We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very special place”

Review of Chaucer Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
9 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sophie C
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very special place”
Reviewed 6 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I booked Chaucer Barn for my husband's 50th birthday weekend away with a gang of family and friends. I am reluctant to give it the glowing review it so deserves as I want to keep it all to myself! This really is a very special place, beautiful in every detail, extremely comfortable, warm and cozy despite being also very spacious. We had the most perfect weekend there we'll never forget!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomA2597
1 review
“Happy New Year!”
Reviewed 22 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Was here with friends to celebrate New Year. The barn suited our large group of adults and young kids perfectly, providing comfortable rooms and great communal spaces. A lovely place in beautiful surroundings in a wonderful location.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skoobisha...
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic family 80th gathering”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had a lovely family weekend, four generations to celebrate our mums 80th Birthday. When we arrived, the weekend before Xmas, the Barn was beautifully decorated. The entire Barn and grounds are simply stunning and spotlessly clean.

It really is a magical place and will be in our memories for ever.

A big thank you to all of the Chaucer team who from beginning to end were most helpful.

We would not hesitate to recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candy191
Neatishead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This was an idyllic place for our wedding. Beautiful surroundings, rooms and facilities as well as the people making the arrangements being so helpful. Everything went perfectly.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natasha R
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave! ”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had our wedding reception here recently and it was the perfect breath taking venue with the wow factor we had hoped for!
The house and gardens are just so spectacular! The rooms are beautiful, very tastefully decorated and comfortable with amazing views. The space is perfect for a big family to stay for the whole weekend and we loved being able to stay on until Monday with all our family enjoying the large dining / kitchen area and lounge.
Laura was very helpful in replying promptly to emails and coordinating suppliers for the big day. There were no hidden costs and we really felt that it was worth every penny we spent.
The meadows and gardens were wonderful for BBQs and playing games the next day. This was really the perfect wedding venue!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody M
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical!”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This place brought our dream of a rustic county wedding alive. A complete blank canvas that we were able to tailor exactly as we wanted for our special day. The team at Chaucer couldn't have been more helpful. This place is simply stunning and will forever hold very special place in our heart.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMRogers...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful wedding venue”
Reviewed 18 December 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We got married here in June this year, couldn't be happier with our special day. The place itself was perfect - beautiful gardens, lovely big rooms, quiet setting. The staff were amazing & helped to make our wedding run smoothly. All our family & friends commented on how lovely it was. Thank you guys again for making our day perfect!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing