We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior hotel with a sea view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pines Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pines Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Surrey
Level Contributor
141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Superior hotel with a sea view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed for one night, dinner, B & B. Hotel has an up market feel to it with prices to match. Very comfortable room with a sea view but the en-suite bathroom was cramped. Welcoming staff giving a very good service. Smartly dressed waiters at dinner. Excellent choice of breakfast. Access to grounds limited due to cliff stabilisation work but we were advised of this beforehand. An enjoyable stay but a bit pricey. Apparently some good value offers off season.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cranside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    156
    59
    24
    11
See reviews for
107
191
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Went with friends to The Pines for an evening meal only. Felt like royalty when met, all very well dressed and comfortable lounge area. Canapés were brought while we had a drink and chose our meal. By the time we went to sit down the starter was ready. The service was very good. We did not have a long wait between courses and the sweets were delicious. The food was plentiful and of good quality. A very enjoyable meal indeed and would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the hotel, only had a meal there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEF2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The staff were very good in finding us the best room available, given that they had major and overrunning restoration works on the receding cliff face in progress outside, about which they had phoned us beforehand. The room was what you expect for the price. The bar area was good for our evening. The breakfast was a bit disappointing - not fresh stewed fruit; pieces of plastic on my fried egg; room stuffy and hot.

Room Tip: family room, first floor, sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 954Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here a number of times,this time we just wanted a very good meal as we had friends with us and wanted them to have a nice experience. I think it is very pleasant to sit in the lounge with drinks and choose from the menu before you are seated. This way, you can relax with a drink, select your food then make your way to your table when you are ready. Once seated, first course arrives very quickly. We have always found the quality of food very good to excellent, in the past there have been a couple of things I havnt liked, but this has not been due to poor quality, poor cooking presentation or service, just that it's not been to my taste. The meal for all four of us was very enjoyable, and the desserts were lovely ( the crumbles were pronounced excellent and the lemon sherbert was dreadfully addictive) the service is efficient and quite formal, but the maitre de is very professional but relaxed enough to share a joke and put guests at their ease and will listen and make notes for special requests. Similarly, the wine waiter is very relaxed, doesn't mind if you want white wine with red meat, doesn't mind if you admit that you want sweet and fizzy or if you can't pronounce the names! All in all, a pleasant relaxed experience, finished off nicely with coffee and mints in the lounge and two happy friends!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

First the good - the standard of the food was very high. There was a very good range of dishes to choose from on the evening menu and the breakfasts were first class. No skimping on portions in this hotel! The Restaurant Manager was very friendly and efficient and obviously knows his job and the restaurant staff were also very friendly and obliging. Now for the not so good - we had paid extra for a seaview room with a balcony, but we should have saved our money as we couldn't use the balcony due to the tremendous noise and fumes coming from the maintenance works being carried out on the cliff below. We had received a phone call a few days before our arrival to warn us that we wouldn't be able to use the gardens due to this work being carried out, but no mention was made of the noise and fumes. We realised a reduction in price would be out of the question, but it would have been a nice gesture to offer a complimentary bottle of wine at least. Our room had recently been refurbished, so we had no complaints there, but the hotel is looking a little "tired" in places. Finally, some of the reception staff were somewhat "frosty" and didn't seem to care if we'd enjoyed our stay or not. I know this hotel has customers who regularly return, but I'm afraid we won't (even for the wonderful food!).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We visited this Hotel to celebrate my Dad's 60th birthday. The Hotel is lovely, clean and the food is tasty. The location of the hotel is great and if your lucky you can get a sea view room. There are a few strange ways the hotel works, but I thought it made it more lovely, you sit in the bar before dinner and that's where you choose your meal, once ready you come through and the service is great. I feel this made the experience a lot more relaxed but still pleasant.

I would return again if only staying a couple of nights as the prices can be a little high

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevSuzuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Great location, with sea view rooms that are a wall of light in the morning. The rooms are clean, up to date, and the 2 sea view rooms we saw were roomy. Plenty of parking. Dinner was good quality, both the meat and fish dishes cooked well. Dinner, drinks, sea view and breakfast - £270 for two

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank devonyoungsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.9 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
5.5 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Hotel

Property: The Pines Hotel
Address: 34-36 Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pines Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Pines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines Hotel Swanage
The Pines Hotel Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing