We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic would highly recommend”
Review of Clare House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clare House
Ranked #5 of 48 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic would highly recommend”
Reviewed 6 August 2008

My husband orgainsed this for my wedding present because we spend every weekend we can down in Studland/Swanage. To be honest we don't want to recommend this too much because otherwise we would never get a resveration again!!!! Everyone will want to stay here. This place is fantastic; great location, lovely room, good value for money, lovely caratrstics of the old building, excellent breakfast and the staff make you feel so welcome. It's home from home. We can't wait to go back!!!!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Could complain about anything!!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bojars67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    57
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
355
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

Clare house is just what you hope for in a B & B (but rarely get). It is decorated and furnished to a high standard. Our room was large and comfortable. It is in a quiet location very close to the sea front and town. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Diane was very friendly and helpful.

What more can you ask for??

Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Everything!!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Carloyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2008

My daughter and I stayed in Clare House in July. We had a very warm welcome. The bedroom was very comfortable and clean. The location is perfect for the town, it is literally a couple of minutes walk away. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lovingallabouttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2008

We stayed at Clare House while attending the Swanage Jazz Festival this past July, 2008. The B&B is run by Dianne and her husband. As soon as you cross the threshhold, you are made to feel welcome by Dianne. Our room was on the top floor and we did have to walk up several flights of stairs to get there, but it definitely was worth the effort. The room was cozy, had everything one could possibly need on a trip away from home. The bathroom was especially good, with a glassed-in power shower, plenty of hot water, lovely towels that you could warm up on the heated towel rack. Dianne had thought of everything: Q-tips, cotton balls, a hair dryer, and even a washcloth for bathing. The room had a nice queen-sized bed and was totally comfortable. There was also a small fridge that you could use to keep sodas/water, etc. chilled. We had the use of a flat screen TV. Breakfast was over the top. You could order a full English breakfast, a vegetarian breakfast, a variety of eggs cooked any way you wanted, including smoked salmon and scambled eggs, all of the breakfast meats, pancakes, or you could make up whatever combination of food you desired. There was also fresh strawberries and blackberries. There was only one bad moment at breakfast. When I tried the coffee I found it to be too weak, so I switched to the brewed tea the next day and was quite satisfied with that. The staff were delightful, very attentive, friendly and helpful.
Clare House is situated one block off the main drag where all of the stores and restaurants are located and a block from the main road was the water. We loved it so much that we have already booked for next year's jazz festival. We loved Clare House.

  • Liked — comfortable room, amenities in room
  • Disliked — parking was impossible; coffee at breakfast was very weak, which was a disappointment
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandmjazzfreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Condorrat,Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2008

A great wee find just off the main street in Swanage. Lovely room, great breakfast and Dianne the owner is lovely and very friendly. Would highly recommend to anyone passing through Dorset it's a lovely wee place with great Fish and chips!

  • Liked — Bright airy room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoenixthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2008

It was great to arrive at Clare House after a long day driving.
It's a lovely Guest house with a cozy atmosphere and a lovely English style. Great location just few steps away from restaurants and the sea. Very nice and clean room, wonderful breakfast with homemade bread. Excellent service and a wonderful host: Dianne! What else can I say: you just have to go there!
Raffaella and Marina Colombo (Brussels)

  • Liked — location, breakfast, host, decoration
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Messalina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2008

Have stayed for the past 3 years at what is probably the best B & B in Swanage. Spotless, and well appointed rooms, friendly staff and a friendly and very helpful couple who run the place. We go to Swanage every year for a music festival and since staying here we always re-book a year in advance. The breakfasts are excellent with a considerable choice of items on the menu.The proprietors even arranged for additional front door and room keys to be cut for us as we were attending different events & arriving back at different times. If you are going to visit this most beautiful part of the Jurassic coast you could not do better than stay at Clare House

  • Liked — Friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms, good breakfast
  • Disliked — Parking is difficult in Swanage
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SurreyMitchells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#1 of 48 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
A Great Escape Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare House

Property: Clare House
Address: 1 Park Road, Swanage BH19 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Clare House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home for you while you are away from home in a 5 Star Gold Award Guest House that also boasts a coveted VisitBritain Breakfast Award 3 years in a row. At Clare House we aim to provide you a home from home at the beautiful seaside resort of Swanage on the World Heritage Jurassic Coast. We are less than 200 metres from the award winning beach and the 2012 pier of the year, with town centre restaurants and bars only a few minutes walk. We are also only a few minutes from newly refurbished Durlston Country Park and the stunning clifftop walks. For breakfast we prefer to use Homemade, locally-sourced or Fairtrade produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Clare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare House Hotel Swanage
Clare House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing