We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rude service”
Review of The White Swan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Swan
Ranked #49 of 49 Swanage B&B and Inns
Libreville, Gabon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“rude service”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This pub would be fine if it weren't spoiled by the awful bar staff. We only came in here for lunch during the folk festival- dorset has been very friendly apart from the rude reception in this pub! The food is Ok if a bit pricey and the Piddle beer good- the atmosphree would be greatly improved with some customer service training....

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pogonias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    27
    23
    19
    18
See reviews for
13
59
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights B&B here and - for the price - it was OK but nothing more. The White Swan is right in the middle of Swanage and there is limited parking up the hill at the back of the property. Our room was small with old-fashioned divan beds but the bathroom was well-equipped. The pub itself is very busy most of the time and stays open until 1 am at weekends, so if you are an early-to-bed person or a light sleeper I wouldn't recommend it as the clientèle tend to spill - noisily -out on to the street in good weather. Breakfast (0900-1000) on the Sunday was a bit of a shambles as they had a 'relief' chef who was late arriving and though my 'small English' was of a decent size and quality, my partner ordered poached eggs on toast. When they arrived, her eggs were so overcooked, you could have used them as golf balls. Matters much improved the next day when the regular chef returned to duty. For what it was, it was pretty pricey I thought, but then again it does put you right in the centre of town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgentC53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Arrived at the pub at mid-day it went inside to mare are arrival - the pub on the inside looked ok. We told the older lady that we had a room booked she grunted and checked a diary and said "oh yes - you cant check in til 2 mind" that was that she walked away!

We went for a walk around Swanage - charming little seaside village, lovely shops and cafe's.

We came back to the pub at 230 and asked could we check in and a polite young girl did find our room key and we were show to are room! As soon as she opened the door the heat hit us - she quickly told us when breakfast was served and left informing us that if we had any queries to only ask.

The room was very small no dressing table or chair and mirror to sit and do you hair or makeup! We the one window straight away in an attempt to cool the room but soon realised that there was a flat roof on which stood a huge extractor fan coming from the kitchen and it made an almighty noise (like a ships engine running) also stank of chip fat and it was eminating all in the room and bringing with it even more heat!

I went down to the bar to complain and ask for a fan - another young girl announced "yes everyone moans about that in room 3 but it will cool down when cooking finishes tonight at about 10pm, and no we don't have a fan" !! What an attitude! She told the older lady behind the bar and she sarcastically mumbled about buying drinks to cool down! Never been met with such rudeness and inhospitality in all my days of staying in B&B's and many pubs too!

The fan, smell, noise and heat continued until 1030pm by which time the room was so stifling we once again opened the window only to have all the noise from bear garden coming in which was directly below - noise went on til about 1am then more noise at 3am from people in the garden/car park!

We couldn't wait for morning to arrive - breakfast was a joke the floor of the pubrestaurant was still covered in chips, scraps etc from the day/night before.
The cereal was help yourself - the milk was in a jug and was warm.
The cooked breakfast was ok.
The morning breakfast staff again were miserable and hostile not a smile to be seen apart from a slim dark hair girl who was busy flitting about.

We couldn't wait to be gone and this spoilt are trip to Swanage - all they seem interested in is taking peoples' money that room should never have been charged at full price and they should point out over the phone that it is a hot stuffy room with smells of kitchen!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swanage hotels

Bolton, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay in the accomodation but ate here twice on our recent stay in Swanage. My family ate here on both occasions, lovely food, great service and good with kids offering children's food menu and colouring in sheet and pencils. Great value for money and great food and atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bolton_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2013

we visisted the pub in august last year and have been dying to go back ever since. the staff put us up for the night at really late notice and gave us a great deal. in the height of the summer season we had been struggling all night to find a place to stay and by chance found the pub on google search results. me and my boyfriend were really really impressed by the standards of the room. They were so clean and modern, they had everything you could need and we just could not fault them. lovely clean bathroom, great shower, lots of tv channels, hair dryer, clean towels, miniatures provided AMAZING bed and although the rooms weren't massive, they were perfect for us as a couple to ditch our bags and shoes and relax. the breakfast the next morning after a great sleep (even though there was a band on downstairs - they finished at a sociable time and to be honest weren't that noisy when you were upstairs) was unbeilavable. fresh orange, full english, an absolute winner. we couldn't have been happier with our stay and would one hundred percent recommend to anyone visiting the area. THANK YOU!! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny Juan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We had an over night stay here and were very impressed with the food, my stuffed mushrooms were sooo delicious and my significant other cleared his plate of scampi. The salad was fresh and tasty and not a piece of limp iceburg in sight!!! Breakfast this morning was beautifully presented and equally as yummy.The staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The room was small but adequate and spotless. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandieDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Eat here for lunch and dinner last week whilst visiting Swanage for holiday. Really good pint in here. Bar staff very good, really good customer service. Food is top quality; cheese and ham toasted sandwich was very delightful for lunch. Battered haddock and chips for tea was well worth the wait, and we made it within 5mins of last orders being called on the food. Very quick service and food piping hot! Pub and facilities very clean. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: did not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Space1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.0 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#4 of 49 in Swanage
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Robertsbrook Guest House
Robertsbrook Guest House
#13 of 49 in Swanage
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#10 of 49 in Swanage
351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Town Hall Lodge
Town Hall Lodge
#14 of 49 in Swanage
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan

Property: The White Swan
Address: 31 High Street | The Square, Swanage BH19 2LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a traditional English pub with friendly staff and a great atmosphere then look no further. Found in the sunny, coastal town of Swanage in Dorset, The White Swan has under gone a major transformation in the last few years, giving it a more fresh, modern look with out taking away any of its rustic charm. The present owner Simon Ginn took over the business at the start of 2008, having spent many years in pubs up and down the country. He has used all his experience and knowledge from being in front of the bar and taken it behind the scenes, his aim to turn the White Swan into one of the best pubs in town. Why not come and see for yourself what we have to offer. You can relax in the bar and choose from our wide selection of beverages, including local real ales, ciders, a variety of draught and bottled beers and an extensive wine list. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant; our menu offers something for everybody or you can try one of our popular daily specials. Located at the rear of the pub is our secluded, walled garden where it is easy to forget you are in the centre of town and just sit back and enjoy the sunshine and if you are looking for somewhere to lay your head, then try one of our clean and comfortable letting rooms. What ever it is you are looking for, you can be sure of a warm, friendly welcome and we promise you, you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The White Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing