We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable visit.”
Review of Clare House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clare House
Ranked #4 of 50 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Four of us spent Easter weekend at Clare House and were delighted with it.
Our son and daughter in law upgraded to a larger bedroom but ours though small was very comfortable and had everything we required
Alan and Dianne are excellent hosts.Alan greeted us all by name every morning which was a nice touch.
The breakfasts are superb....but you'd need to stay for a week to do them full justice! Everything is cooked freshly just before you sit down and there is also an excellent choice of cereals fruit,fruit juice etc.
I really cannot fault Clare House in anyway.Thank you Alan and Dianne

Room Tip: No 2 bedroom is spacious with a larger bed than room 1U
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peludo41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review, I am so glad you enjoyed you time with us and I do hope we will see you all again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
There are newer reviews for Clare House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Having booked into Clare House for the weekend l was a bit wary of what to expect, very good reviews on Tripadvisor but it's a seaside B&B!!! I was in Swanage for a photography course & Ray there to relax, perfect mix except for the rain. From the moment we arrived we felt comfortably and very welcome. The building is fantastic and decorated beautifully especially the Breakfast Room - stunning, matches the breakfast. The bedrooms are very comfortable and warm, April showers were very evident & arriving back soaked through l was extremely grateful for the heating along with lots of hot water for a bath! We both felt that the price per night could have been higher and we would have happily paid it.
This really is a gem find, we went home feeling we had been staying with friends, thank you Diane, Alan and your team, we'll hopefully be back sometime before the end of the season plus all the camera equipment again - hopefully without the rain!

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Lainiewho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Well Elaine, what a review - thank you very much, it is extremely high praise coming from someone who is used the the Dorchester chain, To give a little B&B like us such a review. Our Team, Alan and I are chuffed to bits. I do hope we will see you again in the future and will have a word with the Sun God to make sure you don't get soaked again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed for one night on a last-minute mini-holiday. Greeted by Dianne who showed us to our room and explained all we needed to know.
Room was the 'small double' but was ample and had everything we needed. Very comfortable, clean and well presented.
Fantastic breakfast options and was delicious. Served by the very attentive Alan.
All in all a great stay. Much more than your average B&B.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed_P_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us at CH, I do hope we will see you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed at Clare House from 11th to 13th April 2014 and it was absolutely lovely. Spotlessly clean and we were greeted warmly by Alan who wasted no time in making us feel very welcome and advised us of places to go to eat in the evening and places of interest round and about. The food was fantastic and well deserving of it's No 1 rating. We stayed in room2 which was very warm and comfortable and again spotlessly clean with a good selection of tea and coffee. Diane and Alan were charming hosts and we will definitely be staying there again when we next visit Swanage. Sue&John Sheppard

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Hi Sue, thank you for the lovely review, glad we made you feel so comfortable, I do hope you will both come back and seen us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Alan and Diana made us most welcome. The house has an interesting history.
We took advice about where to eat which turned out well. The rooms was comfortable and the breakfast first class.
We just stayed the one night but managed a train to Corfe with a walk back via Old Harry, a walk from Langton Maltravers via Durlston to Swanage and a walk from Worth Maltravers to Chapmans Pool, St Alhelms Head and Winsplit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandh1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give CH a lovely review. Phew! didn't you do a lot while you were here. I do hope we will see you both again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My husband and I stayed in Swanage for one night and had the pleasure of staying at this lovely B&B.
We had a gorgeous room in a stunning location. The Owners we brilliant. Very warm, helpful and welcoming. They were able to let us know which places were good to eat and also gave us a lot of information about coming back with my baby. (I was pregnant at the time!)
Dianne showed my husband the family room and seemed very excited for us to return with our baby which we will absolutely do.
Overall - it was a very enjoyable stay. The room was spacious, clean and nicely stocked/decorated.
I must say that the parking situation isn't so great but I guess that really can't be helped.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Hi Nicola, thank you for a lovely review and we certainly hope you do come back with the little one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Recently booked at short notice a weekend in Swanage, a town I've not visited before, so was shooting in the dark accommodation wise. Definitely hit the target with Clare House. Beautiful building, inside and out, and fantastic welcome from Alan & Dianne, taking the trouble to learn our names etc and advise where possible. Our room - no. 4 I believe - had great views, very comfortable. Free parking higher up the street, so no big deal, Breakfast was quite superb - fab quality and great choice. Got back home to find an email from Dianne telling me I'd left some CDs in the room and they were already in the post - excellent! Only issue re: Swanage is relative lack of restaurants, so take advice from Alan when booking and book restaurant in advance,

SteveB

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveB_Andorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Hi Steve thank you for your kind words, Alan and I much appreciate your review. I hope you received the CD's and we hope you will come and visit us again at Clare House the next time you are back in the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
944 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#4 of 6 in Swanage
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
953 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
A Great Escape Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare House

Address: 1 Park Road, Swanage BH19 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range: £83 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Clare House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home for you while you are away from home in a 5 Star Gold Award Guest House that also boasts a coveted VisitBritain Breakfast Award 3 years in a row. At Clare House we aim to provide you a home from home at the beautiful seaside resort of Swanage on the World Heritage Jurassic Coast. We are less than 200 metres from the award winning beach and the 2012 pier of the year, with town centre restaurants and bars only a few minutes walk. We are also only a few minutes from newly refurbished Durlston Country Park and the stunning clifftop walks. For breakfast we prefer to use Homemade, locally-sourced or Fairtrade produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Clare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare House Hotel Swanage
Clare House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing