We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most disgusting food I have ever been served”
Review of Red Lion

Red Lion
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Lion
Ranked #38 of 51 Swanage B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Not a bad pint and my partner had the Ploughmans which at £7.50 for a bit of bread and cheese with a pickled egg and a salad garnish, was merely overpriced. My so called "fish curry" was the most revolting thing I have ever been served anywhere. No sign of a curry sauce. It was a greyish-black pile of indistinguishable bits which turned out to be left over vegetables including carrots and potatoes or turnip (which had probably been left because they weren't cooked even to the point where you could push a fork into them). This mess wass swimming in grease to which a half a teaspon of curry powder had been added along with some rubbery aubergine and a half a tin of bullet hard peas. Also added to this were five small (teaspoon sized) pieces of fish. It was served with microwaved or boil in the bag rice - so bland that you might as well eat cotton wool, a soggy opadom and a small bowl which claimed to be "chutney" but tasted more like a tinned apple pie filling. NEVER EAT HERE if you value your life or your wallet. This disgusting mess cost me £8.50 and when I complained all I got was a pathetic "sorry" from the waitress - no offer of an alternative or a refund. The food is [--].

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
6  Thank CE47inSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2009

The barman even said he didnt know the surname of the people who employed him and alas one waitress was too vocal for her own good when we tried peaceful and calmly resolve a meal problem, its a shame as its under new managemment since our last years trip when the staff and food was lovely ...i have no idea what happened since then but i recommend any where but taking your family to this dive

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bramblelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Stayed with friends at the Red Lion for three nights. We had eaten there in the past (and enjoyed the food) but was a bit dubious staying there given some of the patchy TripAdvisor reviews. We need not have worried – it was faultless. I am struggling to understand any of the ‘negatives’ from other reviewers. The two rooms we used were spacious, comfortable, spotlessly clean and quiet. OK so the ceiling windows did not have curtains, so what. We slept soundly and the light did not bother us at all. Breakfast in the adjoining breakfast room was freshly prepared and just right.

The Red Lion is a busy town centre pub popular with locals and tourists alike. It was great to sit in the garden (we were lucky with the weather) and watch the mix of young, old, locals and tourists just enjoy themselves. All the staff are friendly, with a great sense of humour who will do all they can to make your visit comfortable.

We enjoyed both the Friday night ‘Steak Supper Specials’ and the BBQ fish cooked while we watched.

In summary: rooms good, food good, why wouldn’t you want to stay there? We will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bigted27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

Just spent two nights at Red Lion and can highly recommend. Lively old pub with great staff and food. Rooms clean, spacious, quieter than I thought they were going to be considering it was the Blues weekend. Breakfast was great - anything you want (within reason of course!) Well worth a visit. Will try to go back again

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patvarney76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights 12 and 22 September 2007 in the Lulworth room, top floor of the stable block £45 per person each night. Rooms large, clean, well equipped and well maintained. En suite clean, good shower, all good stuff. Minor quibble that new bar staff when we checked in didn't know where the room was, and there was no sign on the exterior rear door but we found it, and breakfast in the morning too after a little wandering around like typical lost tourists. If you go last for breakfast you get extra portion if any left over from other guests chossing not to have the full monty (I got 3 sausages, 2 rashers bacon, egg, toms, mushrooms, beans, toast, coffee etc.) Well sorted! Staff were all friendly, helpful even if not sure about stuff, and the best thing apart from the superb location is that for a pub the accomodation is very quiet even on a packed Friday and Saturday night. One of the little velux windows doesn't have a blind so if you sleep on the futon sofa you will get the sunlight on you, but this just means you get up for breakfast in time! No problems at all, good all round experience as expected for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank budhab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2007

The rooms are in a converted stableblock and are modern clean & spacious. Only quibble is lack of a curtain to a high up widow so light could wake you up in the morning. We used towels to obscure.

Breakfast is cooked to order in nearby room.

We didn't eat in the pub because the atmosphere is a bit to oldy worldy grubby for us but plenty of places to eat nearby.

Staff very helpful indeed in posting on lost property after we checked out.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbgeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2007

We have just come back from a one nght stay and everything was perfect. The staff are friendly and attentive, and we were given a large family room for the two of us. The room was spotless - the shower cubicle door was so clean it looked like it wasn't there. The pub is in an ideal location in the centre of town. We had dinner there and the food was excellent. At breakfast we were greated by smily,friendly faces and a well cooked full English (with proper sausages). I would definitely recommend this place for both food, drink and a bed for the night.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SebDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#51 of 51 in Swanage
125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
990 reviews
0.1 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robertsbrook Guest House
Robertsbrook Guest House
#11 of 51 in Swanage
249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sandhaven Guest House
Sandhaven Guest House
#15 of 51 in Swanage
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion

Address: 63 High Street, Swanage BH19 2LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Red Lion Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck
Swanage Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing