We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clare House - 6 Stars in Our Eyes”
Review of Clare House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clare House
Ranked #3 of 50 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

From the moment you entered Clare House = an elegantly decorated home - you were made to feel welcome by Dianne and Alan. Nothing was too much trouble with fresh milk in your fridge and bottled water together with every assortment of teas, coffees, chocolate and shortbread biscuits. The room was spotlessly clean, the bed comfortable and hot water to hand. The breakfast was cooked to perfection and whatever you required you received - cooked fresh for each individual. This was our first visit but it definitely wont be the last. Vron and Alan Rides

Room Tip: They were all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vron060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Hi Vron thank you very much for the lovely review, I do hope we will see you both again, the shorts are in the post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Dianne & Alan are consummate hosts who can't do enough for you. The house itself is lovely with quirky rooms on the 2nd & 3rd floor. I stayed in room 6 and it was spotlessly clean and my bathroom was fabulous, although there was no soap, only liquid handwash. Room had a silent fridge, which was a nice touch. There was a flatscreen tv, although couldn't get many Freeview channels, including BBC 1 or 2. Breakfast was lovely. Cars and people passing outside makes the room noisy when windows are open - bring earplugs! Just two (minor) suggestions; don't re-set the breakfast tables while there are still guests in the breakfast room - it is noisy and distracting, as is turning on the vacuum cleaner just outside the breakfast room.

Room Tip: Each room is a different size and shape so look on website and choose which suits you best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Hi Kim, thank you for your kind review. We are so sorry there were some minor irritations during your stay with us. The next time you come to Clare house please let us know immediately of anything that may need our attention so it does not detract from your time with us. Our bedrooms have double glazed windows, and when they are closed there should be no street noise. Our breakfast time is between 8.15am and 9.15am. Sometimes our guests are having such a lovely time they linger a little longer in the dining room some till after 10.30am and unfortunately we do have to start clearing away to enable us to prepare the guest house for the arriving guests. We do have soap in the bathrooms in the form of hand wash, (more hygienic and less tacky than little soaps and recommended by the Hotel Inspector for 4 and 5 Star establishments.) shampoo, conditioner, body wash and body lotion, Mending kits, and shower caps, all made by the prestigious White Company.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was our second visit to Clare House, we had such a good experience on the first visit that we thought we could risk a second stay and we were not disappointed. We were made to feel welcome by Dianne and Alan from the moment we walked through the door to the moment we left. Rooms are spotlessly clean, well serviced with a mini-fridge stocked with bottled water and fresh milk., which after a long journey is well appreciated. A comfortable bed and a fabulous breakfast well worthy of the award Dianne has won.
The location is perfect for the town and beach but just far enough away so as not to be too noisy at night. Clare House is not the cheapest b&b in Swanage but is probably one of the best for value. We will be staying again in September which should give you a good clue as to how we feel about the place.
Looking forward to the next visit.
Jim & Jenny May

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Hi James, thank you for the fantastic review, I do hope we will see you both again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Lovely room, excellent breakfast and a great location for Swanage centre and the beach. Nothing was too much trouble for Alan and Diane. We will certainly make it our number one choice to stay if we are in this area again. It was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cartrefle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Thank you very much for the lovely review. I do hope if you are ever down our way again you will come and stay with us at Clare House. We enjoyed looking after you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

On entering Clare House, the greeting from Dianne made us feel relaxed and welcome straight away. What a great start to our weeks holiday. Everything about our stay was perfect, room, breakfast, location. Great hosts in Alan and Dianne. Great B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Hello Ian and Lyn, thank you for your kind words. It was a delight to have you stay with us for a week. I do hope you will come back and see us again. I remember you wanted information about a house to let in Swanage for Carnival next year for your family. I have contacted our friend and he will be in touch,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Spent the weekend at Clare House as was in the area for a friends wedding. A genuinely lovely place to stay. Diane & Alan made us both feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Clean smart room, great location & a cracking breakfast, what more do you need!?

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Hello Ben and Mandy, thank you for the lovely review, you certainly had a lovely weather for the wedding you attended. We seem to be full of wedding guests in August. Swanage is a very popular for place for wedding ceremonies. I do hope you will both come back and see us soon. p.s. telephone charger is in the post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Clare House and we were delighted with the accommodation - location, cleanliness and space were all excellent, as was the breakfast. The property itself is very interesting in its history and design with each of the rooms being very individual and spacious with some lovely furnishings. Dianne and Alan were very considerate hosts and clearly set high standards. We will definitely make a return journey!

Room Tip: The rooms we occupied were excellent. Although one of the rooms was we at the front of the property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosiebabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Hello rosiebabes, Thank you for your kind words. Clare House does have a fascinating history. It is a delight for us to stay here. It certainly beats the usual bog standard house that's for sure. You and your family were absolute lovely. I certainly hope you will return and stay with us, we would be delighted to have you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
953 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
963 reviews
2.9 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare House

Address: 1 Park Road, Swanage BH19 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range: £84 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Clare House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home for you while you are away from home in a 5 Star Gold Award Guest House that also boasts a coveted VisitBritain Breakfast Award 3 years in a row. At Clare House we aim to provide you a home from home at the beautiful seaside resort of Swanage on the World Heritage Jurassic Coast. We are less than 200 metres from the award winning beach and the 2012 pier of the year, with town centre restaurants and bars only a few minutes walk. We are also only a few minutes from newly refurbished Durlston Country Park and the stunning clifftop walks. For breakfast we prefer to use Homemade, locally-sourced or Fairtrade produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Clare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare House Hotel Swanage
Clare House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing