We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”
Review of Clare House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clare House
Ranked #5 of 48 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

As soon as we arrived we were made to feel welcomed by Diane. The room was excellent and all our needs where catered for. Breakfast was brilliant with plenty of options to choose from, and made ready for your arrival at the table. Very easy walk to town from this location as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Ashley TWO breakfasts!! Thank you so much for writing a lovely review for Clare House, I do hope we will see you and your lovely lady again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    57
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
355
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We (Couple) stayed in Swanage for two nights.
Very good Central location
Breakfast was the best we have had in a B&B or Hotel.
Friendly welcome.
If we ever visit Swanage or the surrounding area we will definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Sue thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for Clare House, I do hope we will see you again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by Diane. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was very good, with a wide choice. It is in a quiet, but central location, an easy walk into town. We hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Sue, thank you for your kind words, for me and Clare House, I do hope if you will come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were in Swanage for a Friday night so Sunday morning stay. As a couple and also doing some diving together.

We found Clare House to be welcoming and very efficiently run. It's clean, first come first served on street parking though. So be warned.

The room was on the top floor and has a 'Sea Glimpse'. But tastefully decorated, very comfortable bedding and a safe, TV, kettle, fridge, hair drier all there.

Shower and toilet were modern and functioned impeccably during our stay.

The breakfast is just great. I had the full English and my wife had smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. It's served between 0815 and 0915 every morning. It's really good, so don't oversleep and miss it. Check out is at 10am.

TOP TIP: If you want a lie in, don't leave your windows open as seagulls are not great neighbours. They will wake you without fail!

Room Tip: All rooms here are great. But you have to be able to do stairs. The house is on 3 levels, all conn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liam_kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi , thank you so much for taking the time to give us a nice review, I do hope we will see you both again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

If there was 6 star grading Clare House would get it. Everything was perfect from 1st arriving. Diane so friendly and welcoming, the room was impecable and the. breakfast to die for. All the staff were so friendly especially Karen and nothing was too much trouble. Will certainly reccomend it to all we know Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean24l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Goodness Jean, people will think you are Clare House's PR Agent, what a review! Thank you so much, you and Clive were the most delightful guests and we hope you will come back and see us again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Diane was very nice and made our visit very pleasant at Clare house.
Lovely breakfast, exceptionally clean throughout, Great location.
all the staff were very friendly and made us feel really welcome.
highly recommended.
hopefully re-visit

Room Tip: The Top rooms are quite high and there are quite a few stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Hi Sandra, thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Thanks Dianne and Alan, for another very special break at Clare House.There is nothing to fault. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well appointed. The choice at breakfast is very comprehensive and everything freshly cooked by Dianne.
The dining room is beautifully furnished. White Company toiletries are provided.Tea, coffee, hot chocolate and fruit teas are provided in the rooms. Everything is quality.
Swanage is a lovely area for holidays , with lovely walks and an excellent beach for families too.
Look forward to our next stay. Many thanks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you Mary and Mike, for taking the time to write this lovely review. As regular guests of Clare House it means so much to us that 1. you keep coming back and 2. you take the time to write another lovely review. We look forward to seeing you both next yerar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#1 of 48 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
A Great Escape Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare House

Property: Clare House
Address: 1 Park Road, Swanage BH19 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Clare House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home for you while you are away from home in a 5 Star Gold Award Guest House that also boasts a coveted VisitBritain Breakfast Award 3 years in a row. At Clare House we aim to provide you a home from home at the beautiful seaside resort of Swanage on the World Heritage Jurassic Coast. We are less than 200 metres from the award winning beach and the 2012 pier of the year, with town centre restaurants and bars only a few minutes walk. We are also only a few minutes from newly refurbished Durlston Country Park and the stunning clifftop walks. For breakfast we prefer to use Homemade, locally-sourced or Fairtrade produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Clare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare House Hotel Swanage
Clare House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing