We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away, could have been better”
Review of The White Swan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Swan
Ranked #49 of 49 Swanage B&B and Inns
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Weekend away, could have been better”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had limited choice due to our late booking and it being a bank holiday weekend, so we chose this pub for a couple of nights away in Swanage.

We knew it may be noisy being a pub, which t was, but that was not an issue really.
We had requested a room with a king sized bed, but it may have been king sized, but so low it was like sleeping on the floor. The shower was poor, and the en-suite had very little lighting for my husband to shave with, or for me to apply my makeup. The room had limited facilities, a small wardrobe, only one side table, no dressing table or chair. It was clean and tidy however. The tiny TV in the room was very outdated. The breakfast we must say was excellent although some items stated in the guest information were not on the plate. The second morning there were no juices or cereals laid out and we had to request juice and jams. Generally the service was a bit poor with a young waitress obviously requiring customer service skills training. It was a popular pub and obviously well liked for their food, as in the evenings it was very busy for food. The management did have better service skills so maybe they need to pass that on to their waiting staff.

Room Tip: I am not sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOYCE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review, 25 November 2014
WE are sorry that you found the room facilities inadequate, however, with the building being Grade II listed, there's not a great deal we can do to expand the bathroom facilities. However, we are in the process of refurbishing the rooms,so we hope you'll be pleasantly surprised if you choose to stay with us next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    27
    23
    19
    18
See reviews for
13
59
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We were booked here for 2 nights by Contours Walking Holidays and were thoroughly disappointed following our previous experience of their choice of accommodation. Our first room ( 3) was small and located above the kitchen so we could hear the chefs talking. It overlooked the beer garden so we had to close the blind. There was also a huge noisy fan that vented from the kitchen outside the window so we had to close the window. The room became unbearably hot and at 21.00 my husband enquired when the fan would be shut off. We were told 21.00-21.30 once the kitchen staff left. However the fan was kept on until 00.30 so we were unable to sleep (even with earplugs). The mattress was memory foam so was really hot but of course we couldn't open the window until the fan was shut off. The toilet and sink had also not been cleaned in the en-suite. In the morning I asked the owner if we could change rooms and he said he would see what he could do. When we returned from our day's walking we we given a key for room 5. This was as small but even more dirty. The pull cord in the en-suite was sticky and brown! The toilet did not flush properly. The walls were mouldy in the en-suite and the on-off button fell off the shower when turned on; possibly puttting us at risk of electric shock! One of the mugs was so cracked that when boiling water was poured into it, it just ran out all over the tray. The bed however was comfortable this time. Our second night was a Friday when they have live music. Thankfully I was so tired from walking and with the aid of earplugs managed to sleep. My husband said the live music went off at 23.30. The only saving grace was the breakfast which was good, although the service was slow and not very friendly. It is also situated in the centre of the town.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TiggerNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review, 25 November 2014
We are terribly sorry you did not enjoy your stay here. August was a very busy and confusing time for all of us at The White Swan. Not only was this the busiest summer ever for us, but we also had recently taken over management in the middle of it, due to the conditions the last management had left it in. We have spent the last three months working to improve the cleanliness and facilities of the business, and are proud to say we are doing well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swanage hotels

Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Spent two long nights here. Room was dirty, bathroom dirty, toilet seat broken, shower trickled out, noisy till four in the morning.. We asked to move rooms but they said they were fully booked but still advertised rooms available. Had to buy ear plugs so we could sleep. Breakfast was ok, dirty floors, tables. A good clean throughout needed. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review, 25 November 2014
i'm so sorry to hear this, but you are completely right. I took over only a matter of weeks before your stay. I was also so shocked to see what a bad state the pub and letting rooms were in and only now after the one of the busiest summer on record, are we cleaning up the act of The White Swan with the hard work myself and the team. It's been long and hard, but please return and see how much has changed! Also, as a Grade II listed live music venue, there's not a lot we can do about noise levels on a Friday and Saturday night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

There were a few unfortunate events. Room very basic & very small. Booked in for 3 nights, but checked out after two - that was enough. Thunder storms tripped some of the electric ie sockets in some rooms - so hot, so couldn't use the fan that they very kindly supplied, so staff moved us to another room. Apparently the fridge in the kitchen also tripped as there was no cooked breakfasts, were told only toast & cereal. Don't why we couldn't have omelettes or poached eggs on toast etc. there was a shop a few yards away where they could have bought sausages & bacon. There were only six guests for breakfast after all. Day one room wasn't serviced, night two, metal beer barrels moved around below our room (room 2) at 1am! Landlord did reduce our rate due to these circumstances.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review, 25 November 2014
We are sorry you experienced this series of unfortunate events, however, the gas supply is electronically operated to shut down in the event of a power cut, leaving the kitchen with no stoves or fryers. Also, we took over the business from the previous management in July, our busiest time of the year! Also, with the building being Grade II listed, sadly there isn't much we can do about the size of the rooms. As for the barrels being moved at 1AM, we are a very busy pub, and sometimes we have to change barrels late in the evening.

We're very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, but hope you'll stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have stayed 3 times now and would stay again. We always seem to have the same room which overlooks the garden and car park which is quiet. We wouldn't stay at the weekend as we are ' getting on a bit ' and not sure if we could cope with the live music but we like the friendly staff, the food and the location. On our 2nd visit we had a fairy early business meeting so on request breakfast was sorted a bit early for us. Thank you to The White Swan.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandieDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review, 25 November 2014
We are very glad you returned to stay with us once again! We strive to provide good and friendly service when we can, and are happy to help where we can. We hope you'll stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This place is in such a lovely location yet I was slightly disappointed when I stayed here. Perhaps it was because we stayed between Christmas and New Year and everywhere seems a little deflated. To enter the property there are 3 doors, 2 at the front and 1 at the side - the 2 at the front were blocked by people smoking and so we entered at the side. We were greeted by a lovely lady who showed us to our room. The smell of urine in the passage outside the toilets on the way to the room was overpowering (Owner of White Swan - this is really unpleasant!) We stayed in room 2 and it was very spacious and appeared clean, however it did feel as though it was in need of an update. I personally would have liked to have a bedside lamp beside each bed, however there was only one in the room so we had to share it, there was also 2 bulbs blown in the main light - It was incredibly hot in the room but I couldn't open the window in the bedroom area as the lock was jammed - I managed to open the window in the ensuite however I couldn't close the blinds and the curtain only closed halfway across so I apologise to the neighbours if they saw more than they wanted. There was a hairdryer and tea/coffee facilities and TV on the wall. The beds were very comfortable and there was an extra blanket if I needed it. (which was very unlikely) Breakfast was nice although it didn't start until 9.00 am so we sat for half an hour and watched the staff hoover around the bar and clear up from the night before. Would I stay here again? It is certainly in a great location and the Bar Staff were all very nice as were the locals who really made us feel welcome - I personally do not think the cost of the room was good value however with a little bit of money (and time) spent providing a proper smoking area, smarten up the rooms and deodorise the loos, a bit more flexibity with Breakfast and this would certainly be worthy of a return visit.

Room Tip: None have sea views - Number 2 seemed to be the biggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe M, Manager at The White Swan, responded to this review, 25 November 2014
We're sorry to hear you didn't completely enjoy your stay. The rooms have all been recently refurbished, and we have made an effort this year to improve the cleanliness and facilities of the whole business. We apologise that breakfast wasn't served earlier, but we can make special arrangement for an earlier breakfast if asked. As for the smoking area, with the property being a Grade II listed building, there's nowhere we can install a smoking area except out the front of the building, as moving it to the rear of the premises would disturb people eating in the restaurant. Again, we apologise if you didn't enjoy your stay, but we will be happy to see you again if you choose to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Not in this pub. A mid afternoon visit for a Dorset cider and disappointed to see all the usual bottled fare of Magners and Koppaberg. Opted for a local ale instead. A pint of Piddle was a good brew. Had to run the gauntlet of the smoking clients to gain entry to the pub too

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank VictorIndiaVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.0 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
926 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#4 of 49 in Swanage
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Town Hall Lodge
Town Hall Lodge
#14 of 49 in Swanage
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#10 of 49 in Swanage
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Robertsbrook Guest House
Robertsbrook Guest House
#12 of 49 in Swanage
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan

Property: The White Swan
Address: 31 High Street | The Square, Swanage BH19 2LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a traditional English pub with friendly staff and a great atmosphere then look no further. Found in the sunny, coastal town of Swanage in Dorset, The White Swan has under gone a major transformation in the last few years, giving it a more fresh, modern look with out taking away any of its rustic charm. The present owner Simon Ginn took over the business at the start of 2008, having spent many years in pubs up and down the country. He has used all his experience and knowledge from being in front of the bar and taken it behind the scenes, his aim to turn the White Swan into one of the best pubs in town. Why not come and see for yourself what we have to offer. You can relax in the bar and choose from our wide selection of beverages, including local real ales, ciders, a variety of draught and bottled beers and an extensive wine list. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant; our menu offers something for everybody or you can try one of our popular daily specials. Located at the rear of the pub is our secluded, walled garden where it is easy to forget you are in the centre of town and just sit back and enjoy the sunshine and if you are looking for somewhere to lay your head, then try one of our clean and comfortable letting rooms. What ever it is you are looking for, you can be sure of a warm, friendly welcome and we promise you, you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The White Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Swanage, Isle Of Purbeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing