We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and not so good”
Review of The Pines Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pines Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

First the good - the standard of the food was very high. There was a very good range of dishes to choose from on the evening menu and the breakfasts were first class. No skimping on portions in this hotel! The Restaurant Manager was very friendly and efficient and obviously knows his job and the restaurant staff were also very friendly and obliging. Now for the not so good - we had paid extra for a seaview room with a balcony, but we should have saved our money as we couldn't use the balcony due to the tremendous noise and fumes coming from the maintenance works being carried out on the cliff below. We had received a phone call a few days before our arrival to warn us that we wouldn't be able to use the gardens due to this work being carried out, but no mention was made of the noise and fumes. We realised a reduction in price would be out of the question, but it would have been a nice gesture to offer a complimentary bottle of wine at least. Our room had recently been refurbished, so we had no complaints there, but the hotel is looking a little "tired" in places. Finally, some of the reception staff were somewhat "frosty" and didn't seem to care if we'd enjoyed our stay or not. I know this hotel has customers who regularly return, but I'm afraid we won't (even for the wonderful food!).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
There are newer reviews for The Pines Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

We visited this Hotel to celebrate my Dad's 60th birthday. The Hotel is lovely, clean and the food is tasty. The location of the hotel is great and if your lucky you can get a sea view room. There are a few strange ways the hotel works, but I thought it made it more lovely, you sit in the bar before dinner and that's where you choose your meal, once ready you come through and the service is great. I feel this made the experience a lot more relaxed but still pleasant.

I would return again if only staying a couple of nights as the prices can be a little high

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KevSuzuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Great location, with sea view rooms that are a wall of light in the morning. The rooms are clean, up to date, and the 2 sea view rooms we saw were roomy. Plenty of parking. Dinner was good quality, both the meat and fish dishes cooked well. Dinner, drinks, sea view and breakfast - £270 for two

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank devonyoungsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We have spent three nights in that hotel . Very relaxing atmosphere . The staff were friendly and helpful . The food was excellent and varied .
The lounge was very comfortable and the background music was excellent . Unfortunately we couldn't sit out in the garden because of some work in process . But it had to be done for safety reasons .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra22400Lamballe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A great location on the cliff top and only a 10 minute walk into Swanage.

The hotel was nicely decorated, with pleasant staff and the rooms were comfortable and clean.

Our only grip was the dinner service - you can only have a table between 7pm - 8.30pm and when you have a bar in the drink before your meal, you are encouraged to place your order before going through to the restaurant. All fine and efficient but it led to the wine being open and waiting for us on the table, the starters arriving on our table simultaneously with us and the main course coming out almost as soon as our starters cutlery hitting our plates - I'm guessing the restaurant staff are only paid until 9pm?!

Room Tip: Eat somewhere else less rushed
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hamstersndwally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We have visited this hotel previously and had booked again for this year.

We were advised by the hotel that they were undergoing maintenance works and there would be limited access to lawns and noise from machinery during the day. We were given the option to cancel our booking if we wished.

We decided to continue with our booking and are so glad we made that decision as we had a wonderful 8 days holiday.

We had fantastic room with a sea view and balcony. The view from the room was breath-taking. Any noise from the work being undertaken paled into insignificance as we were still able to sit in the garden and enjoy the fabulous views. The food in the restaurant was excellent as was the service from the friendly staff.

Already booked for next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Rooms are a good size with good facilities. Floors are a little squeak but did not disturb a pleasant sleep. Normally nice views from the lounge & restaurant from the cliff edge over the ocean towards distant Isle of White, but current cliff stabilisation is impacting the view. The town is about 10-15 mind easy walk in to Swanage, but there is not a lot there. The hotel restaurant is quite nice with delicious meals. All the staff were very friendly & helpful.

Room Tip: The hotel has a lift & a children free quiet room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baersden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
944 reviews
0.9 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
4.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
236 reviews
4.3 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,507 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Hotel

Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range: £121 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pines Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Pines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines Hotel Swanage
The Pines Hotel Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing