We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect family cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Baytree Cottage

Baytree
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Baytree
Baytree Cottage Baytree Cottage and Owl Pottery next door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Baytree
Baytree Cottage
Baytree Cottage and Owl Pottery next door
A warm welcome awaits
The kitchen
Chill out in the farmhouse kitchen with the Aga
AGA
AGA and looking back to the utility room
Utility room leading to the sundeck/patio
Relax in the cosy sitting room
Wood burning stove
Enjoy the wonderful sitting room with wood burning stove
The double bedroom on top floor
Bunk room with third bed
Twin room
Family bathroom
Baytree sundeck/patio with seaview leading to garden
View back to cottage from patio
View towards the cottage
Durdle Door and its beach
Corfe Castle
Steam train from Swanage to Corfe Castle
Swanage pier
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Magsp61
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect family cottage”
Reviewed 16 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Had a lovely week staying at the beautiful Baytree Cottage in August. It is very well equipped and is in a great location for getting out and about. We did crabbing, boating, shopping, (lawn) bowling , putting and eating. Had fun cooking on the Aga and playing board games in the evening. Would definitely visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2017
Thank you for this great review. Glad you had such a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Applecr0s...
Pasadena
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely house, wonderful location, brilliant for kids”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a fantastic stay at Baytree Cottage. The house is very conveniently located: about a 10 minute walk to the beach and pier (easily handled by our 4 and not-quite 2 year old children), the Co-op and the railway station even closer, and a well-stocked small grocery shop just across the street.

It was one of the best-equipped holiday houses I have ever stayed in. Great attention to detail eg plenty of sharp knives, lots of crockery and cutlery. We especially appreciated all of the things for children: loads of toys and books, a baby carrier, plastic cups/plates/bibs, beach toys, etc. The house is also spacious and did not feel cramped. Cooking on the aga was a new experience but worked out just fine. My husband was a bit too tall for the house and kept banging his head on things, but I am shorter and thought it all just added character. The twin room does not have much space apart from the beds, but there is a surprising amount of storage on the shelves.

We were always able to park the car close by, though it was a tight squeeze getting out of our spot on one or two occasions. We only used our car a couple of times during the whole stay. Swanage is very walkable, even with small kids, so we mostly just ventured out of the house on foot. All in all, we had a very enjoyable stay in a lovely part of the world. Wish we could come back soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for leaving a review for us. We are so glad you enjoyed our cottage as much our family does. Hope you'll come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katharina...
Ludwigshafen, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage - great holiday”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent two wonderful weeks at Baytree. The communication before our arrival was very pleasant and helpful. The cottage fulfilled all our expectations. The kitchen was very well equipped even for a family of five. Cooking with the Aga was a new experience. Pizza works out great and the kids loved dropped scones. The patio offers a lovely view and we spent several evenings relaxing there. Parking was not as bad as we had feared despite Carnival week. We always found a spot close by. It's a great location from which to walk down to the beach or explore the shops. There's a Co-Op within walking distance which is very convenient.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DMholiday...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great property”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Lovely property, walking distance to sea. Property clean and well knitted out, including an Aga!
Great for families.
No parking at property but there is free parking in nearby streets, may require a bit of walking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well kitted house.
Liked least: Lack of parking at property but would not stop me hiring property again.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith H
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful cottage, interesting and practical. Ideal position..”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed there with our daughters and their children. We have been coming to Swanage for many many years and this is certainly one of the most enjoyable properties we have rented. It is roomy and practical whilst providing a private get away should you wish to chill. It is close enough to the centre to make it easy to pop back from the beach or Downs should you forget something. It was clean and well maintained with very comfy beds. First class, roomy accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen and bedrooms felt like being on board an old ship
Liked least: Some noise from late night revellers returning home during busy reagtta week.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaHLE1
East Midlands, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage, excellent location, wonderful holiday.”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed here in June and had a great holiday. The cottage is lovely and a real home from home, it is centrally located; the beach is within walking distance as are shops and several pubs. I would definitely stay at Baytree cottage again and wouldn't hesitate in recommending it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: the garden
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caoimhin
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, perfect for toddlers”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This house is even nicer than it looks on the pictures, very spacious and like a real home. The other reviews said that there were lots of toys for children, but Baytree Cottage really was SO well equipped for little people. Our two year old actually asked to go to bed, as she loved sleeping in the bunk bed, and in 'her' room with all the toys. We could have arrived with none of our own and she would have been more than happy! There are lots of books for a range of ages, a wooden castle, train set, baby doll etc. There were also lots of useful things like stair gates, toddler toilet seat, a UV tent and toddler carrier (am just mentioning as I didn't know beforehand and it's a big help/selling point).
The house is very well equipped generally and was in a great location with only a short walk to the beach, steam train, shops etc. Parking was a bit trickier than we expected but we found somewhere and didn't need to use the car much.
If you want to eat out at the weekend, book a table!
We didn't find a coffee machine but the kitchen had everything else we could have wanted.
Would definitely return, and our child-free friends who visited were also impressed!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing