We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely stay”
Review of Clare House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clare House
Ranked #4 of 49 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Another lovely stay”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This was our third stay at Clare house and we were not disapointed! Breakfast was superb with plenty of choice and enough to fill the healthiest of appetites. Diane & Alan were lovely & welcoming & rooms extremely comfortable. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helentom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hi Helen and Tom, thank you for the lovely review, you are set to join our select band of lovely "Regulars". I do hope will see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    60
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
61
378
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burton on Trent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Just returned from another great stay in Swanage at Clare House. The whole experience could not have been better, Dianne and Alan are the perfect hosts and cannot do enough for you and words are not enough to do justice to the award winning breakfasts! Great choice and freshly cooked to order every morning - you could not ask for more. The only advice I would give is make sure you book up well in advance, as places of this quality and level of service get booked up quickly. Looking forward to going back again next year. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loweeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hi Simon, thank you for the lovely review, I am so glad you and your Burton Boys come to Swanage ever year for golf. Long may it continue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My lovely sister booked this 2 night stay for myself and two of my children,ages 10 and 3.We live near to Swanage but always wanted to stay as its a lovely sea side town for families.She booked based on the reviews and location and it was perfect.The family room was great,esp loved the bathroom,beds very comfortable,great to have a fridge.Dianne and Alan were lovely,made us feel very welcome and the breakfast was fantastic.Over the two days we ate most of the breakfast choices,my son loved the pancakes and fresh bread,i had the full English,my sister tried the veggie option,all very tasty.Would recommend this to others and hope to go back next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hi Mary, thank you for the lovely review, I am so glad your son loved my pancakes, I hope you will come back to Clare House soon, so he can have them again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

On arrival at Clare House we received a warm welcome from Dianne and Alan, who are both friendly yet professional. There were four of us staying in two rooms and both rooms were spacious and comfortable. We were initially worried about the lack of allocated parking, however this was never an issue and we parked fine up the road during our stay. Clare House is perfectly located for an easy stroll into the town and to the seafront. We were also very impressed with the breakfast every morning. We were asked to choose what we wanted the night before so it could be as fresh as possible and we did not have to wait long for it. There was a great choice and it was a great start to every day of our holiday. We would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hi Charlotte it was a delight to look after you and your friends. Thank you for the lovely review, I do hope you will come back to Clare House soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We chose this B&B through Trip Advisor and it did not disappoint. Clare House is ideally situated for the seafront and restaurants. The rooms are extremely comfortable with lovely added touches such as bottled water in the fridge and bathrobes. The choice at breakfast is amazing and the food is fantastic. Alan was always available for advice on restaurants, sandwich shops etc. If we visit Swanage again we would definitely return here and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for your kind praise of Clare House, we are glad it was a lovely experience for you and I do hope we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Clare house, the breakfast was fantastic with a variety of choice and the hosts were very friendly!

The room was lovely, with everything we needed (including a mini fridge!) and we had the comfiest bed ever!

Couldn't have felt more at home here and it made our stay worthwhile

We will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geenie_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hello Greenie, thank you for your lovely review. I do hope you will come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in Clare House on 3 occasions now, always prior to doing the Swanage Classic Triathlon. Nothing is too much trouble for Alan and Dianne. Tide tables, weather reports, advice on restaurants and walking trials, it's all at hand. But, and it's a big BUT, I challenge anyone to find a better breakfast anywhere........ Having lived in 3 continents and sampled many, many variations of breakfasts this one is top of the table. Keep it up guys. Thanks again for a great stay and the bacon sandwiches after the Tri. Catherine & Kevin

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Goodness! Catherine and Kevin what do I say to your review. The challenge will be to keep up the good work of course, no slacking for me now. Thank you very much, and I do hope we will see you at Clare House for the 2014 Triathlon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
1.0 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#10 of 49 in Swanage
351 reviews
0.4 mi away
A Great Escape Guest House
0.9 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#2 of 49 in Swanage
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare House

Property: Clare House
Address: 1 Park Road, Swanage BH19 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Clare House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home for you while you are away from home in a 5 Star Gold Award Guest House that also boasts a coveted VisitBritain Breakfast Award 3 years in a row. At Clare House we aim to provide you a home from home at the beautiful seaside resort of Swanage on the World Heritage Jurassic Coast. We are less than 200 metres from the award winning beach and the 2012 pier of the year, with town centre restaurants and bars only a few minutes walk. We are also only a few minutes from newly refurbished Durlston Country Park and the stunning clifftop walks. For breakfast we prefer to use Homemade, locally-sourced or Fairtrade produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Clare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare House Hotel Swanage
Clare House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing