We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (506)
Filter reviews
506 results
Traveller rating
183
194
82
32
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
194
82
32
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view the cliff swanage bay family room fantastic views eggs benedict breakfast and dinner kippers spacious lounge pleasant hotel traditional hotel restaurant staff booked last minute single room each evening cobb salad up to date
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 506 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2018

The Pines was selected by a cousin for a short (two night) family get together. The hotel has an enviable position on top of the cliffs with views to east and west as well as the Isle of Wight across The Solent. Our room was on the first floor overlooking the sea with magnificent views. The staff were all friendly and obviously very well trained from check-in to drinks and dinner. The food was from a short but more than adequate daily menu showing that that which was served was chosen daily and cooked to perfection to order. No pre-prepared ninety item list here!
We walked easily into Swanage from the hotel by road but we could have used the hotel's own steps to the beach far below and walked from there. All members of the party being over 70 years of age we avoided the steps!

Overall, an excellent break and would recommend The Pines to anybody.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

Recently returned from a 2 night stay with my Wife and Toddler. I should start by saying this was the most I’ve spent on a hotel in England so my expectations were high. What can I say, my expectations were more than met. Rosie was lovely, she knew exactly which room would suit us. Some reviews on this hotel are just nonsense. Rooms are amazing and recently renovated, as has the restaurant. Hallways must be next to be glammed up, fact is we don’t stay in hallways. Views from rooms and restaurant are to just amazing!

The beach is all yours, with houses to the right and nothing to the left. The beach for around a mile has pretty much nobody on it. The steps down to the beach are worth it.

Breakfast: was made to order and on piping hot plates and locally sourced. 10/10

Diner: different menu every day with a small but great options, which is good thing. Again 10/10.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank Kewal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

I booked this hotel through booking.com as the reviews were fabulous which was not the case, the hotel is clean and nice with great sea view but room was small and bed was not comfortable, pillows not comfortable and gave me a headache

Price is high for three star hotel and it was disappointing when we went for breakfast and the waiter said do we have reservation which was very strange. All tables next to the window with sea view were all booked . I never experienced a hotel who has booking for breakfast

Staff are friendly but hotel has very limited facilities

I loved swanage and overall hotel was good

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sakher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

I had the pleasure of enjoying a 2 night stay with my mother at The Pines Hotel this month . My mum has been visiting this area for the last 65 years and we always return to The Pines , it’s like a home from home for us and I was shocked to read some of the recent reviews . We found all of our meals to have been of a very high standard in fact I sought out the chef on our first evening to tell him how exceptional our evening meal was . Breakfast was good on both mornings even though the restaurant was busy and we also had sandwiches in the lounge when the weather changed one of the days , again fresh and generously filled sandwiches served with a smile . Reception , restaurant and housekeeping staff were all friendly , pleasant and professional in all our dealings with them . and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend The Pines and can’t wait to return . True some rooms are smaller than others but if you have a sea view room the size is almost irrelevant when you can enjoy the stunning view , squeakily floorboards are in evidence but the sound of the waves on the beach below more than outweighed that inconvenience for me . There is always a manager or duty manager in evidence if you have a problem with your stay why not raise the issue with them
rather than leaving a negative review ? I’m sure given my experiences of The Pines if they can fix any problem they will .

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank lfacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PINESHOTELSWANAGE, General Manager at The Pines Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review.
Its always a pleasure to see you both here.
I agree with your comments - we are always here to help and look after everyone, its good to talk !
Take care and see you soon
Barry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

Had a lovely room except for the view onto a flat roof full of noisy vents.The breakfast was fine but didn't eat there any other time.There was something distinctly lacking in the lounge area--no ambience.This hotel sells itself on its position and free parking

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews