We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be great if breakfast was improved upon.”
Review of Red Lion

Red Lion
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Lion
Ranked #43 of 50 Swanage B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 September 2006

Stayed at the Red Lion in Swanage recently. Reasonable rates for rooms which were very clean and well equipped.
Break fast was below average though. Considering the kitchen was only a few feet from our table and we could watch the chef make the cooked breakfast I can't quite work out how he did it.
No sounds of sizzling bacon or sounds of anything for that matter. He's there by the oven waiting.......... Waiting for what, I just don't know. All of a sudden after 15 minutes, breakfast suddenly appears in his hand-standard grub. Orange juice tasted musty. Tea tasted musty. As if both glass and cup have been stored in a coffin for 2 years( exaggerating slightly ).
Whole breakfast experience just a bit weird that's all.
Bedroom was fine though, no noise to speak of from beer garden.

Before the owners of the Red Lion get lairy about reading this review please bear in mind that is what it is. A review of my experience staying at your pub.

Stayed: August 2006
8  Thank Devenport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theboss13, owner at Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2006

Hi thanks for your comments, we would only get lairy if as happened before the poster did not excist. We have taken your comments on board about the breakfast, as also has the chef thank you. As for the tea Im affraid that could be attributted to the terrible hard water around here, we at home us a filter jug perhaps we need one for the B&B another idea to take on board, thanks for the postive comments about the rooms.
Hope you enjoyed the stay Swanage is a lovely place.

The boss .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2006

Having tried several hotels in the Swanage area I was very fortunate to come across a B&B with a difference. The Red Lion offers the business traveller a very warm and friendly welcome, the atmosphere in the pub is terrific and If you need an early night after a long days travel you can relax in the comfort of your own apartment in the converted coach house. This is situated away from the pub at the top of the car park and for those wondering if you would be awoken from car doors slamming throughout the night, not all, its so peacefully quiet. The rooms are spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated and they even have freeview and a DVD for your use.
The pub offers an excellent selection of food and all of the highest quality. Breakfasts in the morning are of a high standard and if you are an early bird like myself before 7.00 AM they will always help you with the offer of a continental breakfast and for those liking the odd tipple they have over 14 types of cider on offer which are quite remarkable. Be warned though that several are very strong and it does not help if you have an early start at work the next morning!
All in all this place is 'Simply The Best' in Swanage and the surrounding area's

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank TotallyBoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Southampton
115
Reviewed 20 June 2006

I have just spent a week in the Red LIon in Swanage due to work requirements and i was so impressed that i have booked my family holiday here in August!

Due to the nature of my job i spend many nights away in different hotels around the country and have experienced the various standards from poor to excellent and a stay at the Red lion is most definitely a pleasing experience.
I was made to feel very welcome and was extremely pleased by the accommodation which was clean, tidy and of a very high standard.
I tried the food on the first day and ended up eating their everday! The food was great and good value for money, the staff were always happy to help and always smiling.

I was so impressed by this establishment that as i have already said i have booked my family in for a stay in August.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2006

Oh dear. We stayed here full of expectation, none of which came true. The noise from the courtyard at all hours was disturbing as was the sight of a marquee that was just, well, there!! The food was incredibly disappointing, but fortunately there are plenty of options. (Elsewhere)
The staff were overbearing and then in one fell swoop, completely dismissive and ironically, occassionally aggressive in attitude. The bars were small and cramped and had obviously not seen a decorator in many years - not a pleasant ambience at all. The rooms were adequate, but not incredibly clean. They did have a wide variety of beers, but you're never sure what happens between placing your order and the drink returning to you as it seems it is dispensed in some back room - most unusual! We have stayed in far better places in Swanage and suggest you do to.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank dangleberry5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 May 2006

Hello. We are responding to your comments concerning your alleged stay at the Red Lion. After extensive searching, we can find no record of anyone from the Nottingham area staying at our establishment between the dates you suggest. This includes searching the booking in forms for that period. The marquee only went up on the 13th April and your response was posted on the 29th, so the window of your stay is fairly restricted.
We have checked the CCTV footage of those dates and it is apparent that no one entered the "courtyard" after hours. Our daughter ( a licencee) lives above the pub and at the time her youngest was only 2 weeks old she was obviously up feeding him and she is adamant that there was not any disturbance, also a check with the local police did not find any antisocial behaviour at that time. As for your comments on the food, as with most things like that, it is subjective, but just to point out that we have received good reviews from numerous publications. If the staff were dismissive as you suggest why did you not come and take this up with myself or my partner, surely this is the way to deal with ANY complaints. If they were our sincere apologies. If you read the review of our pub and use common sense you will see it is over 300 years old and is marketed as a traditional 2 bar pub, we only took over the pub 20 months ago and despite many request have not gained the planning permission to carry out any work. After all sir/madam, it is a grade 2 listed building. It did have some cosmetic decoration carried out about 12 months ago and it must be plain to see that smoking causes problems.

As for the rooms, this is to be blunt an insult! The rooms are new, light, airy and very well equiped inc TV/DVD and freeview and en-suite power shower, tea/coffe making facilities. They are cleaned to a very, very high standard. Again, if you had read the booklet in your room and there were any problems you should have said STRAIGHT away.

If you had been there on the 30th april you would have been able to see us being awarded EAST DORSET CAMRA pub of the year. This follows other CAMRA awards. The "back room" you say about is a temperature controlled cellar that houses some 14 ciders and 5/6 real ales which are very often dispensed direct from the barrell, which according to say 90% of CAMRA members is great. Again if you had asked we would have gladly shown you around. To suggest we might be doing something to your beer is an insult and borders on libel.
We as a management have come to the conclusion, that after our reaserch you fall into one of the following catorgories:
1) a professional complainer who will not make their problems known at the time.
2) a disgrungtled ex employee (not many to choose from)
3) another local landlord/lady whose business has been affected by our success.
We have contacted both Trip advisor and our solicitor and further comments and action will be following.
We accept constructive and genuine critiscm but not outright fabrications and distortion of the truth.

Yours
The Red Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2005

I'm currently staying in Swanage while working in the area and I was very lucky to discover the excellent accommodation in the Red Lion. An old barn at the rear of the pub has been converted into 5 rooms of a very high standard. All the room have been very tastfully furnished and decorated.

The rooms are some distance from the pub at the rear of the beer garden and are therefore very quiet. Excellent breakfasts are served in a dining room which is part of the same barn. The pub also does excellent meals, has a wide range of real ales and over 10 different types of cider, some of which are very strong! It would be an excellent place to come for a family holiday, children are welcome in the pub and there is a childrens play area in the garden. The pub is situated just off the main street in Swanage and is only a couple of minutes away from the beach.

I will be working here regularly and would not choose to stay anywhere else.

42  Thank Neil_Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.1 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.0 mi away
Town Hall Lodge
Town Hall Lodge
#13 of 50 in Swanage
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#50 of 50 in Swanage
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caythorpe House
Caythorpe House
#8 of 50 in Swanage
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Easter Cottage
Easter Cottage
#24 of 50 in Swanage
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
2@2 Rabling Road
2@2 Rabling Road
#22 of 50 in Swanage
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion

Address: 63 High Street, Swanage BH19 2LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Red Lion Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck
Swanage Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing