We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with the room”
Review of Clare House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clare House
Ranked #3 of 50 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2008

We chose to stay at Clare House for our wedding anniversary. The first impressions of Clare House were promising, it's a beautiful house. Then we were shown to room 3 and we were sadly disappointed. It is not what I would consider a 'superior room'. It needs decorating in my opinion and looks dated. Although the shower cubicle is a good size the bracket holding the shower was broken so the shower head wouldn't stay upright. The breakfast however,was lovely and the lady who served us was pleasant and friendly. Luckily Swanage and the surrounding area is wonderful and the weather was good so the weekend wasn't a complete let down!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2008

Stayed here with my daughter and parents for two nights. The rooms were pleasantly decorated and my bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed the choice of breakfast and the freshly made bread. Dianne was friendly and welcoming and we would return.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debs0uthgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2008

We booked Clare House from the internet. The photos don't do it justice. The place is fab!
The overall feeling is clean, peaceful and well organised.
I like the fact that the bathroom was cleaned EVERYDAY, and the there was none of that 'funny smell' you get at some guest houses.
The breakfast was lovely too, such a choice. Being a veggie its not often you get such lovely things for brekkie.
Clare House is in a great location, just walk down the road and you are in the main street, and by the beach.
Well done to Dianne Power for providing such a lovely friendly stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephmurphy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2008

A lovely stay,

Clare House is a clean and modern B&B situated ina great spot. Great location a stone throw from the town and pier and the beach, ideal for the those who want to be close to all amenities.

A warm welcome and home from home. Room was spotless, staff friendly and most important of all good food.

A great stay and we would definately recommend it to others wishing to stay in Swanage. Its nice when you can find a place that you can say if we come here again we will definately choose to stay here, and Clare House is one of those places.

Also good value for money.

Thanks for a lovely stay.

XX

Stayed: August 2008
Thank Sausagetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2008

We were impressed by the professionalism, friendliness and attention to detail of Clare House and its owner Dianne before we had even arrived! While booking over the phone she was more than happy to ensure we got the room we wanted with the facilities we preferred and to make sure our dietary requirements would be catered for (one vegetarian and one vegan!) at breakfast.

We arrived expecting something special and we weren't disappointed. The building is lovely (with a fascinating history) and inside the rooms and public areas are decorated and furnished to very high standards and taste. Everywhere was also immaculately clean.

There is a wide choice of options for breakfast, which was always served with a welcoming smile - a great way to start each day of our holiday.

This was our first trip to Swanage, which is a great traditional English seaside town and offers beautiful coastal walks, with many other locations of interest nearby.

We would not hesitate to recommend a stay at Clare House in Swanage.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IandRHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2008

Perfect location for the beach & town centre. Excellent facilities cleaned to a high standard. Breakfast menu extensive and cooked to indiviuals prefernece. This is Bed & Breakfast at its best and we will definitely be going back

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BerkshireRoadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

We stayed for 2 nights and from the very minute we arrived we where made most welcome by the host and she really did make us feel relaxed.
The Hotel was immaculate as was the rooms very clean and tidy. As for the breakfast well that was a great start to our day.
My only concern would be that of parking other than that we had a fantatsic time in swanage which made it better with our stay at Clare House.

They reccommended some fantastic local resteraunts fro dinner!

Both my wife and i will definatley book another stay !work commitments permitting this year.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
450 reviews
2.9 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland Bay
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
A Great Escape Guest House
0.2 mi away
Robertsbrook Guest House
Robertsbrook Guest House
#11 of 50 in Swanage
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#9 of 50 in Swanage
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare House

Address: 1 Park Road, Swanage BH19 2AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range: £83 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Clare House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home for you while you are away from home in a 5 Star Gold Award Guest House that also boasts a coveted VisitBritain Breakfast Award 3 years in a row. At Clare House we aim to provide you a home from home at the beautiful seaside resort of Swanage on the World Heritage Jurassic Coast. We are less than 200 metres from the award winning beach and the 2012 pier of the year, with town centre restaurants and bars only a few minutes walk. We are also only a few minutes from newly refurbished Durlston Country Park and the stunning clifftop walks. For breakfast we prefer to use Homemade, locally-sourced or Fairtrade produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Clare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare House Hotel Swanage
Clare House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing