We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find! Exceeded expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wingrove House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alfriston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wingrove House
Ranked #1 of 7 Alfriston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a find! Exceeded expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

What a find! This place is beautiful! The attention to detail is superb, the service attentive yet not intrusive and all at terrific value for money. A very relaxing weekend, can't wait to return! Who knows, we may even take the kids next time.. (Or maybe not!)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Footfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    34
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
164
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
high wycombe
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

We have stayed in quite a lot of lovely hotels and happily return to many of them but Wingrove House just about beats them all. Not only does the whole place exude relaxed gorgeousness, the food is fabulous too. We arrived in the dark & it looked magical, we woke in the morning & it still looked magical. Our room was a high ceilinged, shuttered ode to restrained elegance whilst still managing to be cosy. The bathroom was exquisite. We relaxed in the lounge by the huge wood burner, & breakfasted in the restaurant, also with lovely log fire blazing. So good was the food that we ate in on both nights of our stay & everything was, surprise surprise, perfect. This one is a keeper!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aishlynsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightwell-cum-Sotwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

... because we want to keep this place to ourselves, since it's as near to perfection as it's practically possible to be.

The staff are as attentive as everyone says; the decor is fantastic, contemporary, beauttifully lit and comfortable. You can hide in the lounge near the fire and let the world fall away.

Alfriston itself is also a lovely little town if you haven't visited previously. Allow plenty of time for Much Ado Books (but check they're open; they're taking a little sabbatical at the start of 2013.

Room Tip: Check the gallery - the room descriptions are also accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyg428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEVILLE
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

We have just returned from a short break at the Wingrove House Hotel in Alfriston arranged by our daughter as a gift. We had a lovely time, extremely relaxing with great food and ambience. Our room was delightful and had all the amenities required.The owner Nick and his team are clearly perfectionists and this was shown by the lighting, the candles and the attention to detail that is evident throughout the hotel. We had great wine and food, dinner and breakfast were excellent. The coffee was also great, again this showed us how high the standards were. The village was beautiful and although there are not many shops we bought gifts from several and are very pleased with our purchases. We had a lovely stay and were made to feel very welcome. We will return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SevilleHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Went away for a quick break, and it couldn't have been better. Best -really a pleasant feel to the whole place, a labour of love obviously, gorgeously decorated. Didn't meet the owner but I imagine he's a perfectionist, especially with the lighting. Wonderful thoughtfulness all round, even spare reading glasses to hand for make out the menus in the 'subtle' dining room lighting. Really recommend it, but next time, if it's my birthday, please don't come knocking on the door at 11.03 am saying you needed the room and we had to check out. It was a rainy Monday in late October and we were still celebrating!

Room Tip: There are two over the front entrance that have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whaleofatime76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Living locally we were surprised not to have known about this place - but we had a great meal and a lovely night away. The staff couldn't have been more attentive and both dinner and breakfast were of a very high standard.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samleeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Having been to the restaurant at the Wingrove on a previous occasion, we decided to return for an anniversary meal and stay the night. Although only ten miles or so from home, this was a most wonderful break. On arrrival, we were upgraded to, their best room even though the one we had booked looked perfect, the new room was even larger and overlooked the church and water meadow. Everything about the room was very high quality: spotlessly clean, contemporary furnishings and controllable temperature. The lounge/bar had an open fire and there were candles everywhere. The restaurant serves locally sourced food and the menu is varied and beautifully prepared. the owner and his staff were all friendly and attentive. This was a perfect venue and we will be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.1 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
7.9 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingrove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingrove House

Property: Wingrove House
Address: High Street, Alfriston BN26 5TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Alfriston
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingrove House. Originally built as a family home in the mid 19th century, this recently refurbished colonial-style house offers restaurant and rooms within a relaxed and stylish destination in the beautiful and historic village of Alfriston, East Sussex. Run by a small team, offering a personal and friendly service, with airy verandas, candlelit bar and brasserie and pretty rooms, it's a real antidote to the rush and bustle, yet just over an hour from London. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wingrove House Hotel Alfriston
Wingrove Hotel East Sussex
Wingrove House Alfriston, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing