We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swanage Haven”
Review of The Swanage Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Swanage Haven
Ranked #2 of 49 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Swanage Haven”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

A Five Star (5*) establishment through and through. After our three hour journey from London and an amazingly short ferry ride we arrived to private parking at Swanage Haven. Greeted by David he showed us to our spectacular superior double room with a view of the garden and surrounding area. The first night we feasted on Dianne's mouthwateringly delicious dinner and every morning we were filled to the brim at breakfast with an assortment of local fresh and homemade food! We got to know David & Dianne, who we kept up way too late one night, talking about life, but who in turn shared their knowledge of the area and granted us an opportunity to venture out and see the sights even though it was not peak season. We had an superb stay the cleanliness, size and comfort of the room was excellent!!!! We would most definitely recommend Swanage Haven and can't wait to return - nothing negative could be said!!!!

Lee & Amira

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeDominique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
We miss you already! here is to the Jamaican Bobsled team! David & Dianne x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    54
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
503
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frome
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This B&B is so deserving of its 5 star rating. Our room was spotless, spacious and very comfortable. The breakfast room is lovely and there is a stunning bar, restaurant area. David and Dianne are fantastic hosts, very warm and friendly. There is a huge choice for breakfast and its all locally sourced and home cooked. They do cook evening meals if needed but we chose to go out, but if we return would hope to sample them. To top it all there is a spa and I was lucky enough to have time for a massage by Dianne - brilliant! Just a couple of minutes walk to the beach and a short walk to town its in a great location. If you're going to Swanage its the place to stay for sure!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Your stay with us was much appreciated, we hope to see you again x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Just recently returned from Swanage and loved it. We went away over Valentines day however it was actually for my girlfriends birthday which is the day after. After arriving early evening we were promptly greeted by David and shown to our room. The room was stunning, it was beautifully decorated with rose petals and a chocolate rose, a very nice touch indeed! The bathroom looked like it had just been put in and was spotless. As there is only 7 rooms and its adults only, you get to know the other couples staying there at the same time as you which I thought was really nice, David and Dianne are a lovely couple who are keen to get to know you and we ended up spending a lovely evening just chatting away to both of them. We ate at the Red Lion on the first night which we found to be a charming local pub and the food was pretty good. However after seeing Diannes cooking the night before, the second night we stayed in for dinner. Wow was it worth it, the food is INCREDIBLE! All homemade and you can certainly tell. I had a chicken curry for mains and ended up having some of the apple cake to finish. My advice - stay in for dinner! I can't think of anything that beats it!

The breakfast on the otherhand is dangerous, beware you will probably need a hand getting out of the restaurant after eating it as it certainly fills you up! If you leave breakfast hungry you are very strange indeed! The choice on offer is more than you will have chance to sample, I stuck for the cooked breakfast each morning which was all locally sourced plus some toast which was made in house. It was all so good we ended up buying some of the Lemon Curd they make to take home :D They even remembered it was my Girlfriends birthday on the Saturday and David came in singing Happy Birthday with a little cake they had made. It was a brilliant way to top off the weekend and I can safely say, it was eaten by the time we got home!

Nothing is to much trouble for them, David and Dianne are lovely people and we will certainly be back for more, although next time I will make sure I have a set of jeans the next size up ;)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marko2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time and Trouble to write this review, it was a total pleasure to meet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

From the minute we arrived, right through till we left, nothing was too much trouble. David and Diane were so welcoming and friendly. Our bedroom was spotless and comfortable with a large ensuite. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and all locally sourced. Unfortunately we didn't have time to use the spa facilities but definitely an added bonus. We will definitely book again next time we visit Swanage.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally-Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you so much for your comments and making our first weekend open in 2014 such a happy one. hope to see you again . Dianne & David x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was our second time staying with Dianne & David at their lovely b & b. We stayed a week last summer and had the king size at the front so decided to try a different room this time and had the superior double at the back which is on the top floor. A lovely room with amazing views of the hills and beautiful en suite shower room. The food is beautiful and plentiful and we spent a couple of evenings in the bar having a drink and chatting (and laughing!!) with Dianne and David.
A lovely relaxing place to stay with many places to visit even in the winter :) and we will be back again next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beech62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We recently spent four wonderful nights at The Swanage Haven, and, as on previous occasions the service, food and accommodation were first class. David and Dianne were welcoming as always and were always on hand with advice for days out places to eat etc. (stay in for your dinner is my advice!). Our spotless room was spacious with an en-suite far bigger than our bathroom at home. The bar area (added since our last visit) means that weary legs only have to make it down the stairs to enjoy an evening of local ale and a chat with other guests (and David). Four nights just wasn't enough and hopefully we will be back again very soon - we still need to try out the hot tub!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton england
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Great B & B. This was our second stay and still as lovely as ever. Good location, free on site parking, comfortable bed, nice room, super shower and amazing breakfast! What more can you want? and all at a great price. The breakfast is locally sourced, beautiful freshly made fruit salad, cereals, home made cake, great "full english breakfast" plus many extra choices such as smoked salmon on scrambled egg. Easy walking distance to the sea front and town. Plus even a hot tub in the garden to use.

Room Tip: Pay a couple of pounds extra for one of the bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladytraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
909 reviews
0.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.2 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
919 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#4 of 49 in Swanage
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanage Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanage Haven

Property: The Swanage Haven
Address: 3 Victoria Road, Swanage BH19 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Swanage Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanage Haven is situated just 300 yards from the glorious sandy beach, offering peace and tranquility in the heart of The Isle of Purbeck. The rooms are generously proportioned & sumptuously decorated. The breakfasts are generous, the towels are fluffy and the linen crispy and delicious. Dianne & David Cole welcome you to The Swanage Haven in the heart of Swanage, an ideal base for exploring the beautiful county of Dorset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Swanage Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanage Haven Hotel Swanage
The Swanage Haven Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing