We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clare House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clare House
Ranked #5 of 55 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Clare House is a lovely, comfortable B&B with very high standards of furnishings, better than many 4 star hotels we have stayed in. It is just a few minutes from the high street and the beach, so very convenient. The owners are friendly and go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome. They are particularly proud of their breakfast menu which does seem to cover all bases! Would highly recommend.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank barnabyhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Hi Maggie, thank you for the kind review, I do hope you will come and stay with us at Clare House sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    57
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
345
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed in Swanage for the weekend and had a wonderful stay at Clare House. We were made most welcome when we arrived and shown to our room, room 6, which was a very large room on the top floor. We couldn't have asked for more very nice decor, huge room with very comfortable king size bed. One of the nicest bathrooms I've had in a hotel and with all hot drinks that you could think of available, mineral water also supplied in a small fridge. We were asked to select what we wanted for breakfast in the morning, which was from a huge selection of hot food. We made our selection and in the morning were greeted with a fantastic breakfast which certainly set us up for the day. I can't recommend this B&B highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthamptonSaintsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review of Clare House, you were a delight to have stay, and I do hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromham, Chippenham
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were only staying one night, but on arrival were made most welcome by Dianne. The decor in all rooms is very tastefully done. We were fortunate to be in room 6, which is one of the larger ones, complete with a king sized bed, lovely furnishings and a beautiful bath and shower room. All types of beverage were supplied, with milk(fresh if required) and bottled water in the 'fridge. The attention to detail was remarkable. Postcards were supplied for our use, and the bathroom had bath gowns, shower caps, various gels and it seemed that nothing had been left to chance.
I am a vegetarian, and am never sure what breakfast will be like. I needn't have worried as the breakfast menu comprehensively covered all my needs, and anybody elses, I suspect.
By telling Dianne when we would like our breakfast, she and her cheerful staff were able to ensure it arrived on time, and cooked just right.
The guest house was 5 minutes from the sea, and we're not fast walkers!
Usual disclaimers, and we will be coming back.
Pete and Jackie Holt, from Wiltshire.

Room Tip: Just turn up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Hi Peter and Jackie, thank you for the lovely review. Please come back and stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Courtenay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent a very enjoyable four nights here and found everything to be tip top. Comfortable well equipped room. The breakfasts were excellent . Dianne and Alan were the perfect hosts and would not hesitate in recommending Clare House, we have already done so.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Hello Joan, thank you for your kind words, and I do hope we will see you both again sometime in the future. Thank you for taking the time to recommend us to your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

From the moment of booking our room via telephone, the owners Dianne and Alan were very helpful and amiable. On arrival were greeted by Alan and shown to our room which was on the top floor of the amazingly interesting property. The room was small but had everything you would need and more, even a partial sea view. After a day I did ask if we could move to a lower floor room as I had been having problems with the stairs due to a medical condition, Dianne said yes straight away and moved us to a room on the first floor once again a beautiful room, spotlessly clean.
Breakfast is ordered the night before, the food served was fresh and beautifully cooked and served on a lovely dinner service, in a wonderful breakfast room with an original stained glass window, a lovely building.
The owners Dianne and Alan were so charming and helpful! pointing us in the right direction when we asked a question about the area.
Will definitely return, thankyou

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 25AM25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Hi Angela, thank you for the lovely review, you got to test drive 2 of our rooms during one stay, not many people have be able to do that. I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us and I do hope you and your husband will come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Arrived a little early but were immediately made most welcome. Our room was ready and looked most comfortable and this proved to be the case. The breakfast menu was handed over and this made impressive reading - and even more impressive eating ! We stayed four nights and with the excellent quality of service, furnishings, room facilities etc were rather reluctant to leave. We are scheduled to return to Swanage next year and will, without doubt, endeavour to stay at Clare House. Ignore any adverse comments about parking as these are completely outweighed by the friendliness of Alan & Dianne and the superb facilities.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Hello Alan and Jan, what a lovely review, thank you very much for taking the time to write it. I do hope you will come and stay with us at Clare House next year. We would be delighted to have you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east mids
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

stayed for two nights 16th& 17th sept we had a great welcome from our hosts
room was very good usual things tea making etc but had the important extras fridge bath robes and slippers which made all the differance
large full english breakfast was great plus cererals juices etc this sets you up for the day
free on street parking never a issue always close to clare house
the location you could not be nearer to the centre of town
if it's your first time in swanage try and book clare house it's sets the standard for good b&b in the area
we have stayed in many b&b's in swanage and would not hesitate to stay clare house again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lairdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Hello Lairdy, Thank you for the lovely review, I certainly hope you will come and stay with us at Clare House the next time you are in Swanage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#1 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Robertsbrook Guest House
Robertsbrook Guest House
#13 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare House

Property: Clare House
Address: 1 Park Road, Swanage BH19 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Clare House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home for you while you are away from home in a 5 Star Gold Award Guest House that also boasts a coveted VisitBritain Breakfast Award 3 years in a row. At Clare House we aim to provide you a home from home at the beautiful seaside resort of Swanage on the World Heritage Jurassic Coast. We are less than 200 metres from the award winning beach and the 2012 pier of the year, with town centre restaurants and bars only a few minutes walk. We are also only a few minutes from newly refurbished Durlston Country Park and the stunning clifftop walks. For breakfast we prefer to use Homemade, locally-sourced or Fairtrade produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Clare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare House Hotel Swanage
Clare House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing