We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely cosy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Master bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master bedroom
Rumpus sitting room Rumpus Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Master bedroom
Rumpus sitting room
Rumpus Cottage
Kitchen
Single room
Bathroom
Courtyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
casdix
Portsmouth England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely location, pretty cottage but...”
Reviewed 7 December 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This is a sweet cottage in a good location - easy walking distance to several pubs.

Disappointingly, it was very cold and dark when we arrived - someone had put milk in the fridge but hadn't put heating or lamp on. The heating was temperamental at first but the owner's husband did talk us through it, and said they could come out and sort it if needed. He also recommended some good places to eat.

The info is clear that it is 3 storey and the stairs are steep and uneven but I hadn't clicked that you'd need to negotiate those stairs (2 flights) to use the bathroom at night. Having a cuppa in bed is also a no no with the threat of an £80 professional cleaning charge for any spillages on the stair carpet.

A welcome guide would have been helpful to tell us what is where.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah F
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed 21 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed in Rumpus Cottage for four nights. It was a lovely cosy base and perfectly positioned for exploring Swanage and the surrounding area.
Plenty of good pubs close by and many more within a short distance by car. The Black Swan, The Scotts Arms and The Castle Inn were all great. Advisable to book though!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juicyblue...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We spent 3 nights in Rumpus Cottage. It is compact and bijou but with everything you need cleverly packed in to the space available. It has been very tastefully renovated to a high standard and is very comfortable to stay in. Just one word of warning about the very steep stairs....definitely not suitable for the elderly or very young children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob P
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming and cozy holiday cottage.”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Stayed with my 2 daughters in the last week of August. The cottage was comfortable and had everything we needed for a great self catering holiday. Swanage itself is beautiful with plenty of charming historic buildings and a long sandy beach for the kids. The cottage is a stones throw from the town, shops, beach, cafe and pubs. Would definitely book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CKite4
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highly recommend!”
Reviewed 30 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My husband and I stayed at Rumpus Cottage for five nights with our one year old daughter, and it was perfect for our first family holiday. The accommodation is small, but full of charm and more than adequate for a couple, with or without a little person! The kitchen is well equipped and the property overall is well maintained and clean. We loved the location - a short 10 minute stroll into town, where we enjoyed time on the beach and jumped on the steam train to Corfe Castle. Parking at the cottage isn't allocated and the road is unmade. That said, we parked immediately outside on arrival and very nearby at all other times. For parents of toddling children, I'd advise taking a play pen for somewhere safe to play, away from the steep stairs. The owners were very helpful prior to our stay and there were some treats at the cottage on our arrival. Amazing value for money!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole cottage
Liked least: Leaving !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The cottage is very quaint and pretty. It is small but suited us as a couple perfectly. I've stayed in many rental cottages and never had one that not only provides towels but lovely quality fluffy ones! There were lots of other unexpected extras provided too. It is in a brilliant location with everything in walking distance. There's a fab Chinese takeaway literally around the corner and we had a beautiful meal in the local pub. That pub is very popular so would recommend booking in advance. My partner likes a cider and the next pub along serves 61 different ones! Needless to say he didn't quite manage to try all of them. We had a fabulous time here and would highly recommend Rumpus Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing