We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly efficient staff and excellent food we will return in the future.”
Review of The Pines Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pines Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Certificate of Excellence
pontypridd S. wales
1 review
“Great location, friendly efficient staff and excellent food we will return in the future.”
Reviewed 25 April 2010

I had some reservations about staying at this hotel after reading some of the reviews but I can honestly say that we had a fabulous time. I went with a group of others on a driving weekend. It would be fair to say that the staff looked after us very well which even extended to the security of the cars in the car park. The rooms were very clean and there was plenty of hot water for the shower. Unfortunately I didn't get a room with a sea view but I didn't spend much time in the room and in any event the upstairs lounge had a fabulous sea view.
The service in general was very good and the staff were pleasant but the service in the restraunt both for breakfast and evening dinner was excellent. The choice on the menu was very good and there was plenty of vegetables with dinner in fact too much. There is no doubt that chef was excellent and he even came out to meet us, he was very friendly as well as being an excellent cook.
I stayed at the hotel for two nights and I was so impressed that I have put this review on as soon as I have returned home because it seems so unfair that there are so many poor reviews on this hotel and as far as I am concerned it is unecessary.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susie1963_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    163
    63
    25
    11
See reviews for
110
198
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
south east
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

An excellent hotel. Staff very attentive and polite. Food excellent choice. Bedroom although a little on the small size had been refurbished to a high calibre. Good sea view. On the whole a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euniceSouthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Very friendly welcome at reception. Lovely sea view room which was clean as was the bathroom. Beds very comfotable. Staff very helpful and service in bar and restautant first-class. Excellent dinner and breakfast. Do not believe the reviews that knock this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrunelSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull,UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Both my wife and I have just returned from a last minute short break holiday to Swanage and this family hotel. What a wonderful surprise. From beginning to end, we found the staff so very helpful and friendly. The menu's at all meals were an absolute surprise and delight - both in choice, the quality of food and the manner it was served. Yes the lounge and dining rooms were well decorated and had wonderful views over Swanage Bay. The bedroom/en-suite were well fitted out with drinks/biscuits and nice bathing smellies - plus a large firm double bed. Car parking was generous and well speced out for all cars. Even a pathway from the hotel gardens to the beach. Our return stay is guaranteed next time we venture for a holiday to Swanage.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank contentedsolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

My wife and I wanted to visit Swanage again after many years, the last time being when our children were small and we spent much time on the beach with them. We read both the good and the bad reviews of various local hotels on Tripadvisor, and we selected The Pines Hotel.I did not mention to my wife some of the comments made by previous hotel guests just in case the poor ones worried her.
However I can only report on what we found during our recent stay at The Pines which we were (by consensus ) very happy with.
The car park is quite large and the greeting at Reception was both welcoming and efficient. The barman during our stay was most helpful and the Head Waiter and all of his staff provided excellent meals and a really service. The room was comfortable, well cleaned and maintained and it was blessed with an excellent view. Booking out was effortless with an itemised invoice which could be studied before settlement.
All in all it proved to be an excellent short break for a couple of old'ns whose children are now mature grownups.
We had to scratch our heads to get a complaint and the only thing we could complain about was that the TV in the bedroom only had 4 channels. But then who goes on holiday to watch TV ??
Would we recommend it ?, yes of course; would we go again, yes of course perhaps next Spring.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank comsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Hotel is situated at the end of a no through road and has large car park and quiet location. Spacious lounge with lots of light. Reception very courteous and friendly. Service excellent as was the food both at dinner and breakfast. Breakfast is served to you at your table. Where this hotel really gets you is the fabulous views from the garden terrace, to your left are the impressive Purbeck Hilss, straight in front (from a very elevated position) is a wide open view of the sea, and you can just see the Isle of wight, then to your right the town of Swanage and the harbour. Each Saturady in August the town has an impressive firework display from which you have a good vantage point at the hotel. Ideal location for exploring Dorset. You must see Durdle door, Lulworth Cove and the village of Corfe with it's fab castle and if you enjoy a drink then find the really small pub in Corfe (i've forgotten it's name) but it's near the model village. The pub has a well inside and a really natural garden. Excellent value and good service, I would definitely re-vist the Pines

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easter Ross
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Delighted to find that this year the whole lounge area had been tastefully revamped. We chose a sea-view room with balcony this year instead of Downs view - but both are fine. Clean, comfortable and spacious with very speedy room clean while at breakfast every day. Dining Room has fantastic views and wonderful food also attentive service. Always meet up with other repeaters there and made many friendships over the years. Wouldn't dream of going anywhere else in Swanage.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
926 reviews
0.9 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
4.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,467 reviews
5.5 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
5.2 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Hotel

Property: The Pines Hotel
Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pines Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Pines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines Hotel Swanage
The Pines Hotel Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing