We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely stay”
Review of The Pines Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pines Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another lovely stay”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We stayed here in April and had a lovely time, so we thought we would stay again and then pop over to Bournemouth for the Air Festival. We had a nice room family room, number 35, it was smaller than our last one, but clean and we had a sea view. The bedrooms are separate so you and your child can have privacy. Our room was quiet, we did not hear any other guest, especially good as the hotel was full. Food excellent as usual, short walk down to the beach as the hotel, along with most of the properties in that road, had a landslide so their steps have now disappeared. Staff very friendly and helpful. Will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Messj30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    169
    66
    25
    11
See reviews for
115
203
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights in mid august to visit local relatives.
Had a room without sea view but it was lovely and cool. Room large airy and shower fab. Dinner and breakfast plentiful and lovely lounge to relax in.
Will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We have been coming to Swanage for many years and have stayed in a variety of hotels B&B and holiday lets, our room at the Pines hotel has to be the worst. be careful when booking a sea view room there are obviously different standards and size. We had booked a Sea view room paying £175.00 per night for 3 nights and was expecting the type of room it showed when booking. when we arrived our room No 26 would best be described as a box room only enough space for the double bed and a bedside cabinet, there was not even room for your suitcase it had to sit on the dressing table in the entrance way. The room had been nicely decorated and the bed was comfortable. Rooms 27 & 28 are probably the same. in addition to the size of the room, probably due to the age of the building, the sound proofing was non existent, you could here the conversations and snoring from the adjoining rooms and above. When I complained about the room I was told that they would not hold me to the booking if I wished to leave, having just driven for 5 hours from Leicester where do they think I would have stayed in Swanage at point blank notice in August.
We will not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Check with the hotel if booking a sea view room what type of room it is, the ones with the balcony a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We would not stay here again, but its not a horror story at all. The market for rooms in Swanage is not very competitive so hotels like this charge more than they really should for a perfectly acceptable room, but not one that justifies central London prices. Ours cost £300 for two nights and was half the size of vastly superior room in Newton Abbott (Sampson's Farm House) for which I paid £200 a week earlier. The food is very good, and the service in the restaurant first class, and the lobby and outdoors is a picture (the latter because of the cliffside location). Reception were a bit frosty rather than welcoming.

The room was fine but average sized and overlooking the car park. But do shop around.

Room Tip: Ask before you book whether your room faces the coast or the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel has a great location with spectacular views. The staff were very friendly and gave great service, nothing to much trouble.Plenty of choice on the menu. no complaints of the food at all.The rooms were clean and well stocked with tea coffee ect. How enjoyable not to make the beds or cooking any food!!! Good size car park.
The town is easily walking distance , down hill on the way into Swanage town and up hill on the way back to the hotel, but its a gentle hill The beaches are clean and sandy, you can hire deck chairs on the beach , many people took there own chairs.We look forward to coming back ,

Room Tip: lift available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 493AmandaB493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our family room had a separate section plus TV for our son he enjoyed! Beds comfy and sea views to Isle of Wight great from room. Plenty of storage for family clobber. Downstairs lounge/ bar area modern and spacious. The food was good and staff very helpful. If you wish to eat,shop out most places other end of bay, you can stroll to it but no problem of losing a car space if you drive as plenty of spaces.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

fantastic location in a wonderful part of England. stupendous views. very spacious lounge, restaurant, and rooms. superb service and food at breakfast and dinner. very well trained staff .. obviously trained in excellent customer service. not pretentious at all. I can't fault it. Our stay was perfect ... very relaxing and stressless.. I didn't want to go home. Thank you to all the staff the Pines hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loudionne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
931 reviews
0.9 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
4.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,482 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,729 reviews
5.5 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Hotel

Property: The Pines Hotel
Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pines Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your The Pines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines Hotel Swanage
The Pines Hotel Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing