We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly Wonderful Wedding Venue”

Review of Chaucer Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
9 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LydiaNorf...
Norfolk
1 review
“Truly Wonderful Wedding Venue”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Chaucer Barn is set in the most magical rural setting, and is not far from the stunning North Norfolk coastline. We hired the Barn for 3 days for our daughter's and son-in-law's wedding as they fell in love with the grounds and gardens for an outdoor ceremony. The Barn itself is amazing. We would like to thank Jenna and all the staff for making a dream wedding come true. A truly beautiful and wonderful venue. We will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahghos...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“100% fantastic wedding venue”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My lovely husband and I got married 2 weeks ago and had our reception at Chaucer Barn. We and our friends and family occupied the barn for 3 days and never wanted to leave! What a place!!!! So beautiful inside and out and with great staff that really helped us to make all our wedding wishes come true.
The bedrooms (there are 9) were all beautifully styled and each different to the rest. The gardens are just wow and great for photos (and playing cricket).
We enjoyed Chaucer Barn so much that we're thinking of going back next year for a family weekend.
Thank you James and thank you Jenna:)
x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter K
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Wedding Venue”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We made a list of wedding venues to visit and went to Chaucer Barn first - after seeing the barn we fell in love with it immediately and never made it to the rest! We definitely made the right choice.

The staff at the barn were excellent and helped from initial ideas through to the organisation on the day itself . The possibility of staying the night before and two nights after the wedding made for a very relaxed few days. We had 14 family and friends staying at the barn allowing us to have a meal together the night before the wedding and a brilliant day of outdoor games (while finishing left over wine + prosecco!) the day after.

The flexibility of the venue allows you to put your own ideas into practice so you can go as simple or elaborate as you like, we chose to keep it relatively small so we could fully utilise the barn's internal space for the wedding day. The range of rooms allowed people to relax in the quiet or join the party as they pleased which allowed us to cater for everyone.

Overall it made for a brilliant experience that we will never forget in stunning surroundings; we are already thinking of finding an excuse to book the barn again for a family gathering!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb!!!!”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just came back from an amazing weekend at Chaucer Barns and its was absolutely fantastic, we are definitely going back! the house has all the amenities you need, and they even supplied coal for us to cook our food on the BBQ although it was a bit too cold to eat outside this weekend. We were a 10 min drive to Cromer and the small village of Holt is even nearer, some good pubs in the areas, (short drive away), the local cabbie "Bernie" was kind enough to collect our Indian takeaway for us on Friday night which was lovely, The house is perfect for a large group get away, all the rooms are lovely and the house is spotlessly clean, there is a large Aga for cooking, great sound systems/TV's, perfect location and only 2.5/3 hours away from Essex. we loved it and my friends who came with us haven't stopped talking about. so Chaucer Barn see you again soon and thank you so much for a great weekend.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gauntlets
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We love Chaucer Barn!”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We got married at Chaucer Barn in April 2012 and couldn't resist the chance to return to celebrate my 40th birthday this weekend. We absolutely love the place and it’s a perfect venue to celebrate anything. It was a little chilly this weekend but we were able to light the pre-made fires and get cosy. The staff are always friendly, they left us some treats and some lovely fresh flowers as a finishing touch. We also really enjoyed the large grounds and were able to run the dog and children around to tire them out! Thank you Chaucer Barn.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie C
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very special place”
Reviewed 6 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I booked Chaucer Barn for my husband's 50th birthday weekend away with a gang of family and friends. I am reluctant to give it the glowing review it so deserves as I want to keep it all to myself! This really is a very special place, beautiful in every detail, extremely comfortable, warm and cozy despite being also very spacious. We had the most perfect weekend there we'll never forget!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom A
1 review
“Happy New Year!”
Reviewed 22 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Was here with friends to celebrate New Year. The barn suited our large group of adults and young kids perfectly, providing comfortable rooms and great communal spaces. A lovely place in beautiful surroundings in a wonderful location.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing