We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regatta week at swanage”
Review of Clare House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clare House
Ranked #4 of 50 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Have just returned from a week at Clare house and it is absolutely fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble for the hosts, the attention to detail, the service, you would not get better in any top class hotel. The place is clean and smells fresh, bed was so comfy. The breakfasts are legendary, so much choice. The service from all makes you feel very special. Well done to the whole team. Will return. The rooms are light bright and airy. Beautiful building with a lot of history which owners are only to happy to tell you about. They really go that extra mile and make you feel at home and welcome

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2, saw room 1 . Beautiful
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hi Beverley, thank you so much for the lovely review, it was very kind of you to take the time and effort, You and your hubby were delightful guests and I do hope we will see you again. Please ask you friends (the ones who did not have a good time where they stayed), to come and stay with us next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
There are newer reviews for Clare House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

I don't usually bother writing reviews however having read a recent negative post I felt the need to set the record straight. The property is exceptionally well maintained and located in a very convenient central position. There is a Long stay car park a couple of minutes walk away however there is able on-street parking if you are lucky enough to find a space. The hosts were exceptionally attentive and happy to help in any way they could. The room was spotlessly clean and had everything you could possibly need. The breakfast was one of the highlights. Everything was cooked to perfection with a selection that will satisfy everyone's tastes. If you plan to stay in Swanage then this is the first place you should book. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wonderballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hi Wonderballs, thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review you and your family are very welcome in Clare House and I do hope will will see you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Purbeck is one of my favourite places to walk and Clare House is one of my favourite B&Bs. The rooms are all different but they are all beautifully appointed and as comfortable as you could wish. Excellent breakfast! Alan and Dianne are really welcoming and helpful. I shall certainly be back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Gill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hi Gill thank you so much for the review, you were a delightful guest and I do hope we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The first guest house we've been to in years and can't imagine they come much better. The room was well aired, clean and impressively presented - the attention to detail was excellent (soundless fridge with water a first). Great walks close by and the town centre a few minutes walk. Street parking up the hill but fine. Alan and Dianne understandably houseproud with a sense of fun. Would visit again and recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank speedyderf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

We are delighted you were so happy with your quick stopover with us. Thank you for taking the time to review Clare House and I do hope you will come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed for a night and wished we could have stayed longer. The attention to detail was superb, everything was considered from digital clock to bath robes. The local touches in the room such as lovely pictures of Swanage added to the ambience, we really couldn't fault anything! The bed(and pillows!) were so comfortable, breakfast was brilliant, you can have anything from a very extensive menu(good tip, wear trousers with an elasticated waistband!). Dianne and Alan were great hosts, very welcoming and we are already talking about our return to Clare House, Thank you for making our stay so pleasant, Sylvie and Gez,

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sylvie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Hi Slyvie, thank you very much for writing a lovely review for Clare House, you and Gez were lovely guests and were a delight to have stay with us. I do hope you will come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here for three nights and it really is everything you want and need from a guest house. Bedrooms have been modernised and are spotless!! Location is prefect for exploring the town. Breakfast was superb with a great choice but feel the dining room and reception area could do with an modernising but maybe this is next on the list after the bedrooms!!

Dianne and the team literally cannot do enough for your stay - just perfect!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Hi Bridget, thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for Clare House. Our dining room and reception area was re-decorated at the beginning of the year, but unfortunately the traditional style we have chosen to match a 140 year old building, we appreciate may not be to your taste. I do hope we will see you both again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A beautiful b and b located in the centre of Swanage. The rooms are of a high standard, very comfortable bed and my Nan even got fresh milk for her coffee. The breakfast was superb, a massive choice and beautifully cooked full English. Everything was clean and the attention to detail was lovely and everything that you would need and MUCH more! Had a great weekend, will definitely be going back to Clare House again!! First class and better than some 5 star hotels I have stayed in! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare_House, Owner at Clare House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Hi Sarah, thank you so much for writing a lovely review for Clare House. Your Nan was an absolute delight. I do hope you can all come back and see us again, sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
945 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
953 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
A Great Escape Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clare House

Address: 1 Park Road, Swanage BH19 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range: £81 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Clare House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home for you while you are away from home in a 5 Star Gold Award Guest House that also boasts a coveted VisitBritain Breakfast Award 3 years in a row. At Clare House we aim to provide you a home from home at the beautiful seaside resort of Swanage on the World Heritage Jurassic Coast. We are less than 200 metres from the award winning beach and the 2012 pier of the year, with town centre restaurants and bars only a few minutes walk. We are also only a few minutes from newly refurbished Durlston Country Park and the stunning clifftop walks. For breakfast we prefer to use Homemade, locally-sourced or Fairtrade produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Clare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clare House Hotel Swanage
Clare House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing