We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable holiday.”
Review of The Pines Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pines Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We have visited this hotel previously and had booked again for this year.

We were advised by the hotel that they were undergoing maintenance works and there would be limited access to lawns and noise from machinery during the day. We were given the option to cancel our booking if we wished.

We decided to continue with our booking and are so glad we made that decision as we had a wonderful 8 days holiday.

We had fantastic room with a sea view and balcony. The view from the room was breath-taking. Any noise from the work being undertaken paled into insignificance as we were still able to sit in the garden and enjoy the fabulous views. The food in the restaurant was excellent as was the service from the friendly staff.

Already booked for next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

Rooms are a good size with good facilities. Floors are a little squeak but did not disturb a pleasant sleep. Normally nice views from the lounge & restaurant from the cliff edge over the ocean towards distant Isle of White, but current cliff stabilisation is impacting the view. The town is about 10-15 mind easy walk in to Swanage, but there is not a lot there. The hotel restaurant is quite nice with delicious meals. All the staff were very friendly & helpful.

Room Tip: The hotel has a lift & a children free quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baersden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We've stayed at The Pines three times over the last ten years. Obviously we wouldn't have gone back if we didn't have good thoughts about it. Previously we were either single (without kids) and the next occasion we were with babies. We liked it for the baby listening service, the views (if you're lucky enough to get a sea view) and the peacefulness, cleanliness and friendly staff.

However it's changed. This time with two children, costing £190 per night B&B for a small two room family suite with bunks - it's not worth it - especially as we actually now preferred to eat out with the children. We'd normally walk into town and back but one rainy evening meant we ate in the restaurant.

Like other reviews the rooms are tired and very dated and the room experience is a let down - silly, annoying things like doors and floorboards squeaking and creaking when someone goes to the loo. To be fair they said they sent someone to oil the hinges but it made no difference.

The biggest problem I have with this hotel now is it appears to be penny pinching. For £190 per night you expect quality but you don't get it. At £18 per main course the evening meal is hit and miss. My lemon sole was well cooked and enjoyable but £18 for a piece of fish and two bob's worth of vapid veg? And my wife had the calves liver with mashed potato which was over cooked as was the congealed gravy - both meals accompanied by assorted vegetables which had spent far too long under the heat lamps. So English so eighties English.

£5.00 for a child's meal (fish and chips in this case) is about right but small portions and no better than you can get in many Swanage restaurants. And if the children want a juice with their meal you pay bar prices. Also £4.50/glass £18/bottle for cheapest plonk you'd pay £4.99/bottle for in the supermarket or £10.00 in town restaurant.

I ask myself why there is no breakfast buffet? Mostly because the table service is so poor. An over-reliance on people who don't speak enough English meaning items either never arrive or have to be asked for multiple times. The full English results in - cheap nasty sausages, poorly cooked bacon and fried bread soaked in stale oil. Surely a quality British hotel should be serving a quality British sausage. And of course the view from the breakfast room is of metal fences and men in high viz clothing.

Like others, though we were warned about the cliff works it would have been a nice gesture of the hotel to offer a small discount (off this or a future visit) for there being no gardens. But we were flatly told "you were warned" so essentially, don't bother asking as you hand over the balance of your £760.

I just get the feeling the hotel is being run by accountants and paying £190 per night I shouldn't feel like that. We won't be returning. Shame.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. Rooms over the car park are affected by noise from vehicles including early del...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed for a long weekend in August.We did know the hotel but had never stayed there so decided to give it a go.
Very friendly welcome on arrival and check in very efficient.The hotel had been refurbished downstairs and the louge area was light and airy with lots of co-ordinated sofas and chairs-a lovely place to sit and socialise.
The hotel is let down by the accommodation-our room had a superb view across Swanage Bay but was extremely tired.The furniture was dated and the bed was a 3/4 size double instead of full size.The bathroom was very cramped with literally no space to turn round and again in desperate need of an update.
We were booked in on a B&B basis so can't comment on dinner.The breakfast was adequate but not always what you asked for-think sometimes orders lost in translation!!!
Overall it was a pleasant stay but very overpriced for the standard of accommodation on offer.

Room Tip: sea views superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank letsgomurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed for three nights without previously booking, just came across the hotel by chance and what a good choice it was too!!! We stayed at one of the hottest weekends of the year, admittedly the bedroom was very hot but that was the only complaint we had. The food was excellent and the staff were so friendly and helpful. When the garden re-opens next year we will go back again.

Room Tip: A room facing the sea would be well worth paying the extra for, also with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bulldog1063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome by the friendly staff .. We were warned prior to booking that there was building work going on due to underpinning the cliff but in reality the was no disturbance at all ... Food, service, staff, cleanliness were all absolutely 1st class... We would gladly recommend this 1st class hotel to any one wishing to have a relaxing visit to swanage ... Steve &Janice Blomfield

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve021265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

The pines was a perfect stay for us in room 21. We booked the pines very last minute whilst on a little road trip round the coast. It was by far the most comfortable of the three places we stayed. We had a Family room as travelling with our 4 year old and this room is actually a suite - so has a separate single bedroom. Perfect - as meant it was home from home and our daughter could get straight off to sleep once put to bed. As when she is in the same room as us we have to coax her to go to sleep. Our room looked out on the fabulous hills (and carpark) and from the single room you could just see the beach. We enjoyed the views very much and even saw some shooting stars.

Arriving at the hotel you can tell they have recently refurbed the reception / lounge / bar area and it feels contemporary. I had read reviews on trip advisor so knew that the rooms were not necessarily yet updated in keeping with this. Although very clean and well proportioned this is the only thing that keeps this from being a 5 star review. The bed was 2 singles but actually very comfy and definitely the best nights sleep. We decided to stay a second night based on our experience of the first night and prolong our trip. Great views from the lounge and breakfast room are a unique point of this hotel. I was prepared again from trip advisor for the non buffet breakfast. I actually enjoyed being served my breakfast and food was good and you could order whatever you wanted. Service was excellent, sure beats helping yourself.

We ate out both nights. We got a taxi into town for £4.50 and strolled back probably a 20 minute slow pace. A slight hill at the end but good for burning off dinner and the four year old managed it fine.

Receptionists were all friendly and very helpful. They are currently restoring the gardens as some of the cliff fell always a few years ago -losing their step access to the beach. Although you can wander along a bit down the road and use the public footpath. We will definitely return in the future and hope to use the beach access.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NJandNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
954 reviews
0.9 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
1.9 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
964 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,774 reviews
4.3 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Hotel

Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range: £126 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pines Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Pines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines Hotel Swanage
The Pines Hotel Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing