We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent (and good value) breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chestnuts

Chestnuts
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Alfriston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent (and good value) breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Excellent full English breakfast at really good value. Would definitely visit again when we are next in Alfriston

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goodersp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    23
    0
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
87 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Supper, a night's stay and breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

My friend and I, hiking the South Downs Trail, were very tired when we got here. We are vegans, Chestnuts gave us a lovely vegan soup for supper followed by delicious vegan scones (there was 20% discount as we were guests) The room was clean (as was the bathroom) and very comfortable. Breakfast was expansive as well as delicious and they were very happy to cater to us with things like soy yogurt and non-meat sausages. This place is a complete bargain and a pleasure to stay at.

Helpful?
1 Thank phoebejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Different...and Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Pre-booked a group of 14 for tea late on a Saturday afternoon: I phoned a few days before and the member of staff was friendly and helpful. The food and service were excellent. There are bookcases full of secondhand books that you can borrow while you are there. There are also games on the tables - general knowledge quiz cards, children's games and so on. Friendly and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanklin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was a lunch stop during a coach day trip of Sussex. We were made most welcome and were served promptly by a lovely lady. Our lunch was reasonably priced and delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

There is not a negative to be said about this place. If you are in Alfriston then you must try the Afternoon Tea with the BLT sandwich.

Oh, there is one negative, they are closed on Mondays!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chestnuts also viewed

 
Alfriston, East Sussex
Alfriston, East Sussex
 

Been to Chestnuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing