We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and clean rooms”
Review of Clare House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clare House
Ranked #3 of 50 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2008

We were given a very warm welcome by Dianne and the staff. The rooms are very clean and the beds really comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and the service was excellent.
The only problem was with parking but the location was so good and close to all the amenities, its worth a bit of a walk to park the car if you are able bodied.
We would recommend Clare House to anyone wanting great rooms and friendly service in Swanage close to the town centre and sea front.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ermingard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2008

I booked our stay at Clare House on-line as I liked the description of smart rooms and delicious breakfasts,ideally situated in the heart of Swanage.On arrival I was amazed at how beautiful it was,lovely furnishings and decor.Our room was so comfortable and in particular the bed,about the comfiest I've slept in! The breakfasts certainly didnt disappoint with a varied choice pre-ordered the night before.My husband loved the freshly made pancakes,croissants and bread;there was a large selection of fruits and cereals and the vegetarian breakfast was perfect with the best of products as was the traditonal english breakfast. Dianne who owns and runs Clare house is extremely friendly and happy to help make the stay there as memorable as possible.Although we live in the north of Scotland we took advantage of flybes special deals and flew to Southampton which made travelling quick and easy.We found Swanage and Dorset absolutely delightful,beautiful countryside and spectacular coastline with lots of walks and a real feeling of "being away from it all".And a real bonus of being much warmer than Scotland! Cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank calmbook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2008

Superb location in Swanage, 2minutes to the waterfront and restaurants.

Very comfortable room and friendly service :-)

I would certainly stay here again :-D

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteinBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2008

this is a real gem of a b&b with clean rooms, a very friendly scottish hostess and delicious breakfasts. the food was 10/10 with fresh blueberries and strawberries to sprinkle on your cereal, followed by smoked salmon+scrambled egg if you didn't want the full english. slightly disappointing coffee however i'm really nitpicking as i wouldn't hesitate to stay there and drink it again - or one of the varied selection of herbal teas. we managed to park our car almost opposite but didnt use it for the 3 days we were there as clare house is really close to town and beach.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday_junkie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NickPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2008

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Melania_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2008

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank angewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
449 reviews
2.9 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
A Great Escape Guest House
0.3 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#9 of 50 in Swanage
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Robertsbrook Guest House
Robertsbrook Guest House
#11 of 50 in Swanage
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare House

Address: 1 Park Road, Swanage BH19 2AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range: £83 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Clare House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home for you while you are away from home in a 5 Star Gold Award Guest House that also boasts a coveted VisitBritain Breakfast Award 3 years in a row. At Clare House we aim to provide you a home from home at the beautiful seaside resort of Swanage on the World Heritage Jurassic Coast. We are less than 200 metres from the award winning beach and the 2012 pier of the year, with town centre restaurants and bars only a few minutes walk. We are also only a few minutes from newly refurbished Durlston Country Park and the stunning clifftop walks. For breakfast we prefer to use Homemade, locally-sourced or Fairtrade produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Clare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare House Hotel Swanage
Clare House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing