We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local pub”
Review of Red Lion

Red Lion
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Lion
Ranked #43 of 50 Swanage B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Great local pub and when we are Staying in Swanage,we will always make a b line here for a Sunday lunch and a couple of pints of Ringwood. Good friendly atmosphere very welcoming,can highly recommend the home cooked roast dinner's and delicious puddings!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Grumpygreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2013

Had a meal here on our first night in Swanage. Recommended to us by a local and we are so glad we listened. The pub was heaving but within 10 minutes a table was set up for us and we could sit down. Nothing was too much trouble. Lovely staff. Great menu. Great choice of well kept real ales. Wonderful food. Really glad we found it. Would definitely go back again if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Visited this pub several times during our Swanage break and tried the restaurant one evening when the weather outside was abominable. The restaurant was warm charming and cosy. Our meals were excellent and served by a friendly, smiling waitress. Extensive food and wine menus with very reasonable pricing. Wish we had longer in Swanage to visit The Red Lion's restaurant again. Good beer selection too!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bparkercars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

We visited The Red Lion for valentines evening this year. We've been eating here for several months since the new chef took over the kitchens last summer and never been disappointed.
The food on Valentines evening however was so exceptional I had to write a review this time. We don't usually have starters (although we were tempted this time) instead we had Cod and Mussel chowder as main meals which was outstanding and for desert: chocolate creme brulee with raspberry coulis and blueberry cheesecake with blueberry coulis.
Our bill came to just £34 for the food (!!) and £6.20 for G&T and a pint of Ale. Exceptional value. They also have an extensive drinks range here so there's always something different to try if you fancy it. The staff in here are always so friendly too so we will definitely be trying to go more often. This is Swanage's little secret at the moment but as word gets out I think we may have to book in advance! Keep it up Red Lion :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrtdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Very large rooms, clean, has everything you would expect, the rooms are not in the pub but in a separate building behind the pub so no need to worry about noise, breakfast was nice if a bit early (8:30-9:30) although this may be the norm, I don't stay in many B&B's. Take a hairdryer with you if you need one.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drew213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband and I spend two days in Swanage, based at the Red Lion. I'm afraid we where not very impressed, the room was very basic,the bed was just a plain wooden bed, not a divan, which was very uncomfortable to sleep in. There wasn't enough milk for the tea we had to go out and buy somemore, and I was unable to wash my hair for two days as there was no hairdrier provided. Also there was'nt any window to look out of, only small windows far two highup to reach, the only thing we had was a picture of swanage beach painted on the wall. For the prices they are charging which was £84.00 per room per night I would have thought they could have provided a hairdrier. The only good thing was the food, especially the breakfast it was large tasty and the chef there was very pleasant. Overall though we thought it was very expensive for what it was, and would not be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Warm welcome even though the bar was busy at the time. Room very clean plenty of coffee tea etc. We had a room with a wet room which was excellent, plenty of towels and assorted toiletries.
Only one gripe was the skylight too high to reach even though we had a pole (which was too short) also one of the blinds was broken and at this time of the year the sun is up very early!!!! so we had a bright room at 4.00 am, also the blinds were pale in colour would have been better in a darker shade. We also found that the pillows were quite hard.
Breakfast was excellent and cooked fresh to order and local produce.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank widgetisleofwight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
962 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#7 of 50 in Swanage
284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Town Hall Lodge
Town Hall Lodge
#13 of 50 in Swanage
230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vernon Lodge
Vernon Lodge
#8 of 14 in Swanage
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion

Address: 63 High Street, Swanage BH19 2LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Red Lion Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck
Swanage Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing