We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Clare House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clare House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clare House
Ranked #5 of 55 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Formby Lancs
1 review
“Loved Clare House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2008

The rooms were very elegant and comfortable with lots of special little touches. Excellent breakfasts with lots of choice.
Lovely and interesting house in good location. Would most definately return.
Mr and Mrs Kilshaw
Formby Lancashire

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ethelkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    57
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
345
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2008

We chose to stay at Clare House for our wedding anniversary. The first impressions of Clare House were promising, it's a beautiful house. Then we were shown to room 3 and we were sadly disappointed. It is not what I would consider a 'superior room'. It needs decorating in my opinion and looks dated. Although the shower cubicle is a good size the bracket holding the shower was broken so the shower head wouldn't stay upright. The breakfast however,was lovely and the lady who served us was pleasant and friendly. Luckily Swanage and the surrounding area is wonderful and the weather was good so the weekend wasn't a complete let down!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2008

Stayed here with my daughter and parents for two nights. The rooms were pleasantly decorated and my bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed the choice of breakfast and the freshly made bread. Dianne was friendly and welcoming and we would return.

  • Liked — clean rooms
  • Disliked — Iliked the shower but my parents enjoy a bath
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debs0uthgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2008

We booked Clare House from the internet. The photos don't do it justice. The place is fab!
The overall feeling is clean, peaceful and well organised.
I like the fact that the bathroom was cleaned EVERYDAY, and the there was none of that 'funny smell' you get at some guest houses.
The breakfast was lovely too, such a choice. Being a veggie its not often you get such lovely things for brekkie.
Clare House is in a great location, just walk down the road and you are in the main street, and by the beach.
Well done to Dianne Power for providing such a lovely friendly stay.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephmurphy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2008

A lovely stay,

Clare House is a clean and modern B&B situated ina great spot. Great location a stone throw from the town and pier and the beach, ideal for the those who want to be close to all amenities.

A warm welcome and home from home. Room was spotless, staff friendly and most important of all good food.

A great stay and we would definately recommend it to others wishing to stay in Swanage. Its nice when you can find a place that you can say if we come here again we will definately choose to stay here, and Clare House is one of those places.

Also good value for money.

Thanks for a lovely stay.

XX

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Sausagetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

We were impressed by the professionalism, friendliness and attention to detail of Clare House and its owner Dianne before we had even arrived! While booking over the phone she was more than happy to ensure we got the room we wanted with the facilities we preferred and to make sure our dietary requirements would be catered for (one vegetarian and one vegan!) at breakfast.

We arrived expecting something special and we weren't disappointed. The building is lovely (with a fascinating history) and inside the rooms and public areas are decorated and furnished to very high standards and taste. Everywhere was also immaculately clean.

There is a wide choice of options for breakfast, which was always served with a welcoming smile - a great way to start each day of our holiday.

This was our first trip to Swanage, which is a great traditional English seaside town and offers beautiful coastal walks, with many other locations of interest nearby.

We would not hesitate to recommend a stay at Clare House in Swanage.

  • Liked — Comfort, cleanliness and friendliness
  • Disliked — We liked everything
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IandRHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2008

Perfect location for the beach & town centre. Excellent facilities cleaned to a high standard. Breakfast menu extensive and cooked to indiviuals prefernece. This is Bed & Breakfast at its best and we will definitely be going back

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireRoadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#1 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Robertsbrook Guest House
Robertsbrook Guest House
#12 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare House

Property: Clare House
Address: 1 Park Road, Swanage BH19 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Clare House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home for you while you are away from home in a 5 Star Gold Award Guest House that also boasts a coveted VisitBritain Breakfast Award 3 years in a row. At Clare House we aim to provide you a home from home at the beautiful seaside resort of Swanage on the World Heritage Jurassic Coast. We are less than 200 metres from the award winning beach and the 2012 pier of the year, with town centre restaurants and bars only a few minutes walk. We are also only a few minutes from newly refurbished Durlston Country Park and the stunning clifftop walks. For breakfast we prefer to use Homemade, locally-sourced or Fairtrade produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Expedia so you can book your Clare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare House Hotel Swanage
Clare House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing