We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pines Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pig on the Beach(Studland Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knoll House Hotel(Studland Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mortons House Hotel(Corfe Castle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Bankes Arms Hotel(Corfe Castle)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveller rating
166
183
74
27
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
183
74
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewthe cliffisle of wightfamily suitebreakfast and dinnerfantastic viewshaddockkipperslovely hotelspacious loungetraditional hotelhotel is situatedbooked last minuterestaurant staffeach eveningpublic areassingle room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
302 - 307 of 462 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We've stayed at The Pines three times over the last ten years. Obviously we wouldn't have gone back if we didn't have good thoughts about it. Previously we were either single (without kids) and the next occasion we were with babies. We liked it for the baby listening service, the views (if you're lucky enough to get a sea view) and the peacefulness, cleanliness and friendly staff.

However it's changed. This time with two children, costing £190 per night B&B for a small two room family suite with bunks - it's not worth it - especially as we actually now preferred to eat out with the children. We'd normally walk into town and back but one rainy evening meant we ate in the restaurant.

Like other reviews the rooms are tired and very dated and the room experience is a let down - silly, annoying things like doors and floorboards squeaking and creaking when someone goes to the loo. To be fair they said they sent someone to oil the hinges but it made no difference.

The biggest problem I have with this hotel now is it appears to be penny pinching. For £190 per night you expect quality but you don't get it. At £18 per main course the evening meal is hit and miss. My lemon sole was well cooked and enjoyable but £18 for a piece of fish and two bob's worth of vapid veg? And my wife had the calves liver with mashed potato which was over cooked as was the congealed gravy - both meals accompanied by assorted vegetables which had spent far too long under the heat lamps. So English so eighties English.

£5.00 for a child's meal (fish and chips in this case) is about right but small portions and no better than you can get in many Swanage restaurants. And if the children want a juice with their meal you pay bar prices. Also £4.50/glass £18/bottle for cheapest plonk you'd pay £4.99/bottle for in the supermarket or £10.00 in town restaurant.

I ask myself why there is no breakfast buffet? Mostly because the table service is so poor. An over-reliance on people who don't speak enough English meaning items either never arrive or have to be asked for multiple times. The full English results in - cheap nasty sausages, poorly cooked bacon and fried bread soaked in stale oil. Surely a quality British hotel should be serving a quality British sausage. And of course the view from the breakfast room is of metal fences and men in high viz clothing.

Like others, though we were warned about the cliff works it would have been a nice gesture of the hotel to offer a small discount (off this or a future visit) for there being no gardens. But we were flatly told "you were warned" so essentially, don't bother asking as you hand over the balance of your £760.

I just get the feeling the hotel is being run by accountants and paying £190 per night I shouldn't feel like that. We won't be returning. Shame.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. Rooms over the car park are affected by noise from vehicles including early delivery lorries.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed for a long weekend in August.We did know the hotel but had never stayed there so decided to give it a go.
Very friendly welcome on arrival and check in very efficient.The hotel had been refurbished downstairs and the louge area was light and airy with lots of co-ordinated sofas and chairs-a lovely place to sit and socialise.
The hotel is let down by the accommodation-our room had a superb view across Swanage Bay but was extremely tired.The furniture was dated and the bed was a 3/4 size double instead of full size.The bathroom was very cramped with literally no space to turn round and again in desperate need of an update.
We were booked in on a B&B basis so can't comment on dinner.The breakfast was adequate but not always what you asked for-think sometimes orders lost in translation!!!
Overall it was a pleasant stay but very overpriced for the standard of accommodation on offer.

Room Tip: sea views superb
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank letsgomurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed for three nights without previously booking, just came across the hotel by chance and what a good choice it was too!!! We stayed at one of the hottest weekends of the year, admittedly the bedroom was very hot but that was the only complaint we had. The food was excellent and the staff were so friendly and helpful. When the garden re-opens next year we will go back again.

Room Tip: A room facing the sea would be well worth paying the extra for, also with a balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bulldog1063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome by the friendly staff .. We were warned prior to booking that there was building work going on due to underpinning the cliff but in reality the was no disturbance at all ... Food, service, staff, cleanliness were all absolutely 1st class... We would gladly recommend this 1st class hotel to any one wishing to have a relaxing visit to swanage ... Steve &Janice Blomfield

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve021265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

The pines was a perfect stay for us in room 21. We booked the pines very last minute whilst on a little road trip round the coast. It was by far the most comfortable of the three places we stayed. We had a Family room as travelling with our 4 year old and this room is actually a suite - so has a separate single bedroom. Perfect - as meant it was home from home and our daughter could get straight off to sleep once put to bed. As when she is in the same room as us we have to coax her to go to sleep. Our room looked out on the fabulous hills (and carpark) and from the single room you could just see the beach. We enjoyed the views very much and even saw some shooting stars.

Arriving at the hotel you can tell they have recently refurbed the reception / lounge / bar area and it feels contemporary. I had read reviews on trip advisor so knew that the rooms were not necessarily yet updated in keeping with this. Although very clean and well proportioned this is the only thing that keeps this from being a 5 star review. The bed was 2 singles but actually very comfy and definitely the best nights sleep. We decided to stay a second night based on our experience of the first night and prolong our trip. Great views from the lounge and breakfast room are a unique point of this hotel. I was prepared again from trip advisor for the non buffet breakfast. I actually enjoyed being served my breakfast and food was good and you could order whatever you wanted. Service was excellent, sure beats helping yourself.

We ate out both nights. We got a taxi into town for £4.50 and strolled back probably a 20 minute slow pace. A slight hill at the end but good for burning off dinner and the four year old managed it fine.

Receptionists were all friendly and very helpful. They are currently restoring the gardens as some of the cliff fell always a few years ago -losing their step access to the beach. Although you can wander along a bit down the road and use the public footpath. We will definitely return in the future and hope to use the beach access.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NJandNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews