We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“June 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clare House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clare House
Ranked #5 of 47 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“June 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My partner and I stayed at Clare House over the weekend, it was everything we were hoping it would be. Diane the owner is very friendly and no request was too much for her and the wonderful staff.
Lovely breakfasts and room/bed is very comfortable.
We will definitely be back again.

Owen and Sasha

Room Tip: Top floor with views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roe2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, you were lovely guests and I do hope you will come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    57
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
349
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

What a find...this delightful b&b! Excellent location, warm and friendly welcome, comfortable room and extremely scrummy breakfast. Wish we could have stayed longer. We'll certainly make a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Scrummy breakfasts! thank you so much, you were a delight to have stay with us and I do hope you will come back to Clare House soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
235 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. You could not find a more convenient location. Clare House is only a few minutes walk from the sea front. It is on a steep hill...but not too far up!! Plenty of parking in the road. The room we stayed in was ver clean, traditionally decorated. The breakfast was very generous with a great choice.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GillyFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Hi Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I do hope you will come back and stay at Clare House sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We chose this hotel on recommendation from trip advisor and it stood up to its reputation. Diane and Alan were very chatty and knowledgable about the area. We can also say that the breakfast was fantastic, we had the full English breakfast and were nicely surprised by the quantity, quality and presentation! Nat was very happy with his, however my small stomach1did not match my big eyes ! I wish we had a longer stay as I would have liked to have tried the eggs benedict :)
We were very happy with our room, very clean and had everything we need including bathrobes and slippers.
Poor Diane was not feeling very well
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charmaine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Hi Charmain, thank you for kindly submitting your lovely review of Clare House, you and Nat were a delight, Alan and I hope you will come back to see us sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Absolutely great breakfast, loads of choice and perfectly cooked with top quality ingredients used. The hotel and room was in great condition and very clean. A great location, very close to the seafront and town centre made this a perfect stay. Loved it.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scottybucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi Scott & Paul, thank you so much for the lovely review. I am so glad you both had a lovely time in Swanage. I look forward to your return in August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Clare House was recommended to us and it definitely met all our expectations. The room was very clean and comfortable with everything we needed. Swanage has been a favourite place of ours to visit and our stay at Clare House made it all the more enjoyable, Diane and Alan are lovely people who make you feel very welcome . Would highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevieb61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hi Beverly, thank you so much for the lovely review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Clare House, and I do hope we will see you both again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at Clare House at the end of April 2014, the guest house is the absolute top of the range and the standard of decor and upkeep of the rooms is superior to many hotels that I've stayed in. Dianne and Alan looked after us very well and we were made to feel very much "at home". I was initially concerned that we might have a problem with parking (all of the guest houses in central Swanage seem to have street parking only), but it was absolutely fine. There are lots of places to eat, within easy walking distance.

Swanage is a lovely town and I could not recommend anywhere better to stay that at Clare House; we hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hi Kevin Thank you so much for writing a lovely review for Clare House. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#1 of 47 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
A Great Escape Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare House

Property: Clare House
Address: 1 Park Road, Swanage BH19 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Clare House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home for you while you are away from home in a 5 Star Gold Award Guest House that also boasts a coveted VisitBritain Breakfast Award 3 years in a row. At Clare House we aim to provide you a home from home at the beautiful seaside resort of Swanage on the World Heritage Jurassic Coast. We are less than 200 metres from the award winning beach and the 2012 pier of the year, with town centre restaurants and bars only a few minutes walk. We are also only a few minutes from newly refurbished Durlston Country Park and the stunning clifftop walks. For breakfast we prefer to use Homemade, locally-sourced or Fairtrade produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare House Hotel Swanage
Clare House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing