We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B”
Review of Clare House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clare House
Ranked #3 of 50 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for 1 night, the service was incredible. The room was spacious and clean, there was a mini fridge and tea and coffee facilities in the room. In the bathroom there were dressing gowns and slippers available as well as various toiletries.
The breakfast was superb, you could pre-order the night before and there was a really good selection of cooked options. In addition to the cooked breakfast there were cereals, toast, fruit and fruit juices. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Hi Lozza, thank you for your kind words, we do strive to give the best service to all our guests. I do hope we will see you another time at Clare House sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were only able to visit for 1 night but we will certainly be back! This is real find in Swanage and lives up to its reviews. Dianne and Alan are perfect hosts and make you feel so welcome. The room is to a very high standard and the location is perfect for all that Swanage has to offer. Breakfast was wonderful and we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else when we next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJHolland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Hello, thank you for the lovely review, I do hope you will come and see us all at Clare House the next time you come to Swanage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

If you are looking for a 5 star B&B in swanage then look no further than Clare House, the service was out of this world, the room we had could not of asked for better and the breakfast was first class. Dianne & Alan will make you feel very well come and made our first wedding anniversary a very special one. Thank you once again for a fantastic weeks stay with you. Darren & Kay Messinger xx

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren18Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Hi Darren and Kay, thank you for your kind words, I have missed you and all the bacon episodes! Good luck with the new baby and please come back and see us at Clare House soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

What a find... It states they serve award winning breakfasts and how true this is! The rooms are clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated with all you could require for a B&B ie mini fridge, tea & coffee in every form etc. We had the added bonus that there are amazing fireworks every weekend in August and from our front corner room had a perfect view! The owners and staff are extremely pleasant and helpful without being intrusive. Fantastic location within 1 minute walk of the Town however in the summer with windows open this does have a noise disadvantage at pub turn out! Parking is on the street however there is opportunity to unload and a short walk (up a steep hill!) usually finds a space! I would definitely recommend this accommodation and will be using it again should I return to Swanage. (See my restaurant recommends too, very worth it!)

Room Tip: Maybe a room at the back in the summer to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brownie0041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Hi, thank you for the lovely review, I am so glad you had a lovely time at Clare House. Fireworks every Saturday night and all the live music that goes on throughout August is a lovely bonus. Swanage as a whole is a little noisy in August because of all that is going on and of course the schools are on holiday. If you want a really quiet holiday, the best time to come to Swanage is outside of the school holidays. But having said that it is also a fabulous time to come to Swanage with all that is going on in and around Swanage, and everyone has a super time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I have visited quite a lot of B and Bs in my time but I can safely say this is by far the best by a country mile. We were very lucky to get a cancellation as we only booked at short notice and you are never quite sure booking blind on the Internet. Alan and Diane were the ideal hosts and I have never experienced such a range of quality breakfasts. Little touches like homemade bread, fine china, solid silver cutlery and a fantastic choice of fresh fruit made the breakfast experience memorable.

The spec on the bedrooms was of a very high quality finished off with some lovely touches such as the range of breakfast teas and bathroom accessories.

We had some excellent advice about the best places to visit in the vicinity.

The only downside was that we weren't able to stop for longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Hello Tony, thank you for your lovely review, I do hope you will stay with us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I have just come back from another excellent stay at Clare House. Alan and Dianne are the perfect hosts, friendly and always trying to accommodate every request. The room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable, ensuring a good night. The breakfast is excellent, with a wide range on offer from traditional English breakfasts to smoked salmon and eggs benedict. They also make their own bread which was really nice. The location is great for shops and restaurants and beaches, all only about 5 mins walk away. I don't think they could do anything more to make a great stay, I am so glad we found it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mezzas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Hi , thank you for your kind words, you certainly keep us on our toes, another lovely couple you are becoming part our our "regulars". Hope to see you both soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This was our third stay at Clare house and we were not disapointed! Breakfast was superb with plenty of choice and enough to fill the healthiest of appetites. Diane & Alan were lovely & welcoming & rooms extremely comfortable. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helentom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Hi Helen and Tom, thank you for the lovely review, you are set to join our select band of lovely "Regulars". I do hope will see you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
1.0 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
A Great Escape Guest House
0.3 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#9 of 50 in Swanage
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Robertsbrook Guest House
Robertsbrook Guest House
#11 of 50 in Swanage
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare House

Address: 1 Park Road, Swanage BH19 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range: £84 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Clare House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home for you while you are away from home in a 5 Star Gold Award Guest House that also boasts a coveted VisitBritain Breakfast Award 3 years in a row. At Clare House we aim to provide you a home from home at the beautiful seaside resort of Swanage on the World Heritage Jurassic Coast. We are less than 200 metres from the award winning beach and the 2012 pier of the year, with town centre restaurants and bars only a few minutes walk. We are also only a few minutes from newly refurbished Durlston Country Park and the stunning clifftop walks. For breakfast we prefer to use Homemade, locally-sourced or Fairtrade produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Clare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare House Hotel Swanage
Clare House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing