We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cleanliness, hospitality and attention to detail”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Clare House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clare House
Ranked #5 of 47 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cleanliness, hospitality and attention to detail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Dianne & Alan are consummate hosts who can't do enough for you. The house itself is lovely with quirky rooms on the 2nd & 3rd floor. I stayed in room 6 and it was spotlessly clean and my bathroom was fabulous, although there was no soap, only liquid handwash. Room had a silent fridge, which was a nice touch. There was a flatscreen tv, although couldn't get many Freeview channels, including BBC 1 or 2. Breakfast was lovely. Cars and people passing outside makes the room noisy when windows are open - bring earplugs! Just two (minor) suggestions; don't re-set the breakfast tables while there are still guests in the breakfast room - it is noisy and distracting, as is turning on the vacuum cleaner just outside the breakfast room.

Room Tip: Each room is a different size and shape so look on website and choose which suits you best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Hi Kim, thank you for your kind review. We are so sorry there were some minor irritations during your stay with us. The next time you come to Clare house please let us know immediately of anything that may need our attention so it does not detract from your time with us. Our bedrooms have double glazed windows, and when they are closed there should be no street noise. Our breakfast time is between 8.15am and 9.15am. Sometimes our guests are having such a lovely time they linger a little longer in the dining room some till after 10.30am and unfortunately we do have to start clearing away to enable us to prepare the guest house for the arriving guests. We do have soap in the bathrooms in the form of hand wash, (more hygienic and less tacky than little soaps and recommended by the Hotel Inspector for 4 and 5 Star establishments.) shampoo, conditioner, body wash and body lotion, Mending kits, and shower caps, all made by the prestigious White Company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    57
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
349
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was our second visit to Clare House, we had such a good experience on the first visit that we thought we could risk a second stay and we were not disappointed. We were made to feel welcome by Dianne and Alan from the moment we walked through the door to the moment we left. Rooms are spotlessly clean, well serviced with a mini-fridge stocked with bottled water and fresh milk., which after a long journey is well appreciated. A comfortable bed and a fabulous breakfast well worthy of the award Dianne has won.
The location is perfect for the town and beach but just far enough away so as not to be too noisy at night. Clare House is not the cheapest b&b in Swanage but is probably one of the best for value. We will be staying again in September which should give you a good clue as to how we feel about the place.
Looking forward to the next visit.
Jim & Jenny May

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Hi James, thank you for the fantastic review, I do hope we will see you both again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Lovely room, excellent breakfast and a great location for Swanage centre and the beach. Nothing was too much trouble for Alan and Diane. We will certainly make it our number one choice to stay if we are in this area again. It was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cartrefle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you very much for the lovely review. I do hope if you are ever down our way again you will come and stay with us at Clare House. We enjoyed looking after you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

On entering Clare House, the greeting from Dianne made us feel relaxed and welcome straight away. What a great start to our weeks holiday. Everything about our stay was perfect, room, breakfast, location. Great hosts in Alan and Dianne. Great B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Hello Ian and Lyn, thank you for your kind words. It was a delight to have you stay with us for a week. I do hope you will come back and see us again. I remember you wanted information about a house to let in Swanage for Carnival next year for your family. I have contacted our friend and he will be in touch,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Spent the weekend at Clare House as was in the area for a friends wedding. A genuinely lovely place to stay. Diane & Alan made us both feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Clean smart room, great location & a cracking breakfast, what more do you need!?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Hello Ben and Mandy, thank you for the lovely review, you certainly had a lovely weather for the wedding you attended. We seem to be full of wedding guests in August. Swanage is a very popular for place for wedding ceremonies. I do hope you will both come back and see us soon. p.s. telephone charger is in the post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Clare House and we were delighted with the accommodation - location, cleanliness and space were all excellent, as was the breakfast. The property itself is very interesting in its history and design with each of the rooms being very individual and spacious with some lovely furnishings. Dianne and Alan were very considerate hosts and clearly set high standards. We will definitely make a return journey!

Room Tip: The rooms we occupied were excellent. Although one of the rooms was we at the front of the property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosiebabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Hello rosiebabes, Thank you for your kind words. Clare House does have a fascinating history. It is a delight for us to stay here. It certainly beats the usual bog standard house that's for sure. You and your family were absolute lovely. I certainly hope you will return and stay with us, we would be delighted to have you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Very pleasant place to stay and location is great. Nice staff, and great breakfast. Like Alan said: for Bed and Breakfasts, what you need is a good bed and a good breakfast. You certainly get that here! Well done, Dianne and Alan. We will absolutely come back if we are heading that dierction again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 604Inger72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Hello Vatne family. Thank you for your kind review. It was a delight to have you and your little baby girl stay with us. I do hope if you are ever in Swanage in the future you will come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#1 of 47 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
A Great Escape Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare House

Property: Clare House
Address: 1 Park Road, Swanage BH19 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Clare House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home for you while you are away from home in a 5 Star Gold Award Guest House that also boasts a coveted VisitBritain Breakfast Award 3 years in a row. At Clare House we aim to provide you a home from home at the beautiful seaside resort of Swanage on the World Heritage Jurassic Coast. We are less than 200 metres from the award winning beach and the 2012 pier of the year, with town centre restaurants and bars only a few minutes walk. We are also only a few minutes from newly refurbished Durlston Country Park and the stunning clifftop walks. For breakfast we prefer to use Homemade, locally-sourced or Fairtrade produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare House Hotel Swanage
Clare House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing