We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money.”
Review of The Pines Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pines Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Very friendly welcome at reception. Lovely sea view room which was clean as was the bathroom. Beds very comfotable. Staff very helpful and service in bar and restautant first-class. Excellent dinner and breakfast. Do not believe the reviews that knock this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrunelSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2009

Both my wife and I have just returned from a last minute short break holiday to Swanage and this family hotel. What a wonderful surprise. From beginning to end, we found the staff so very helpful and friendly. The menu's at all meals were an absolute surprise and delight - both in choice, the quality of food and the manner it was served. Yes the lounge and dining rooms were well decorated and had wonderful views over Swanage Bay. The bedroom/en-suite were well fitted out with drinks/biscuits and nice bathing smellies - plus a large firm double bed. Car parking was generous and well speced out for all cars. Even a pathway from the hotel gardens to the beach. Our return stay is guaranteed next time we venture for a holiday to Swanage.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank contentedsolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

My wife and I wanted to visit Swanage again after many years, the last time being when our children were small and we spent much time on the beach with them. We read both the good and the bad reviews of various local hotels on Tripadvisor, and we selected The Pines Hotel.I did not mention to my wife some of the comments made by previous hotel guests just in case the poor ones worried her.
However I can only report on what we found during our recent stay at The Pines which we were (by consensus ) very happy with.
The car park is quite large and the greeting at Reception was both welcoming and efficient. The barman during our stay was most helpful and the Head Waiter and all of his staff provided excellent meals and a really service. The room was comfortable, well cleaned and maintained and it was blessed with an excellent view. Booking out was effortless with an itemised invoice which could be studied before settlement.
All in all it proved to be an excellent short break for a couple of old'ns whose children are now mature grownups.
We had to scratch our heads to get a complaint and the only thing we could complain about was that the TV in the bedroom only had 4 channels. But then who goes on holiday to watch TV ??
Would we recommend it ?, yes of course; would we go again, yes of course perhaps next Spring.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank comsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Hotel is situated at the end of a no through road and has large car park and quiet location. Spacious lounge with lots of light. Reception very courteous and friendly. Service excellent as was the food both at dinner and breakfast. Breakfast is served to you at your table. Where this hotel really gets you is the fabulous views from the garden terrace, to your left are the impressive Purbeck Hilss, straight in front (from a very elevated position) is a wide open view of the sea, and you can just see the Isle of wight, then to your right the town of Swanage and the harbour. Each Saturady in August the town has an impressive firework display from which you have a good vantage point at the hotel. Ideal location for exploring Dorset. You must see Durdle door, Lulworth Cove and the village of Corfe with it's fab castle and if you enjoy a drink then find the really small pub in Corfe (i've forgotten it's name) but it's near the model village. The pub has a well inside and a really natural garden. Excellent value and good service, I would definitely re-vist the Pines

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Epstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Delighted to find that this year the whole lounge area had been tastefully revamped. We chose a sea-view room with balcony this year instead of Downs view - but both are fine. Clean, comfortable and spacious with very speedy room clean while at breakfast every day. Dining Room has fantastic views and wonderful food also attentive service. Always meet up with other repeaters there and made many friendships over the years. Wouldn't dream of going anywhere else in Swanage.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Lovely location, view from room - fantastic. Great if you have a dog with you or don't mind everything covered in dog hairs and an overwhelming smell of dog. Balcony obviously used as a dogs toilet. Management, when approached, very dismisive of our observations.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChalkyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

After a very late booking and checking on Trip Advisor ,we really didn't know what to expect. Yes, externally the building does look shabby but this is soon forgotten once you go inside and the views from the garden are to die for.

The Reception, bar area and restaurant must have been refurbished since some of your earlier reviews, now sporting new decor/furniture. We stayed in a suite which had a side sea view but you can book a room directly overlooking the sea at no extra cost. Our room was very clean and spacious with lots of wardrobe/drawer space although if I was being picky it was a little old fashioned and the furniture was flat packed - but who really cares?

We found all the staff courteous and helpful throughout the hotel. The food was very good and all served to your table, even breakfast. There was plenty of choice with the varied four course dinner menu in the Restaurant, again with fabulous views out to sea .Our only problem was finding the capacity for all that food. Coffee and mints [included] were served to you from the small bar in the sitting area. In addition there was a large bar for drinks.

The hotel overlooks the sea and beach and to the right is the beach towards Durlston Country Park, the Pier etc.. To the left is a wonderful quiet beach [dogs allowed] with access to a glorious walk towards Old Harry Rocks, Studland Bay and the Purbeck Hills. We thought the Amalfi Coast was spectacular but the Jurrasic Coastline certainly gives it a run for its money. Do visit Dancing Ledge, Durdle Door, Bendon Hill, Corfe Castle etc, etc.

We had a fabulous break with 'wall to wall sunshine' as a bonus. I know we will be back to Swanage in the future and we can see why a lot of the people we met were return visitors to The Pines.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanneNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
962 reviews
1.9 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
276 reviews
0.9 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
973 reviews
5.5 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
5.2 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Hotel

Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range: £96 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pines Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Pines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines Hotel Swanage
The Pines Hotel Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing