We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE B&B to stay in Swanage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rivendell Guest House
Ranked #10 of 49 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“THE B&B to stay in Swanage”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Our first stay at this lovely B&B, booked very last minute for New Years eve. Kevin and Lyn are the perfect hosts - nothing was too much trouble. As previous reviews, the breakfast set us up for the day with plenty of choice from the menu. The rooms are more than adequate, clean and comfortable, complete with a bright, clean en-suite. Five minutes walk from the steam train station and ten minutes stroll through the town to the seafront. Perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pressm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    29
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
67
189
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed recently for two nights over the NYE 2013-14 period. Could not have been more satisfied. Room was clean, comfortable and well furnished. Kevin and Lynn were very welcoming. Great location five minuets walk from the sea front. Breakfast was a real highlight, one of if not the best English breakfasts we have ever had! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pooziewoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Great location - a short walk to town centre, super breakfast, homemade soda bread, scones, brownies, full Dorset breakfast, in fact it probably the best I have had anywhere. Rooms are very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lincolnbob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed for one night last week,unfortunately to attend a funeral in St.Mary's church across the road.Nice,clean,tidy room,Very good breakfast,you can set yourself up for the day with a wide choice from the menu.Kevin and Lyn are a really pleasant couple who offer a warm welcome and great service at a reasonable price.Well worth a visit.
Tom and Tina

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Very lucky to have found Rivendell Guest House! We arrived for my daughter's surprise 30th birthday and Kevin and Lynn were very helpful in keeping our secret and making all our family very welcome. This made us feel very much at home along with the superb breakfast available (Some homemade produce to boot!). Nothing was too much trouble. I would thoroughly recommend Rivendell Guest House. Top marks!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bakerbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Had the pleasure in staying at Rivendell for 3 nights for a friends wedding and couldn't have been happier, everything about the place is great, host, service, rooms, location, and very best of all the superb breakfast that awaits you every morning. Well done guys will defo be back x

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary with a weekend break for the Purbeck Chamber Music Festival. It was one of the best stays we've had - friendly, efficient and hospitable in a very convenient location. It's obvious that a tremendous amount of planning and effort has gone into the enterprise. The room was excellent, and the breakfast was superb. We'll definitely be back. If only they were all as good!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niallmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
926 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#4 of 49 in Swanage
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
A Great Escape Guest House
0.8 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#2 of 49 in Swanage
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell Guest House

Property: Rivendell Guest House
Address: 58 Kings Road West | Swanage, Dorset, Swanage BH19 1HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivendell Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rivendell Guest House in Swanage, Dorset, AA 4*Highly Commended and also have an AA breakfast award, with nine bedrooms, all en suite, full English breakfast, guest lounge with open fire. Our relaxed and friendly Family run guest house is perfectly situated on a level position only 5 minutes from the beach, shops and Swanage Steam Railway. We are also within easy reach of the outstanding Isle of Purbeck and Dorset coast where you will find superb diving, walking, cycling, climbing and bird watching opportunities. Over looking the beautiful parish church of St Mary the Virgin. Your hosts Lyn and Kevin offer a friendly and relaxed stay at Rivendell and we are on hand to offer practical help and advice to ensure you enjoy your time in Swanage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rivendell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendell Guest House Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing