Would stay here again.

One comment: would suggest extending breakfast time to finish at 10.00am rather than 9.30am.

Room Tip: try for a sea view room not overlooking the downs (car park)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela_Lanzisera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We had a very enjoyable couple of days here. The room was small but very clean and comfortable. Staff very attentive and welcoming - excellent food. A good find!

Room Tip: Suited to mature couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
1.9 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
980 reviews
0.9 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
984 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,818 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Hotel

Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range: £116 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pines Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Pines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines Hotel Swanage
The Pines Hotel Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing