We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful short break”
Review of Clare House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clare House
Ranked #4 of 49 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
gosport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful short break”
Reviewed 23 October 2008

We stayed at Clare house for 3 nights, and it was an ideal short gettaway! The rooms was immaculate, as was the rest of the building. Very full of character, and it felt like a home away from home.

The breakfast was great, very good variety of food!

The location is ideal; very close to the beach and town centre, and lots of good walking.

We will definately return for another visit!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ArchiesGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    60
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
62
384
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South of England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Just back from staying at Clare House sadly only for one night....but we will be back Di and her husband are excellent host's and we where made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. This is a brilliant place to escape too for the weekend and Swanage has some really good restaurants.
..do try the Ocean Bay

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — No off road parking
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredgrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby Lancs
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2008

The rooms were very elegant and comfortable with lots of special little touches. Excellent breakfasts with lots of choice.
Lovely and interesting house in good location. Would most definately return.
Mr and Mrs Kilshaw
Formby Lancashire

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ethelkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2008

We chose to stay at Clare House for our wedding anniversary. The first impressions of Clare House were promising, it's a beautiful house. Then we were shown to room 3 and we were sadly disappointed. It is not what I would consider a 'superior room'. It needs decorating in my opinion and looks dated. Although the shower cubicle is a good size the bracket holding the shower was broken so the shower head wouldn't stay upright. The breakfast however,was lovely and the lady who served us was pleasant and friendly. Luckily Swanage and the surrounding area is wonderful and the weather was good so the weekend wasn't a complete let down!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

Stayed here with my daughter and parents for two nights. The rooms were pleasantly decorated and my bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed the choice of breakfast and the freshly made bread. Dianne was friendly and welcoming and we would return.

  • Liked — clean rooms
  • Disliked — Iliked the shower but my parents enjoy a bath
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debs0uthgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

We booked Clare House from the internet. The photos don't do it justice. The place is fab!
The overall feeling is clean, peaceful and well organised.
I like the fact that the bathroom was cleaned EVERYDAY, and the there was none of that 'funny smell' you get at some guest houses.
The breakfast was lovely too, such a choice. Being a veggie its not often you get such lovely things for brekkie.
Clare House is in a great location, just walk down the road and you are in the main street, and by the beach.
Well done to Dianne Power for providing such a lovely friendly stay.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephmurphy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2008

A lovely stay,

Clare House is a clean and modern B&B situated ina great spot. Great location a stone throw from the town and pier and the beach, ideal for the those who want to be close to all amenities.

A warm welcome and home from home. Room was spotless, staff friendly and most important of all good food.

A great stay and we would definately recommend it to others wishing to stay in Swanage. Its nice when you can find a place that you can say if we come here again we will definately choose to stay here, and Clare House is one of those places.

Also good value for money.

Thanks for a lovely stay.

XX

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Sausagetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
930 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#4 of 6 in Swanage
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
938 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#9 of 49 in Swanage
352 reviews
0.4 mi away
A Great Escape Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare House

Property: Clare House
Address: 1 Park Road, Swanage BH19 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Clare House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home for you while you are away from home in a 5 Star Gold Award Guest House that also boasts a coveted VisitBritain Breakfast Award 3 years in a row. At Clare House we aim to provide you a home from home at the beautiful seaside resort of Swanage on the World Heritage Jurassic Coast. We are less than 200 metres from the award winning beach and the 2012 pier of the year, with town centre restaurants and bars only a few minutes walk. We are also only a few minutes from newly refurbished Durlston Country Park and the stunning clifftop walks. For breakfast we prefer to use Homemade, locally-sourced or Fairtrade produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Clare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare House Hotel Swanage
Clare House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing