We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly & fabulous stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Swanage Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Swanage Haven
Ranked #1 of 47 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Basingstoke
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly & fabulous stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

On arrival we was greeted with a very warm welcome by the owner and shown to our very nice room (2) which was very clean and comfortable.its situated a 5/10 min walk from the beach and town in a nice quiet road.
We chose a full English breakfast in the morning which was the best iv had in any hotel/b&b.
Both my partner and I was very happy with our stay and will defiantly without a doubt be back again:)melissah & james

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Hi .. easy to be nice to such great people.. thank you for taking the time to review us
Dianne & David Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    52
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
487
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We enjoyed a fantastic week at the Swanage Haven where David and Dianne were incredibly welcoming and friendly.
Everywhere was spotless, comfortable bed, the room spacious, wonderful breakfasts and dinner - I cannot think of any negatives.
As it was carnival week there was plenty to see & do and the sun shone EVERY day!!
We would recommend the Swanage Haven and thank David and Dianne for making this one of our best holidays :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy186349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, 2 October 2014
Thanks for such a gleaming review.... we strive hard to make sure all customers feel that their stay is
a special one.. we look forward to meeting you again :)
Dianne & David Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Spent a very relaxed 6 nights at the Swanage Haven Boutique B&B. David and Diane were really friendly hosts and went out of their way to be as helpful as possible (Diane even spent ages coaxing our ancient lap-top back to life so we could access our e-mails!). The bedroom was great and there's no surprise that the breakfast has won awards. No hesitation recommending this hotel for a short or longer break.

Room Tip: We booked a standard double, which was really stylish - I'm pretty sure it was a king-size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Wow thanks for such a great review.. Your laptop ...was a challenge :) but despite all the ribbing .... Years worth of use yet lol. Was great to meet you both glad you had a fab time ,
Dianne @ David Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Have just returned from 4 nights at Swanage Haven. Great room, superb breakfasts and Dianne and David were exceptional hosts. We also had an evening meal which was excellent. We would certainly stay there again.10/10 for room, food and hosts. What a very special place and indeed a haven in which to spend quality time on holiday. Thank you Dianne and David for making our break so relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou09Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
What fab weather you had too, sadly something we cannot control but just adds to the great
experience of Swanage & Purbeck. Hope to see you again soon
David & Dianne Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed for one night as a last night of pre-baby freedom. I wish we had stayed longer, it was so lovely. Diane & David were very welcoming, and obviously really care about their guests. The rooms we saw were all well decorated, and the robes in the bedroom were lovely. We ate out for dinner so can't comment on that, but the breakfast was amazing (my other half is still raving about the tomatoes)!

We will definitely be back again :-)

Room Tip: We were in room 7 on the top floor, great view but 2 flights of stairs (although I managed the stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexDM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Ahaa So you can use a computer :) Thank you for your review, great to meet you both
thanks for the great things you commented on ..makes what we do so worthwhile.
David & Dianne Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were greeted by Diane & David and made to feel very welcome. Our room (7) was excellent with crisp quality bedding and plenty of hanging and drawer space. The bathroom was the icing on the cake with large walk-in shower and modern decor.
Breakfast was treated with same attention to detail in immaculate dining room. Menu choice was good although I have to say that "Full English" was as good as I have ever had so became my daily choice.
Although Diane & David run a professional business they remain friendly and we look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: Room 7 has superb bathroom but is on top floor should you have mobility problems.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us.. Was a complete pleasure to meet you and we are pleased
your stay with us gave you the time to relax and enjoy Swanage .. hope to see you again
David & Dianne Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights last week - our fourth visit and the standard is as good as ever. David and Dianne are first class hosts and everyone is made welcome. The bedrooms are well equipped, including robes and slippers, and spotlessly clean. The breakfast is delicious with locally sourced produce, home made bread and preserves and loads of fresh fruit. This place is professionally run and deserves its success. We would have no hesitation in recommending Swanage Haven to anyone. It's a great place for a relaxing, enjoyable break. We certainly intend to return.

Room Tip: Room 3 is the superior king size double. Large, comfortable and with a good bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayj0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review ... We are glad you have seen how we keeping such high standards is a must for us, looking forward to seeing you another time . David & Dianne Cole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#5 of 47 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanage Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanage Haven

Property: The Swanage Haven
Address: 3 Victoria Road, Swanage BH19 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Swanage Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanage Haven is situated just 300 yards from the glorious sandy beach, offering peace and tranquility in the heart of The Isle of Purbeck. The rooms are generously proportioned & sumptuously decorated . The breakfasts are generous, the towels are fluffy and the linen crispy and delicious. Dianne & David Cole welcome you to The Swanage Haven in the heart of Swanage, an ideal base for exploring the beautiful county of Dorset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Swanage Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanage Haven Hotel Swanage
The Swanage Haven Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing