We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“2nd Stay Of The Year”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of HOUSE IN SWANAGE

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
dining area
Recently fitted kitchen all mod cons !
Double bedroom
twin bedroom
bunk bed room fullsize ,3';beds not just for kids!
bunk beds full size 3' beds
upstairs bathroom
5 mins walk from town and sea
STUDLAND BEACH , NATIONAL TRUST
Mill pond Area Swanage
Sunny back Garden for dining al fresco
Durlston
SWANAGE BEACH
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
LHeatsout
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“2nd Stay Of The Year”
Reviewed 27 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our second stay of the year to this beautifully decorated, wonderful smelling, well looked after holiday let.
Everything about this house is easy; from booking, to checking in and contact with the owner Alison.
The house is well equipped with access to the dishwasher, washing machine, a two tier garden and a trunk of beach goodies.
The house is laid out well and has plenty of room for a relaxing stay for up to six.
We would highly recommend to all included families with young children like ours.
We love it so much we have already booked our 3rd visit for this year!!
Thanks Alison

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kay m
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed 22 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Visit swanage every year in January for my birthday. This great holiday home is just perfect, comfortable beds well equipped kitchen and dining room, a real home from home. Nice stroll to beach, and I always get sunshine, yes even in January......There something about this place that makes me want to return again and again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lina10121...
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 16 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We visited the same house in Swanage last year and loved it so much that we went back this year. The interior is gorgeous and you feel straight at home when you step in. We will definitely be back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgriff09
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Warm, Clean, Comfortable Base for a Family Holiday”
Reviewed 4 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Recently modernised to a high standard 1 Hanbury was a well equipped, warm base for our half-term family trip to Swanage. A short walk from the station (try the path via the mill pond and church) and town. For walkers there's also a handy path up to Anvil Point (Durlston). Fast internet is a bonus for the kids. No DVD player so take your own if you want to entertain the kids - we got Amazon to deliver a FirestickTV.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Contemporary decoration. Access to coastal path.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2016
Glad to hear you had a good time and enjoyed the house... TV is a DVD player ,slot in the side, too late for you but I will make it clearer .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike M
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This house is the icing on the cake of a wonderful holiday.”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was our second holiday in this lovely property and we have already booked it again for next year. We take our 2 granddaughters away for a week each year and although beautifully decorated the house is very child friendly. They have a sitting room where they can get away from the 'grown-ups' and a garden where they can play. The house has plenty of books and games should the weather be wet and is only a short walk to the beach and town when it's not. Alison, the owner is friendly and helpful. The unusual goody bag is a nice touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The convenience of this superb house to the town etc.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MilleRuby
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic house in excellent location - a real find!”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My husband, friend and 3 year old son stayed here for one week this May.
The house exceeded all of our expectations and I cannot recommend it highly enough.
The location is fabulous - 5 min walk to Swanage centre, shop at end of road and Co-op + steam train about 3 minutes walk away.
The house is beautifully decorated and immaculately presented. Everything you need is provided and all of high quality. The garden was a real bonus especially as we got some sunny days.
The booking process and communication with the owner was simple and hasslefree.
I would happily recommend this house and would be delighted to stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interior design, well equipped kitchen and sunny garden. Also the WiFi.
Liked least: Parking on road and not guaranteed, but usually easy to find. Also stairs narrow and steep but our 3 year old managed to navigate without any issues.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing