We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and wonderful atmosphere”
Review of Wingrove House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wingrove House
Ranked #1 of 6 Alfriston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We are lucky enough to live close to this fab place. Dinner and lunch are just wonderful. The menus are fresh and the food delicious. A good choice of menu and wonderful flavours and tastes. The setting is beautiful, surrounded by a lovely garden which is great to sit and have drinks in during the summer months, and right by the church and village green. The atmosphere is friendly, relaxing and stylish. Definitely worth a try, and we plan a walk over there soon, so we have an excuse to try the rooms for the night, which look to be great.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becs302010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with a girl friend when we were doing the South Downs walk.
What a charming place . The twin room with en suite was immaculate ( a little noisy as it was on the road side )
The food in the bistro was suburb & excellent value . I had the steak followed by a trio of puddings. The breakfast was also perfect . I had the full English , which set me up for the next 16 miles of hiking .
Can't wait to go back for a romantic weekend with my husband .
The rooms overlooking the garden look wonderful , but you need to book early.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sexygedyetastebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We only stayed at Wingrove House for the one night and wish we could have stayed longer - having walked (mostly in the rain) for much of the day the warm welcome was much needed and the stay in general felt more like it was with in a friends house than at a guest house. The room and the food were great too. If we head down that way again we will definitely be heading back to Wingrove House.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lostnomaduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Warm welcome on arrival. Loved the room, ( No 1). Clean, fresh decor, large bathroom and overlooks the church. Also, away from the road.
Food was fab, as was the service. Excellent breakfast, with wide choice. Looking forward to another stay in the autumn.
Many thanks to Nick and his staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lupinscox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I recently stayed at the Wingrove for my boyfriend's birthday while we were visiting a friend. From the beginning the owner, Nick, was prompt, professional, informative and attentive. When we checked into the hotel, I can't quite describe the decor as there's the exterior which resembles the old plantations of colonial America - mixed with a mild, non-agressive hint of the hunting lodges in England, all beautifully kept together with a Sussex, coastal feel. Modern, comforting and above all - homely. You come away to Wingrove to experience unassuming luxury and Nick really does that with aplomb.

Try as I might, I could not convince the owner to accommodate any form of a wedding party, or family event. Quite rightly, Nick keeps his coveted 5 rooms for couples, who wish to escape for a night, two, three, even a week - close to Glyndebourne and wanting for nothing.

Our biggest regret, is not enjoying the whole evening at the Wingrove. Next time we will firmly ensconce ourselves in the restaurant and lounge in the cosy bar/lounge area for as long as we dare keep up the incredible waitresses and waiters.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucytlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My husband and I have a couple of "discerning traveller friends" who we needed to treat to a night away in sumptuous surroundings before Christmas. We have been visiting Alfriston for years anyway so when the opportunity arose to stay at Wingrove House we couldn't wait. A very warm welcome awaited us, as we were shown to our rooms, and once settled in, made it back down to the lounge with the lovely leather furniture, quirky decor and roaring fireplace for drinks with our friends. It is such a relaxed atmospheric place, a perfect winter getaway. I'm sure equally as nice in the summer out on the rattan sunloungers!
The rooms are the way I like to see decorated in a boutique hotel. Plush, with fab big beds and room for girlie paraphernalia on the surfaces! [would of liked a light over the bathroom mirror].
The restaurant is equally glam with a roaring fireplace and well placed tables so as not to overhear or be heard. A very small point, we were served the wrong ice cream with dessert. OK, but my friend has an allergy, so quite important! I'm not going to let them lose a star for that though!
Breakfast is also relaxed, in the same restaurant, with a mass of goodies to choose from in the fresh fruit line, yoghurts etc and the hot meals.
All in all a great stay and will definitely go back as soon as we can:)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jukebox44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We decided to try the restaurant at Wingrove House, on the recommendation of friends, on a bitterly cold Saturday in February. Initial impressions certainly did not disappoint. The restaurant and bar in this lovely period house are gorgeous and appear to have been quite recently renovated. Despite booking a couple of hours ahead only, we were welcomed by a friendly restuarant manager and shown to a table next to a large, wood burning stove.
The menu has plenty of fish and vegetarian choices and the wine list is good value - £5.50 for a generous glass of New Zealand, Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc.
The starters were quite disappointing, "Deep fried goats cheese" was three pepple sized pieces in batter, unimaginatively nestling next to some cold, undressed mixed salad leaves. My partner had the 'Sussex Smokie' which was, again, quite a small portion and still in the ramekin in which it had been cooked (possibly microwaved?). Neither were awful - just average pub fare. Both came with bread which was a little on the stale side and with hard butter.
The main course was much better - a wonderfully fresh and beautifully pan fried sea bass fillet which we both had. This was served on bed of tomato risotto with parmesan which was also delicious. This came with no more than a garnish of spinach although, to be fair, we declined the side dishes which are extra.
The bill with the two large glasses of wine tip came to just over £30 each. All in all, an enjoyable couple of hours in wonderful suroundings and with friendly, efficient service. We shall definitely return soon - with the hope that the food can fully befit this great venue.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.1 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
233 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Boship Lions Hotel
The Boship Lions Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lower Dicker
526 reviews
6.5 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 40 in Eastbourne
3,454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ye Olde Smugglers Inne
Ye Olde Smugglers Inne
#4 of 6 in Alfriston
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingrove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingrove House

Address: High Street, Alfriston BN26 5TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Alfriston
Price Range: £103 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wingrove House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingrove House. Originally built as a family home in the mid 19th century, this recently refurbished colonial-style house offers restaurant and rooms within a relaxed and stylish destination in the beautiful and historic village of Alfriston, East Sussex. Run by a small team, offering a personal and friendly service, with airy verandas, candlelit bar and brasserie and pretty rooms, it's a real antidote to the rush and bustle, yet just over an hour from London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Wingrove House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingrove House Hotel Alfriston
Wingrove Hotel East Sussex
Wingrove House Alfriston, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing