We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of The Pines Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pines Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The entrance to The Pines is unassuming (at best!), but don't let that put you off. We recently spent a lovely two days there.

The sea view is to die for. Not in this case the 'stand on the top of the wardrobe and you might see some blue' type of sea view, but a balcony above the beach with the waves no more than 30 metres away, and the whole expanse of Swanage Bay in front of you, with the Needles standing out in the far distance.

The restaurant was surprisingly good. In case that sounds patronising, what I mean is that The Pines knows its customer base: in the summer it's families, and in the winter primarily elderly people. We went in December and almost everyone there seemed to be with an ageing parent. The food reflects that - you won't find any foam or jus in sight, but the chef is good and serves really excellent English food. The ham hock terrine was wonderful, and the steak and kidney pie was absolutely on the money - the perfect amount of kidney, and really good pastry. The vegetables were spot on too - not over-cooked.

Breakfast was excellent - the kippers, and smoked haddock with a poached egg were delightful, and the full English passed muster (it's always the sausages that give the game away, and these were proper ones from a local butcher.

We'll go again without doubt.

Room Tip: They are obviously going through a redecoration programme - ask for one of the redecorated rooms (al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whitingbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2011

We had a ground floor family room facing the sea. Excellent views and access to cliff top garden.
Room was spacious and clean.
We stayed on a dbb basis. Breakfast was excellent as was dinner with up to 5 very good courses. Good choice of food.
Would thoroughly recommend. Not a lively hotel but very comfortable and great base.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor, sea facing room. Go for one of these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lothome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed at The Pines Hotel for the third time recently. Love the views from the rooms and the quiet tranquility of the hotel itself. There is a good choice on both the breakfast and dinner menus and the food is very tasty. The staff are so welcoming, friendly and are as much a part of making this hotel a place visit and revisit as the views and location. Hope to return again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bumbledotmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Staff welcoming and friendly,room spacious clean and balcony view fantastic,was up in the night admiring the effect of the moon on the sea,breakfast plenty of choice with a fresh fruit option,wasn't planning to have dinnwe,but tried first night and did not feel need to go anywhere else,if we had taken reviews seriously would have missed out.can only say its detractors might be professional complaints hoping for a refund and a free ride!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We found this hotel by chance and was so glad that we did. Honestly the best hotel in Swanage! The rooms are very clean to a high standard the beds are so comfy had the best nights sleep there! The food is amazing lovely cooked breakfasts and the resturant menu in the evening was good to. Only thing we found in the resturant is that is a bit too formal...so quiet that it makes you want to speak quietly! They should have some background music or something like that..also you have to ask for sauces like ketchup for the kids which they serve to you! lovely views though from the resturant out to the sea the garden is so relaxing to sit out in views are breathtaking. The staff are very friendly and nothing is any trouble at all. We stayed in one of the family rooms overlooking the car park plenty of spaces and bout a ten minute walk to the beach. This hotel overall is more like a 4 star than 3 we loved it so much that we are returning next year cant wait! Have already recommended it to family and friends am missing it already!

Room Tip: A sea view or balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We spent a weekend at the Pines. The lounge and dining room have lovely views of the sea and it was nice to sit in the garden and overlook the beach and although you can get access to the beach from the garden, it's currently not possible. No indication as to how long this will be the case. But, these English hotels. As soon as you go upstairs......

Is the Pines unaware of the invention of the duvet? Our bed was made up with bedspreads and nasty- looking and brown blankets which came to round about waist height. The sheets, similarly, were from times long gone so our sleeping experience, such as it was, was poor. And, why, when you have a refurbished room, does that refurbishment not include built in furniture? Why, when you're refurbishing a room in the 21st century, do you buy free standing furniture? The view from our bedroom window over the sea was lovely but didn't totally compensate for the insomnia, courtesy of the awful bed. Also, there was nowhere to put anything in the bathroom. We had to keep our toilet bags on the bedside tables.

Other correspondents have commented on the early end to beakfast-9.30am. Why can't it be 10.00? And why do you get waiter service for breakast? For as long as we can recall, breakfast has been a buffet. Why not at the Pines? Surely, they can't be concerned at guests taking too much, can they? Mind you, the waiter whose eye fixed on us when we seemed to want to challenge the way the menu was laid out and requested fruit juice and cereal-both "To Start"- made you wonder. The coffeee pots were a bit on the small side and we were not offered refills-we had to ask. And there was no water on the tables. We had to ask and were grudgingly given some-in wine glasses!

So, all in all: good position, nice aspect, nice downstairs, not particularly friendly staff. Would we revisit? Unlikely.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LondonDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

WE went for four nights Half board, had a family suite over looking the downs,
both rooms very comfortable and well furnished, the food was exellent a cut above the usual, the breakfast alone was superb you did not need to eat again till the evenning and im a big eater, exellent wine list. the staff were very freindly and helpful, cleaniless was of
the highest order at this hotel which is very important to us as a family, definitley a chill out place to go, we wiil be going back. ps great deals for kids.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
953 reviews
0.9 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
1.9 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
963 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,773 reviews
4.3 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Hotel

Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range: £126 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pines Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Pines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines Hotel Swanage
The Pines Hotel Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing