We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect !!!!!”
Review of The Swanage Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Swanage Haven
Ranked #1 of 48 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect !!!!!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights over the May bank holiday and it was heaven. We were in room 8 a superior double room and it was perfect, nothing short of a top class 5* hotel. The bathroom was huge with a lovely walk in shower. The bed was so comfy it was a struggle to get up in the morning. I can quite honestly say that it is the best B&B my partner Lloyd and I have ever stayed in and we have stayed in quite a few over the years. Breakfast was wonderful, a huge choice of hot dishes and lovely fresh fruit every day, not to mention the freshly home baked bread (yum)! You won't need to eat lunch, we couldn't manage anything until dinner! We also had an evening meal here and was lovely. Dianne is an excellent cook. Perfect location just a short stroll into Swanage. Our hosts David & Dianne were lovely, so welcoming. we can't wait to return.
I only have one complaint about the Swanage Haven, we didn't want to leave!!!!

Room Tip: The superior double room 8 has a lovely view and is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnySlainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thanks for the Lovely comments , we try to go that bit further in our experience of Swanage, glad you like our evening bar & food too. Dianne & David Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    53
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
493
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at the Swanage Haven over the May bank holiday and enjoyed the wonderful personal service from the owners who are very welcoming and helpful. On arrival everything is explained clearly whist being shown to the room which is a good size and well maintained. The room has everything one would expect from a top class hotel. The room is a good size with comfy bed and well equipped bathroom. Decor is excellent with a grand view over to Ballard Downs. The nice little touches include tea making facilities, dressing gowns and slippers, bottle of fresh water and a little chocolate treat. Breakfasts are fresh and varied. Well done David and Denise, we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Was great to meet you , glad you had a great time and hope,to see you again in the future.
Dianne & David Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

This was our third visit to the Swanage Haven and again we were not disappointed. The rooms are of a high standard and the breakfast is simply fantastic. There is also the option of Dianne's home cooked evening menu and a bar/waiter service by David which we really enjoyed. Due to Dianne & David's personal touch we find this B&B a very relaxing and comfortable place to enjoy Swanage and surrounding area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryandRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne C, Manager at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Always great to see repeat guests, we love welcoming you, look forward to seeing you again
Dianne & David Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Everything has been said before... it's a great place to stay. We especially enjoyed the range of breakfasts. We had the added benefit of recent great weather, but we would return at any time of the year!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gullymog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Aww Thank you , we loved meeting you and hope to see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

A two-night stay at the FANTASTIC Swanage Haven. An oasis of calm and relaxation. Just what we needed! The room was very well appointed. Little touches like the bespoke sea horse chocolates and the robes and slippers hit the spot. Even without taking up the offer of the spa services, we felt proper pampered.

The breakfasts deserve a paragraph of their own. A-flipping-mazing... The downside is that such copious amounts of high quality full English meant less space for very much else throughout the day while pottering around Swanage.

Full credit to David and Dianne. A top notch haven; we will be coming back...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysinSh0rts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your fab review, we try hard to meet the expectations of being a 5* rated establishment, when guests appreciate the hard work it vindicates all the work we put in. We hope to welcome you again x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

During our stay we enjoyed; a fantastic breakfast where I am a fussy bunny but David and Diane accommodated my needs very well, without a fuss but with a smile. Fell asleep thanks to an amazing relaxation massage then enjoyed a dinner to which I perceive as restaurant standard! Great tasting and presented beautifully.
The room we stayed in was the compact double but still spacious enough for the two of us and we are no skinny Minnies! Both David and Diane are very friendly and chatty.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieCaines-windsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
What a complete pleasure to meet you, we both look forward to that threatened return lol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Great experience. Hot tub gorgeous. Breakfast very tasty and lots of choice. Clean, quiet rooms.the circular window in our bathroom could do with a blind as it looks out on to the building next doors balconys!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzlar45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thanks for your review it is always much appreciated, the circle window in your bathroom you mentioned is original to this Edwardian house, and has opaque glass in, the foot wide circle.... So a little confused by your comment ..surely closing the window if privacy seemed to be an issue would have cured the issue ... But we take inboard your comments. Hope to see you again . Dianne & David Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#5 of 48 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanage Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanage Haven

Property: The Swanage Haven
Address: 3 Victoria Road, Swanage BH19 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Swanage Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanage Haven is situated just 300 yards from the glorious sandy beach, offering peace and tranquility in the heart of The Isle of Purbeck. The rooms are generously proportioned & sumptuously decorated . The breakfasts are generous, the towels are fluffy and the linen crispy and delicious. Dianne & David Cole welcome you to The Swanage Haven in the heart of Swanage, an ideal base for exploring the beautiful county of Dorset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Swanage Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanage Haven Hotel Swanage
The Swanage Haven Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing