We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clare House B&B Swanage - You won't find better”
Review of Clare House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clare House
Ranked #5 of 48 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clare House B&B Swanage - You won't find better”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Diane is a fabulous host and greeted us with a very warm welcome. The rooms are comfortable and clean and there's everything you need to enjoy your stay. The breakfasts are truely out of this world. It is really convenient for everything in the centre of town. We have stayed here a couple of times now and we'll defintiely be back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Hi Jo, thank you for the lovely review and thank you for introducing your friends to Clare House. The Blues Festival was great and you were so lucky with the weather. Look forward to seeing you all next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    57
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
354
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were made to feel very welcome and had such a lovely weekend - it made the holiday! Friendly, organised, very clean and they thought of everything that you could possibly need for your stay. We would return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Hi Kate, thank you for the lovely review, I am so glad you enjoyed staying with us at Clare House and I hope we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

From the moment we arrived at Clare House met by Diane we were not disappointed. Diane's warm welcome and the presentation of this hotel was superb. Shown to our lovely room, with every detail thought about and information given to make our stay, albeit for one night memorable. The cleanliness of Clare House throughout was of the highest standard. Our room very comfortably furnished, excellent bed and a great night sleep. Diane and her team clearly think about their guests and all their needs and how to make their stay a good experience. Breakfast in the lovely dining room was excellent, the tableware, furnishing and ambience first class. Would we go back to stay again? Certainly would without hesitation. We moved on to stay in other hotels as a real treat paying £225 for one night....... My conclusion in comparison was not up too the standard that we received at Clare House. What wonderful value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
WOW Christine thank you for the fabulous review, Trip Advisor will think I have paid you!!! You were a delight to have stay with us and I do hope you will come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Clare House is a lovely, comfortable B&B with very high standards of furnishings, better than many 4 star hotels we have stayed in. It is just a few minutes from the high street and the beach, so very convenient. The owners are friendly and go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome. They are particularly proud of their breakfast menu which does seem to cover all bases! Would highly recommend.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank barnabyhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Hi Maggie, thank you for the kind review, I do hope you will come and stay with us at Clare House sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed in Swanage for the weekend and had a wonderful stay at Clare House. We were made most welcome when we arrived and shown to our room, room 6, which was a very large room on the top floor. We couldn't have asked for more very nice decor, huge room with very comfortable king size bed. One of the nicest bathrooms I've had in a hotel and with all hot drinks that you could think of available, mineral water also supplied in a small fridge. We were asked to select what we wanted for breakfast in the morning, which was from a huge selection of hot food. We made our selection and in the morning were greeted with a fantastic breakfast which certainly set us up for the day. I can't recommend this B&B highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthamptonSaintsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a lovely review of Clare House, you were a delight to have stay, and I do hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromham, Chippenham
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We were only staying one night, but on arrival were made most welcome by Dianne. The decor in all rooms is very tastefully done. We were fortunate to be in room 6, which is one of the larger ones, complete with a king sized bed, lovely furnishings and a beautiful bath and shower room. All types of beverage were supplied, with milk(fresh if required) and bottled water in the 'fridge. The attention to detail was remarkable. Postcards were supplied for our use, and the bathroom had bath gowns, shower caps, various gels and it seemed that nothing had been left to chance.
I am a vegetarian, and am never sure what breakfast will be like. I needn't have worried as the breakfast menu comprehensively covered all my needs, and anybody elses, I suspect.
By telling Dianne when we would like our breakfast, she and her cheerful staff were able to ensure it arrived on time, and cooked just right.
The guest house was 5 minutes from the sea, and we're not fast walkers!
Usual disclaimers, and we will be coming back.
Pete and Jackie Holt, from Wiltshire.

Room Tip: Just turn up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Hi Peter and Jackie, thank you for the lovely review. Please come back and stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Courtenay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent a very enjoyable four nights here and found everything to be tip top. Comfortable well equipped room. The breakfasts were excellent . Dianne and Alan were the perfect hosts and would not hesitate in recommending Clare House, we have already done so.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Hello Joan, thank you for your kind words, and I do hope we will see you both again sometime in the future. Thank you for taking the time to recommend us to your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#1 of 48 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
A Great Escape Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare House

Property: Clare House
Address: 1 Park Road, Swanage BH19 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Clare House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home for you while you are away from home in a 5 Star Gold Award Guest House that also boasts a coveted VisitBritain Breakfast Award 3 years in a row. At Clare House we aim to provide you a home from home at the beautiful seaside resort of Swanage on the World Heritage Jurassic Coast. We are less than 200 metres from the award winning beach and the 2012 pier of the year, with town centre restaurants and bars only a few minutes walk. We are also only a few minutes from newly refurbished Durlston Country Park and the stunning clifftop walks. For breakfast we prefer to use Homemade, locally-sourced or Fairtrade produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Clare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare House Hotel Swanage
Clare House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing