We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely, character filled cottage near the sea”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Baytree Cottage

Chill out in the farmhouse kitchen with the Aga
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chill out in the farmhouse kitchen with the Aga
Baytree Cottage Baytree Cottage and Owl Pottery next door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Chill out in the farmhouse kitchen with the Aga
Baytree Cottage
Baytree Cottage and Owl Pottery next door
Baytree
A warm welcome awaits
The kitchen
AGA
AGA and looking back to the utility room
Utility room leading to the sundeck/patio
Relax in the cosy sitting room
Wood burning stove
Enjoy the wonderful sitting room with wood burning stove
The double bedroom on top floor
Bunk room with third bed
Twin room
Family bathroom
Baytree sundeck/patio with seaview leading to garden
View back to cottage from patio
View towards the cottage
Durdle Door and its beach
Corfe Castle
Steam train from Swanage to Corfe Castle
Swanage pier
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Margaret...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely, character filled cottage near the sea”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a lovely week at Baytree Cottage which is full of character and very well presented. The large, comfortable lounge was great for all the family especially our grandson who played with the train track for hours. The kitchen was very well equipped though we never did use the AGA but had barbeques on the patio in the evenings. The beach and town were a short walk away so we hardly used the car. Putlake Farm in nearby Langton Matravers was a great success with our little one, a mixture of farm animals and play areas. And, of course, the beaches of Swanage, Sandbanks and Studland are wonderful. A great cottage for a family holiday.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reebob
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

What a Beautiful Cottage.
Me and my family had the pleasure in staying in this Gorgeous cottage in April. It had everything and more than we could have possibly wanted.
It was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean.
Really can't recommend this place enough.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twyford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kimmyf666
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“perfect- we didnt want to leave!!!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We were visiting as a family for a family funeral and really wanted to find a home from home where we could spend time together, yet have our own space. THIS PROPERTY WAS THAT & MUCH MORE
The decor was lovely, the period features such as the log burning fire, the aga in the kicthen , the belfast sinks, the victorian style bath and the old stonework/woodwork was amazing.
The only downside was the lack of parking space, but there was some on road parking on a near by street, so this was fine.
The host was quick to respond to any communication and this is definitely one of the best holiday properties I have stayed in.
Thanks for making a difficult time easier by letting us stay in such a wonderful property. this is truly a hidden gem, and would hope to return. If you are considering self catering Swanage properties- STOP looking, this is everything you could want ! book it before someone else does- you wont regret it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it was a massive spacious well maintained home
Liked least: lack of parking space (but it wasnt a problem)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie761
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect house for a lovely hassle-free family holiday”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 for a stay in July 2013

I couldn't recommend this house enough if you're after an enjoyable, easy family holiday. It has everything you need – loads of character, loads of space, fabulous kitchen with an Aga that keeps it cosy and welcoming, and adjoining utility room for extra space and food storage, plus a great suntrap outside. Location is perfect, literally a couple of minutes from the shops and the seafront, with lovely beach and various play areas for the kids. From the town you can get the steam train to Corfe Castle, a great hit with our little ones. Though called a 'Cottage' the house is a great size, with a huge kitchen table and lovely spacious lounge. Added extras include toys, games and books for indoor use, plus loads of outdoor toys hidden away in cupboards, eg buckets and spades, boogie boards etc (so you don't need to shell out for them while you're there!)
Swanage and its surrounding area are beautiful, perfect for walking, cycling, running... and amazing beaches within easy driving distance. We loved our holiday at Baytree Cottage and are already booked to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1,045
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing