We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small friendly restaurant”

Chestnuts Tea Rooms
Ranked #6 of 12 Restaurants in Alfriston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Small friendly restaurant”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We called here after walking down the quaint narrow high street with many interesting shops. I had egg benedict beautifully prepared and my wife had Panini with cranberry, and a pot of tea in nice china. At a reasonable cost.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wayzgoose110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    29
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good vegetarian options”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Delicious lunch and tremendously welcoming owners. My husband and I shared the pea and mint soup with savoury scone and then a wonderful savoury vegetarian crumble. And then there was the cake.... Fantastic.

I particularly wanted to share this experience for any vegetarians who are reading this. There are many thing I love about this part of the world but I found the veggie options to be very limited so Chestnut was a real gem to be treasured. I'd definitely go back! Also very good gluten free, etc options.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VickyL22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dog friendly and the most divine chocolate and raspberry cake!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Well worth that extra little walk to the Seaford end of the village, a little gem on the main thoroughfare. Can't rate it highly enough, we've never been disappointed. A warm welcome, comfy atmosphere, varied menu, delicious cakes, savoury items beyond 2pm, reasonably priced, and open til 5pm (except Sundays 4.30pm) - what more could you want? Just we could get there more often.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seasiderock18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“warm welcome!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had tea, coffee,crumble and apple cake on sunday noon. Very good, reasonably priced. Small place with a very nice atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanielCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Exciting!”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Just accessing Chestnuts, across the busy main thoroughfare, with 'blind corners', makes the tea taste better, if you make it! Be extra careful when exiting! A relaxing establishment for enjoying a traditional English tea, with some refreshingly 'interesting' variations amongst the accompanying cakes.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChiChappy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chestnuts Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Alfriston, East Sussex
 

Been to Chestnuts Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing