We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spot on!”
other travellers have booked this property
Master bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master bedroom
Rumpus sitting room Rumpus Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Master bedroom
Rumpus sitting room
Rumpus Cottage
Kitchen
Single room
Bathroom
Courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jph61
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spot on!”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful cosy cottage within easy walking distance of town. Superbly decorated throughout and scrupulously clean. We enjoyed our stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie T
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“FAB cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at Rumpus Cottage - spotlessly clean when we arrived. A fab location just a very short walk from the high street with all the great pubs and restaurants. We enjoyed great meals in The Black Swan - literally just around the corner with a cute pub dog called Pickle and in the Trattoria in town. Lovely coffee places too especially those that serve soya latte! The cottage itself has everything you could need, and we really enjoyed its quirkiness.
It is very compact and bijou but it was perfect for just the two of us. I think the max that could comfortably stay there would be two adults and 1 child.

Caroline the owner was so very helpful with lots of suggestions of what to do and where to eat - we couldn't have picked a better place for us both and we hope to go back for another visit in the not too distant future.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver...
vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A romantic seaside bolt holt”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a delightful little bolt hole in the lovely seaside town of Swanage. A short walk to town with parking right outside. We enjoyed a sunny weekend in May there.

Rumpus Cottage is an extremely comfortable, clean, well presented and well furnished property. Decorated with an eclectic mix of vintage furniture just about everything has been thought of. Comfortable beds with crisp John Lewis white bedlinen, fluffy white Christy towels. The tiny kitchen works well with quality crockery, copper pans, Dualit toaster and Brabantia bins and opens onto a sweet little courtyard garden ideal for an al fresco bite. Actually we enjoyed the bottle of fizz that the owner had kindly left us - nice touch, thanks!

If you are tall - as I am you will find yourself having to duck at a few low beams but there wasn't anything else to fault. We only used the top main bedroom but there is a good sized single on the first floor - good size for another adult and very comfortable but the stairs are a little steep if you were there with a small child. We did think a wood burner would finish off the sitting room nicely making it ideal for a winter break too.

There are plenty of shops, cafes, restaurants and pubs in Swanage, it's worth a wander down the pier. After a hearty walk out towards Old Harry Rocks we enjoyed a late oyster lunch at Gee Whites. And the next day walked via Durlston Park all the way along the coast past Dancing Ledge to the famous Square and Compass pub at Worth Matravers - they only serve 2 kinds of pies but wow they were fab, absolutely worth the hike.

Now we have discovered the area and Rumpus we would love to revisit. Booking was easy and the owner very helpful.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korky2015
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely homely cottage”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We just spent a weekend at Rumpus but could easily have stayed a week. The cottage was immaculately clean & everything you needed for a stay. The area is very quiet no noise at all but parking is difficult as you can't always get a space outside. The hill is very steep so you need a good handbrake too but we managed to park on the street round the corner. We just have a couple of tips to mention (not bad ones) the stairs inside are very steep so if you had a young child you would have to be careful & the other thing to watch is the low beam between the living area & kitchen we cracked our heads on it a couple of times!
The location is great It's only a comfortable ten minute stroll to the beach even less to the town. The Black Swan do great home cooking food with big portions only a couple of minutes away. We would also recommend La Trattoria & The Corner restaurant in the town you will need to book for all of them!
Nice touch with the fizzy wine & milk in fridge for our arrival.
We would definitely stay at Rumpus again and would recommend It 100%

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing